LibGuides: Pharmacy: Find Articles

Databases for Researching Articles

The following are select databases containing journal articles and citations covering health related topics.

For additional databases, please click HERE to access all of the databases offered by the Leatherby Libraries.

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window Full-text database of complementary, holistic, and integrated health care and wellness articles, reports, proceedings, and newsletters, plus pamphlets, booklets, and original research. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1990-present.
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window Reference database for research journal articles in the life sciences. Includes abstracts, major concept classifications, taxonomic data, cited references, and journal information and impact factor. Terms of Use. Coverage: 2009-present.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window A resource containing a collection of nursing & allied health journals containing legal cases, clinical innovations, research instruments, clinical trials, dissertations, and conference proceedings. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1937-present. Restricted to 8 users at a time.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a database collection containing high-quality, independent evidence, including systematic reviews and controlled trials, to inform healthcare decision-making. Terms of Use.

ECRI Guideline Trust ECRI provides this guidelines resource to provide healthcare professionals access to current, properly vetted evidence-based clinical practice guideline summaries and other information.

Embase This link opens in a new window A biomedical literature database often recommended for systematic reviews and meta-analyses due to its coverage of over 8,100 journals and 3.6 million conference abstracts. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1947-present.
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 80 full-text consumer health magazines. Also included in this database is searchable full text for current health-related pamphlets and nearly 130 health reference books. Terms of Use.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window Provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Also features information from the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Terms of Use.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive collection of information on drug use and development, with information from over 800 health journals throughout the world. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1967-present.
Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) This link opens in a new window Access the complete online edition of JAMA, an international peer-reviewed general medical journal. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1883-present.
Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics This link opens in a new window Publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of drugs for common diseases. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1988-present. | A mobile app is available for this resource.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Medline (EBSCO) produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine is the premier database of biomedicine and health sciences, covering life sciences including biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics and chemistry. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1950-present.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Medline (Ovid) produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine is the premier database of biomedicine and health sciences, covering life sciences including biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics and chemistry. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1950-present.
MEDLINE (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Medline (Web of Science) produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine is the premier database of biomedicine and health sciences, covering life sciences including biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics and chemistry. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1950-present.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window Provides abstracts and indexing for over 850 titles, including 715 full-text titles that cover healthcare information related to nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicines. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1986-present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains over 5 million citations and summaries of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations from the behavioral and social sciences in 29 languages from 50 countries. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1872-present.
PubMed (Open Access) This link opens in a new window Contains over 35 million citations for biomedical literature from Medline, life science journals, and ebooks. PubMed utilizes the NLM-controlled vocabulary thesaurus MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Terms of Use. Coverage: 1966-present.
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection This link opens in a new window Platform providing access to all Elsevier journal content and select books, as well as journal titles from other publishers. Multidisciplinary in scope with the strongest content in the health, life, physical, and social sciences. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1995-present.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window Research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical, materials, agricultural sciences, chemistry, and engineering. Users must register for an account at SciFinder Registration. | Terms of Use.

Trip Medical Database A free clinical search engine that allows users to find, access, and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and care methods.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provide access to the world’s leading scholarly literature and indexes in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, proceedings, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1898-present.

List of Top Pharmacy Related Journals

For a complete list of journals available through the Leatherby Libraries, please refer to the publication finder or by searching on the library's home page.