LibGuides: Education: Publishing Resources

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities

Cabells Directory of Publishing Opportunities This link opens in a new window Lists scholarly journals and their publication guidelines. The "Journalytics" directory assists in identifying, evaluating, and comparing journals for publication, while "Predatory Reports" highlights journals to potentially avoid. Entries include guidelines, acceptance rates, review process, and audience. Terms of Use.

For the field of education, there are three disciplines that may be of interest:

Educational Curriculum and Methods
Educational Psychology and Administration
Educational Technology and Library Science

Searching in Cabell’s

Begin by selecting “Filters” to the right of the search box at the top of the screen
Choose one of the disciplines from above
On the results page, you may limit further to a specific topic or simply click the discipline to see all journals.
Once you have a table of journals to work with, click on the title for detailed information.

Journal Citation Reports (JCR)

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) This link opens in a new window Statistical data for evaluating the world's leading journals and their impact and influence in the global research community. Terms of Use. Coverage: 2005-present.

Journal Citation Reports can show you the:

Most frequently cited journals in a field
Highest impact journals in a field

NOTE: Not all journals are found in JCR. Also, citation data is just one way to evaluate journals.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window A directory with detailed information about scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers, and newsletters, including discontinued publications. It provides international coverage in more than 900 subject areas. Terms of Use.

This online directory provides helpful information on all types of periodicals (journals, magazines, newsletters, etc.). You can discover which databases a journal is indexed or abstracted in, for example, to determine the reach and accessibility of articles published in the journal. You can also discover circulation information and if the journal is peer-reviewed (described as “refereed”). The year the journal was first published and the frequency of its publication schedule are other types of information found here.