LibGuides: Physician Assistant: Databases

Physician Assistant Databases

The following are commonly used databases related to the Physician Assistant curriculum at Chapman University.

For a complete list of all the databases available through the Leatherby Libraries, please click HERE.

5MinuteConsult This link opens in a new window An integrated digital resource to guide primary care professionals and clinical students in daily decision support by providing the information needed at the point of care for the most likely diagnosis, treatment, and management for thousands of diseases. Terms of Use.
AccessEmergencyMedicine This link opens in a new window A resource providing quick diagnosis and treatment answers for a broad spectrum of complaints encountered in the ED, ranging from neurologic and pediatric emergencies to poisoning and trauma. NOTE: Users should create a MyAccess profile to use the full functionality of this resource. Terms of Use.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Contains over 100 medical titles and answers to clinical questions. Content also includes images, videos, self-assessments, case files, diagnostic tools, and downloadable content for mobile devices. Terms of Use. | A mobile app is available for this resource.
AccessMedicine Case Files Collection This link opens in a new window 1,150+ real-life cases to assist during coursework, clinical rotations, or preparation for shelf exams and the USMLE. Includes the complete collection of basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases. NOTE: Users should create a MyAccess profile to use the full functionality of this resource. Terms of Use.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window A pharmacy resource containing videos, games, and leading pharmacy textbooks that allows users to explore leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, and research drugs and supplements. NOTE: Users should create a MyAccess profile to use the full functionality of this resource. Terms of Use.
AccessScience This link opens in a new window Online resource offering general overview of science and technology topics through encyclopedia articles, scientific definitions, and illustrations of key concepts, with links to extended articles. Terms of Use.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window An anatomical teaching tool that provides an understanding of the real human body and the mechanics of body movement through direct video recordings of real human anatomic specimens.Terms of Use.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window Head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques through more than 8 hours of video content. Terms of Use.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a database collection containing high-quality, independent evidence, including systematic reviews and controlled trials, to inform healthcare decision-making. Terms of Use.
Embase This link opens in a new window A biomedical literature database often recommended for systematic reviews and meta-analyses due to its coverage of over 8,100 journals and 3.6 million conference abstracts. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1947-present.
Health Library This link opens in a new window An online platform for delivering educational content, including commonly required clinical eBooks, cases, and multimedia content for pharmacists, physician assistants, and physical therapists. Terms of Use.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) This link opens in a new window Statistical data for evaluating the world's leading journals and their impact and influence in the global research community. Terms of Use. Coverage: 2005-present.

Lab Tests Online From the American Association for Clinical Chemistry, this resource will help patients and caregivers understand many lab tests.

MEDLINE (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Medline (Web of Science) produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine is the premier database of biomedicine and health sciences, covering life sciences including biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics and chemistry. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1950-present.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Medline (EBSCO) produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine is the premier database of biomedicine and health sciences, covering life sciences including biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics and chemistry. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1950-present.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Medline (Ovid) produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine is the premier database of biomedicine and health sciences, covering life sciences including biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics and chemistry. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1950-present.

Merck Manuals A comprehensive medical resource for professionals and consumers. The professional edition provides information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more written for medical and veterinary professionals and students.

Micromedex This link opens in a new window A source providing current, rapid, reliable drug information intended point of care decision making. Information provided is gathered from evidence-based resources, including Martindale and RED BOOK. Terms of Use. | A mobile app is available for this resource.
PubMed (Open Access) This link opens in a new window Contains over 35 million citations for biomedical literature from Medline, life science journals, and ebooks. PubMed utilizes the NLM-controlled vocabulary thesaurus MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Terms of Use. Coverage: 1966-present.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window An online collection of books, journals, and self-assessment tools from American Psychiatric Publishing, including the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5). Terms of Use.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window A clinical decision support resource that synthesizes recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations to improve patient care and quality. Terms of Use. | A mobile app is available for this resource.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provide access to the world’s leading scholarly literature and indexes in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, proceedings, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1898-present.

Physician Assistant

Get Research Help

Health Sciences Librarian

Physician Assistant Databases