Education

Feel free to explore resources found in this Education LibGuide and the related LibGuides below with more research and publishing information.

What are Empirical Research Articles?

• Original research/studies published in scholarly journals
• If you need empirical sources, avoid “think pieces” that present a position or opinion but do not include data obtained by the author
  • Examples to avoid: "review articles," "theoretical articles," "meta-analyses"
• Common empirical article structure:
  • Introduction: Authors explain the problem they’re investigating and why it matters.
  • Methods/Methodology: They describe how they conducted their study—who or what they studied, how data was gathered, and which tools or procedures they used.
  • Results: They present the data they collected (graphs, tables, statistics, etc.).
  • Discussion: They interpret the results, explain what they mean, and relate them back to the broader topic or previous research.
  • References or Bibliography: They list citations of other books, articles or reports mentioned within the article's main text

Finding Empirical Articles: 

• Use a library database
• Limit results to peer reviewed
• Try keywords: “empirical,” “empirical research,” or “original research,” “quantitative study,” “qualitative study,” “mixed-methods study”
  • Combine these with Boolean operators (“AND,” “OR,” "NOT") to refine results.
• Use Advanced Search Filters:
  • Many databases let you limit results by study type or research design (e.g., “quantitative study,” “qualitative study,” “mixed-methods study”)
    • ERIC sometimes labels articles with the publication type limiter: “Reports – Research.”
    • PsycINFO and PsycArticles each have a “Methodology” limiter, where you can select “Empirical Study.”
• Check Abstracts and Summaries:
  • Look for phrases like “we conducted a study,” “the participants were…,” “data were collected…,” or “results indicate….”
  • Empirical articles typically describe a methodology (how data was gathered) and results (what was found).
• Look for tell-tale sections in the full text of a promising article:
  • Check if it has Methods and Results (or Findings) sections. If it does, it’s very likely empirical.

Ph.D. in Education Library Orientation Guide

Overview:

During and after today’s session, you will be able to:

• Navigate the library's website to:
  • Find library resources and services.
  • Use certain databases to find peer-reviewed and scholarly articles for your research.
• Use a free software (Zotero) to collect sources, take notes and generate APA Style bibliographies.
• Start your research and ask questions.

Advantages of Library Resources:

Discussion:

• Where do you usually go to find sources for your classes? 
• Why use library resources?
• Why not just use Google Scholar?
• What does it mean for an article to be peer reviewed? 
• What do you hope to get out of this session today?

Library Home Page and Education LibGuide:

• Search boxes, A-Z List, and Top Resources
• Off-campus: prompted to login with your Chapman username and password

Getting Started on Your Research:

Explore using the library search boxes or a library database
Brainstorm key words or phrases related to your topic (examples: teacher, higher education)
Go from a broad to a narrow research topic as you review the literature
Use any of these Boolean operators to include multiple terms in your search string:

• AND to search for more specific results, OR to search for results that contain synonyms, NOT to exclude results with certain words

Finding Articles in Education Databases:

• Education subject databases, such as ERIC, Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson), or PsycInfo

Most databases: peer reviewed and full text filters

• Truncation, EBSCO platform features and filters
• Example search: teach* AND (higher education or college or university) AND qualitative research

ILL and Education Library:

• Modify Search / Advanced Search filter options

APA and Zotero!

Using and Citing Generative Artificial Intelligence (AI) Tools:

Other Library Spaces:

• 1st Floor: Scanners, Printers, Circulation Desk, Reference Desk, IS&T Service Desk
• 4th Floor: outdoor terrace with Wi-Fi
• Study spaces and bookable study rooms throughout the library

Research Activity!

• Partner up
• Use a database you heard about today to find a scholarly journal article on any topic related to your research
  • topic e.g.: teaching in higher education, mental health of elementary students, or a more specific topic
• Discuss what you found and how you found it

Overview:

During and after today’s session, you will be able to:

• Navigate the library's website to:
  • Access library resources and services, including interlibrary loan.
  • Use the library's databases and search boxes to find AV materials and books for your "Text Set" assignments
• Practice searches and ask questions.

On-Campus and Local Library Resources:

Academic Libraries:

• Pankey Library of Education within the Leatherby Libraries
  • Books arranged using alphanumeric Library of Congress call numbers (L in the main section, A-Z in Muth)
• Access materials for free through Interlibrary Loan (see below)
• Access films, documentaries, and more through media streaming services, such as Kanopy and Swank

Public Libraries:

• Children's and Teen collections
  • Books arranged using Dewey Decimal call numbers
• Library Used Bookstores 

Library Home Page and Education LibGuide:

• Search boxes and Top Resources
• Off-campus: prompted to login with your Chapman username and password

Getting Started on Your Research:

Explore using the library search boxes or a library database
Brainstorm key words, subjects or phrases related to your topic (subject examples: juvenile fiction, juvenile literature)
Go from a broad to a narrow research topic as you review the literature
Use any of these Boolean operators to include multiple terms in your search string:

• AND to search for more specific results, OR to search for results that contain synonyms, NOT to exclude results with certain words

About the Muth Library of Children's Literature:

Muth books are shelved within the 3rd floor Pankey Library of Education, near the Disney and toy display cases

• Includes the Dream Collection, which contains all of the Disney DVDs and many Disney children's books. 

