LibGuides: Education: Find Articles and Databases

Find Articles

Subject-specific Databases:

Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) Provides coverage of international English-language scholarly journals, magazines, book reviews, biographies, and education-related conference papers. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1983-present.
Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 (H.W. Wilson) Provides access to historical education literature with indexing of more than 800 periodicals and yearbooks. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1929-1983.
ERIC (EBSCO) A digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) at the U.S. Department of Education. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1966-present.
ERIC (Open Access) A digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) at the U.S. Department of Education. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1966-present.
ERIC (ProQuest) A digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) at the U.S. Department of Education. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1966-present.
Primary Search Full text of popular magazine articles for elementary school research. All articles are assigned a Lexile level. Includes an Image Collection of over 453,000 photos, maps, and flags. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1985-present.
ProQuest Education Database Provides access to scholarly journals and dissertations on primary, secondary, higher education, special education, home schooling, adult education, and related topics. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1988-present.
PsycARTICLES Provides a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology and covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1894-present.
PsycINFO Contains over 5 million citations and summaries of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations from the behavioral and social sciences in 29 languages from 50 countries. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1872-present.
Sociological Abstracts Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1952-present.
Teacher Reference Center Indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 peer-reviewed journals. Topics covered include Best Practices, Curriculum Development, Literacy Standards, Pedagogical Research, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Science & Mathematics, School Administration, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1984-present.

Multi-disciplinary Databases:

Academic OneFile Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1980-present.
Academic Search Premier A multi-disciplinary database providing access to scholarly journals articles, newspapers, popular magazines, and reviews. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1975-present.
Emerald Journals Coverage of current and backfile content in over 150 peer-reviewed journals. The back files provide access to to a digitized collection of more than 100 years of management research, including over 68,000 articles from more than 120 journals. Terms of Use.
JSTOR An interdisciplinary ebook and journal platform to support scholarship and teaching. Provides access to select current subscriptions as well as the archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Terms of Use.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) Serves as a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content from six full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text Mega, Social Sciences Full Text, and Business Abstracts with Full Text. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1982-present.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global Includes millions of citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to present around the world with over one million full-text dissertations available to download in PDF format. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1861-present.
SAGE Journals Online Current coverage of over 525 journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences and Science, Technology, and Medicine (STM). Full-text backfile coverage for over 400 titles. Terms of Use.
Web of Science Provide access to the world’s leading scholarly literature and indexes in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, proceedings, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1898-present.

Library databases in alphabetical order: A-Z Databases.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print Contains reviews and descriptions of 3,000+ contemporary tests (10,000+ since 1938), integrating Tests in Print for detailed information and expert evaluations on commercially available tests. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1985-present. Restricted to 4 users at a time.
PsycTESTS Serves as a database of psychological tests and measures designed for use with social and behavioral science research. Provides a summary, full text (if available), and supplemental information. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1910-present.
SAGE Campus Self-paced courses on critical skills and research methods for all stages of academic study. Learner Pathways map series of courses focused on specific learning outcomes. FACULTY: See our Online Teaching and Learning guide to learn how to assign Sage Campus content to your students. Terms of Use.
Teacher Reference Center Indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 peer-reviewed journals. Topics covered include Best Practices, Curriculum Development, Literacy Standards, Pedagogical Research, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Science & Mathematics, School Administration, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1984-present.

Pivot Pivot is an online, searchable database that includes federal, state, local, international, and private funding opportunities. Searches can be made by funding type, funding source, keywords, deadline dates, and many other criteria. This service is free to all Chapman faculty, staff and students when you register with your Chapman email account.

Pivot is provided by Chapman University Office of Research.

Education Week Note: Users may access via this link or by using their Chapman email to create a personal account on the website.

To search for additional journals covering Education, please use the Publication Finder link below.

Publication Finder Use this publication finder to find journals.

You can find dissertations and theses using the sources below:

Chapman University Digital Commons - Dissertations and Theses Dissertations and Theses by Chapman students that have been voluntarily included in Chapman University Digital Commons.
Dissertations by Attallah College Ph.D. Graduates Attallah College Ph.D. Graduates with their dissertation titles. 2010-current.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over one million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage: 1637-present.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).
Open Access Theses & Dissertations (OATD) OATD.org provides an index of open access graduate theses and dissertations published internationally from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions.

About Peer Review

If your professor asks you to find "peer reviewed" journal articles, be sure the article you find is from a source that has gone through the peer review process. Many databases offer a search filter to limit to only journals that are peer reviewed. You can also check the journal title in the Ulrich's database to see if it is peer reviewed.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory A directory with detailed information about scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers, and newsletters, including discontinued publications. It provides international coverage in more than 900 subject areas. Terms of Use.

Ulrich's is an authoritative knowledge base of information on more than 300,000 serials of all types from around the world: academic and scholarly journals, online publications, newspapers, and other resources. It provides details such as ISSN and title, publisher, online availability, language, subject area, abstracting & indexing coverage, searchable tables of contents, and full-text reviews.