You can get help for research in several ways.
Contact the Scholarly Communications librarian, Kristin Laughtin-Dunker, at firstname.lastname@example.org or (714) 532-7769
Call the Reference Desk at (714) 532-7714
Chat with us at LibChat during Reference Desk hours
Email us at Quick Reference
Ask the KnowledgeBase
The following highlights several resources that scholars may wish to utilize when investigating scholarly publishing submissions.
To access the following four resources:
Description: Cabell’s “lists scholarly journals with their publication guidelines. The 'Journalytics' directory assists scholars in identifying journals for publication and guides users in evaluating journal quality. Entries include contact information, manuscript guidelines, acceptance rates, review process, number of reviewers, and audience. The 'Predatory Reports' directory uses these criteria to identify potentially predatory or questionable journals that authors may wish to avoid."
Method: In the top left corner, select "Journalytics" to view journals that Cabell's has found credible via the above-listed criteria, or "Predatory Reports" to identify journals that may be predatory or questionable in quality. You can also filter either list by discipline, impact factor, type of peer review, altmetrics, open access, acceptance rates, and many more criteria.
Description: Entries available here “list editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, and submission guidelines. The directory also provides statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as how many are submitted.”
Method: Search for a specific journal title and look at submission details – this is the place that often lists how many articles are submitted versus published each year (rejection rates). You may also search the Indexes in the upper-left corner and select subject = Religious Studies (for example).
Description: There are no rejection rates in this database, but it contains essential information including: whether a journal is refereed (peer reviewed), journal reviews, and where the journal is indexed – you may want to focus on a journal that is indexed in many sources if you want more exposure (e. g., Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Social Sciences Citation Index; Science Citation Index).
Method: Enter a title, ISSN, or search term to generate a list of journals/periodicals.
Quick-tip For This Database: Once you have a journal in front of you, have a look at the “Abstracting / Indexing & article access” tab for details on where the journal is indexed.
Description: This database contains the number of citations for a given journal including most frequently cited journals, hottest journals, highest impact journals, most published articles, and “subject category data for benchmarking.” In general, the more a journal is cited, the more relevant it may be to that scholarly community.
Method: Select either Sciences or Social Sciences Edition, select an option: Subject Category, Specific Journal, All Journals, etc. and then click submit. This database is more heavily weighted towardsthe sciences, but you may still find some good information under social sciences. You can also check specific titles for citation analysis.
For tracking what’s new in scholarly publishing
Description: The Journal of Scholarly Publishing is described as “addressing the age-old problems in publishing as well as the new challenges resulting from changes in technology and funding. Some articles suggest ways to get effectively published in books and journals, while others address such topics as editorial and publishing policy, computer applications, electronic publishing, effective marketing and business management.”
Method: To access this resource, click the link above or use the Journal Finder on the Library’s Home Page. Select one of the links to a database that has the date coverage you desire, and then click into a specific issue or search within the publication.
The Library Catalog contains books with information about both print and electronic publishing. From the library home page, try a keyword search of “scholarly publishing” in the Library Catalog search box.
Here you will find items such as:
For information on new developments in the field of open access publishing, consult the Open Access Research Guide. It has information on both funder and publisher policies, as well as tips for authors to consider when pursuing open access publishing. The OA Publishers, Repositories, and Directories page in particular has tools to help you find an open access journal to publish in.
Please also consider the Scholarly Research & Publishing Guides for information on data management, metrics and citation analysis, researcher identifiers, and other scholarly communication issues.