LibGuides: Physical Therapy: Databases

Physical Therapy Databases

The following are commonly used databases related to the Physical Therapy curriculum at Chapman University.

For a complete list of all the databases available through the Leatherby Libraries, please click HERE.

Online Databases

Research Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window A resource containing a collection of nursing & allied health journals containing legal cases, clinical innovations, research instruments, clinical trials, dissertations, and conference proceedings. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1937-present. Restricted to 8 users at a time.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a database collection containing high-quality, independent evidence, including systematic reviews and controlled trials, to inform healthcare decision-making. Terms of Use.

ECRI Guideline Trust ECRI provides this guidelines resource to provide healthcare professionals access to current, properly vetted evidence-based clinical practice guideline summaries and other information.

Embase This link opens in a new window A biomedical literature database often recommended for systematic reviews and meta-analyses due to its coverage of over 8,100 journals and 3.6 million conference abstracts. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1947-present.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window Provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Also features information from the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Terms of Use.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Medline (EBSCO) produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine is the premier database of biomedicine and health sciences, covering life sciences including biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics and chemistry. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1950-present.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Medline (Ovid) produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine is the premier database of biomedicine and health sciences, covering life sciences including biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics and chemistry. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1950-present.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window A source providing evidence-based information on safety, effectiveness, interactions, and more on natural ingredients, including vitamins, herbs, minerals, non-herbal supplements, and foods. Terms of Use.

PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database) Free database of over 32,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window Provides abstracts and indexing for over 850 titles, including 715 full-text titles that cover healthcare information related to nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicines. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1986-present.
PubMed (Open Access) This link opens in a new window Contains over 35 million citations for biomedical literature from Medline, life science journals, and ebooks. PubMed utilizes the NLM-controlled vocabulary thesaurus MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Terms of Use. Coverage: 1966-present.
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection This link opens in a new window Platform providing access to all Elsevier journal content and select books, as well as journal titles from other publishers. Multidisciplinary in scope with the strongest content in the health, life, physical, and social sciences. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1995-present.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window Offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness, and related disciplines. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1800-present. Restricted to 4 users at a time.
Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window Index with abstracts of publications relating to the field of physical education and sports medicine. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1970-present.

Trip Medical Database A free clinical search engine that allows users to find, access, and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and care methods.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provide access to the world’s leading scholarly literature and indexes in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, proceedings, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1898-present.

Decision Support Tools

5MinuteConsult This link opens in a new window An integrated digital resource to guide primary care professionals and clinical students in daily decision support by providing the information needed at the point of care for the most likely diagnosis, treatment, and management for thousands of diseases. Terms of Use.
AccessEmergencyMedicine This link opens in a new window A resource providing quick diagnosis and treatment answers for a broad spectrum of complaints encountered in the ED, ranging from neurologic and pediatric emergencies to poisoning and trauma. NOTE: Users should create a MyAccess profile to use the full functionality of this resource. Terms of Use.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Contains over 100 medical titles and answers to clinical questions. Content also includes images, videos, self-assessments, case files, diagnostic tools, and downloadable content for mobile devices. Terms of Use. | A mobile app is available for this resource.
AccessMedicine Case Files Collection This link opens in a new window 1,150+ real-life cases to assist during coursework, clinical rotations, or preparation for shelf exams and the USMLE. Includes the complete collection of basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases. NOTE: Users should create a MyAccess profile to use the full functionality of this resource. Terms of Use.
Facts & Comparisons This link opens in a new window A source for pharmacists to access drug information, including drug efficacy, drug comparisons, composition, and identification, amongst other drug information. Terms of Use.

Lab Tests Online From the American Association for Clinical Chemistry, this resource will help patients and caregivers understand many lab tests.

Lexidrug This link opens in a new window Provides pharmacy programs with clear, concise, point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database, and other tools. Terms of Use.

Merck Manuals A comprehensive medical resource for professionals and consumers. The professional edition provides information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more written for medical and veterinary professionals and students.

Micromedex This link opens in a new window A source providing current, rapid, reliable drug information intended point of care decision making. Information provided is gathered from evidence-based resources, including Martindale and RED BOOK. Terms of Use. | A mobile app is available for this resource.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window A clinical decision support resource that synthesizes recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations to improve patient care and quality. Terms of Use. | A mobile app is available for this resource.

Physical Therapy

Get Research Help

Health Sciences Librarian

Physical Therapy Databases

Online Databases

Decision Support Tools