These materials are arranged using Library of Congress classifications by subject (see below):

Contains several children's and young adult books that have won literature awards (see below):

Call Number sections by Subject within the Muth collection:

Use these Library of Congress call number sections to browse items in the catalog or Muth book shelves within your topic's general area.

• D - F – History
  • D....World History and History of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, Etc.
  • E - F....History of the Americas
• H – Social Sciences
• M – Music
• PR – English Literature
  • PR6000 - 6049.... Authors 1900-1960
  • PR6050 - 6076.... Authors 1961-2000
  • PR6100 - 6126.... Authors 2001-
• PS – American Literature (largest section)
  • PS700 - 3576 – Works by Individual authors
    • PS700 - 893.....17th/18th century (colonial period)
    • PS991 - 3390....19th century authors
    • PS3500 - 3549...Authors 1900-1960
    • PS3550 - 3576...Authors 1961-2000
    • PS3600 - 3626...Authors 2001-
• Q – Science 
  • Q1 - 390....Science (General)
  • QA1 - 939....Mathematics
  • QC1 - 999....Physics
  • QD1 - 999....Chemistry
• T –  Technology (contains Engineering)

Young Adult STEM-related items in Muth are mainly biographies, but interlibrary loan is still an option.

A Selection of Children’s and Young Adult's Literature Awards collected by the Leatherby Libraries:

• ASIAN/PACIFIC AMERICAN AWARD FOR LITERATURE – 2005-
• CALIFORNIA YOUNG READER MEDAL – 1988-
• CHRISTOPHER AWARDS – 2001-
• CORETTA SCOTT KING AWARDS – 1970-
• NEWBERY MEDAL – 1922-
• PURA BELPRÉ AWARD – 1996-
• READ ACROSS AMERICA & CALIFORNIA READS (selected titles)
• SCOTT O’DELL AWARD FOR HISTORICAL FICTION – 1984-

Searching for Muth Books:

Use the library catalog search box (second box on library home page)

Use the catalog's advanced search location limiter: Education Library (includes Muth items).

• Some catalog records contain a Note section that includes age ranges.
• To find award-winning books: Search the award name in quotations: "Caldecott"
• To find books about a topic (such as a genre): Use the keyword or subject options
• To find books about a person: start with subject and type in the last name
  • King, Martin Luther will lead to SUBJECT:  King Martin Luther Jr 1929 1968 Juvenile Literature

Searching in the Catalog and Education Library:

Interlibrary Loan (ILL):

• Modify Search / Advanced Search filter option

Citing Your Sources in APA:

Book Search Activity!

• Use the library catalog to find a book on a topic related to your research
  • Try to find a call number within the Education Library
  • Keep your book's call number handy so it's easy to look for it in the shelves
• Discuss what you found and how you found it

Quick Education Library Tour!

• Education Library shelves, including the Muth Children's collection 

MLD 662: Creative Inquiry

Overview:

During and after today’s session, you will be able to:

• Navigate the library's website to find library resources and services.
• Use certain databases:
  • To find peer-reviewed empirical articles with certain methodologies and evaluation reports.
  • For your "Citation Notes Assignments" and "Literature Review" selections.
• Use a free software (Zotero) to collect sources, take notes and generate APA Style bibliographies.
• Start your research and ask questions.

Advantages of Library Resources:

Discussion:

• Where do you usually go to find sources for your classes? 
• Why use library resources?
• Why not just use Google Scholar?
• What does it mean for an article to be peer reviewed? 
• What do you hope to get out of this session today?

Library Home Page and Education LibGuide:

• Search boxes, A-Z List
• Top Resources: Ask a Librarian, Reserve a (Study) Room, LibGuides by Subject
• Off-campus: prompted to login with your Chapman username and password

Getting Started on Your Research:

Explore using the library search boxes or a library database
Brainstorm key words or phrases related to your topic (e.g.: organizational change, higher education, effective leadership practices)
Go from a broad to a narrow research topic as you review the literature
Use any of these Boolean operators to include multiple terms in your search string:

• AND to search for more specific results, OR to search for results that contain synonyms, NOT to exclude results with certain words

Finding Articles and Reports in Education Databases:

Evaluation Reports (can find these in ERIC)

• Education subject databases, such as ERIC, Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson), or JSTOR

Most databases: peer reviewed and full text filters

• Thesaurus and Boolean Operators
• Limiters: Descriptors (for terms or methods), Publication Type: Reports – Research (for empirical research) or Reports – Evaluative, education level
• Example search: descriptor:"Mixed Methods Research" AND leadership practices

• Truncation, EBSCO platform features and filters
• Example search: leadership practices AND (qualitative research or qualitative study or qualitative methods or interview)
• Example search: leader* AND (qualitative research or qualitative study or qualitative methods or interview)

ILL and Education Library:

• Modify Search / Advanced Search filter option

APA and Zotero!

Library Spaces and Services:

• 1st Floor: Scanners, Printers, Circulation Desk, Reference Desk, IS&T Service Desk
• 4th Floor: outdoor terrace with Wi-Fi
• Study spaces and bookable study rooms throughout the library

Research Activity!

• Partner up
• Use a database you heard about today to find a scholarly, empirical journal article on any topic related to your research
  • topic e.g.: organizational change among higher education leaders, sustainable leadership practices in organizations, or another more specific topic
• Discuss what you found and how you found it