LibGuides: Physical Therapy: Clinical Cases & Drug Information

Clinical Cases

AccessMedicine Case Files Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls and references, definitions of key terms, and USMLE-style review questions with detailed explanations.

Drug Information Databases

5MinuteConsult This link opens in a new window An integrated digital resource to guide primary care professionals and clinical students in daily decision support by providing the information needed at the point of care for the most likely diagnosis, treatment, and management for thousands of diseases. Terms of Use.
Facts & Comparisons This link opens in a new window A source for pharmacists to access drug information, including drug efficacy, drug comparisons, composition, and identification, amongst other drug information. Terms of Use.
Lexidrug This link opens in a new window Provides pharmacy programs with clear, concise, point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database, and other tools. Terms of Use.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window A source providing current, rapid, reliable drug information intended point of care decision making. Information provided is gathered from evidence-based resources, including Martindale and RED BOOK. Terms of Use. | A mobile app is available for this resource.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window A source providing evidence-based information on safety, effectiveness, interactions, and more on natural ingredients, including vitamins, herbs, minerals, non-herbal supplements, and foods. Terms of Use.

Pharmacist's Letter Full text of the Pharmacist's Letter, including patient handouts, newly approved drug information, online discussion of interesting cases, charts, guidelines, and medguides.

Note: Note: In order for students to register for your complimentary one year subscription to Pharmacist's Letter, click here. Please note, the subscription will expire after one year.

Note: In order for faculty to register for your personal subscription to Pharmacist's Letter, click here.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window A clinical decision support resource that synthesizes recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations to improve patient care and quality. Terms of Use. | A mobile app is available for this resource.

Additional Drug Information Resources

DailyMed National Library of Medicine site that is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts).
Dietary Supplement Label Database The Dietary Supplement Label Database contains the full label contents from a sample of dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S.
Dietary Supplements@FDA This website provides information on both finished dietary supplement products and dietary ingredients regulated by the FDA
Drug Information Portal This website from the National Library of Medicine offers a user–friendly portal to current drug information for over 68,000 drugs.
Drugs, Herbs, and Supplements Information: Medline Plus Learn about your dietary supplements, herbal remedies, prescription drugs, and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.
Drugs@FDA Quick access to quality drug information from MedlinePlus, LactMed, DailyMed, and Drugs@FDA by the National Library of Medicine
FDA Website Federal Agency website.
LactMed The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.
MedlinePlus Medical information for patients and providers.
The Merck Manual This resource provides guidelines, drug information, and procedure videos.
National Drug Code Directory The FDA provides this searchable directory of drug products identified and reported using a unique, three-segment number, called the National Drug Code (NDC), which serves as a universal product identifier for drugs.
Orange Book The publication Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book) identifies drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the FDA under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act and related patent and exclusivity information.
PDR: Prescriber's Digital Reference The Prescribers' Digital Reference (PDR) gives valuable information about medications such as indications & usage, dosage & administration, warnings & precautions, adverse reactions, and drug interactions.
The Purple Book The “Purple Book” lists biological products, including any biosimilar and interchangeable biological products, licensed by FDA under the Public Health Service Act (the PHS Act).