Medical Writing: A Guide for Clinicians, Educators, and Researchers by
This book is a clear and comprehensive guide that assists readers in translating observations, ideas, and research into articles, reports, or book chapters ready for publication. For both researchers and practicing physicians, skills in medical writing are essential. Dr. Robert B. Taylor, a distinguished leader in academic medicine, uses a clear, conversational style throughout this book to emphasize the professional and personal enrichment that writing can bring. The text includes in depth instructions for writing and publishing: review articles, case reports, editorials and letters to the editor, book reviews, book chapters, reference books, research protocols, grant proposals, and research reports. This third edition is additionally fully updated to include the intricacies of medical writing and publishing today, with new coverage of: open access, pay to publish and predatory journals, peer review fraud, publication bias, parachute studies, public domain images, and phantom authors. Loaded with practical information, tips to help achieve publication, and real world examples, Medical Writing can improve skills for clinicians, educators, and researchers, whether they are new to writing or seasoned authors.
The Practical Guide to Clinical Research and Publication by
The Practical Guide to Clinical Research and Publication provides a comprehensive overview of the key foundations of epidemiology, statistics and epidemiological studies. This book presents the most important terms and knowledge in the field from a medical point-of-view. Sections contain numerous, clinically-oriented examples and drawings to facilitate understanding and clarify the relation to clinic and practice. The book contains many graphics and key points for easier understanding and is written using bullet points for ease of use and comprehension. It is ideal for physicians and clinical researchers who want to use it as guidance for clinical research or teaching.
Research in the Biomedical Sciences by
Research in the Biomedical Sciences: Transparent and Reproducible documents the widespread concerns related to reproducibility in biomedical research and provides a best practices guide to effective and transparent hypothesis generation, experimental design, reagent standardization (including validation and authentication), statistical analysis, and data reporting. The book addresses issues in the perceived value of the existing peer review process and calls for the need for improved transparency in data reporting. It reflects new guidelines for publication that include manuscript checklists, replication/reproducibility initiatives, and the potential consequences for the biomedical research community and societal health and well-being if training, mentoring, and funding of new generations of researchers and incentives for publications are not improved. This book offers real world examples, insights, and solutions to provide a thought-provoking and timely resource for all those learning about, or engaged in, performing and supervising research across the biomedical sciences.
Writing Science by
As a scientist, you are a professional writer: your career is built on successful proposals and papers. Success isn't defined by getting papers into print, but by getting them into the reader's consciousness. Writing Science is built upon the idea that successful science writing tells a story. It uses that insight to discuss how to write more effectively. Integrating lessons from other genres of writing with those from the author's years of experience as author, reviewer, and editor, the book shows scientists and students how to present their research in a way that is clear and that will maximize reader comprehension. The book takes an integrated approach, using the principles of story structure to discuss every aspect of successful science writing, from the overall structure of a paper or proposal to individual sections, paragraphs, sentences, and words. It begins by building core arguments, analyzing why some stories are engaging and memorable while others are quickly forgotten, and proceeds to the elements of story structure, showing how the structures scientists and researchers use in papers and proposals fit into classical models. The book targets the internal structure of a paper, explaining how to write clear and professional sections, paragraphs, and sentences in a way that is clear and compelling. The ideas within a paper should flow seamlessly, drawing readers along. The final section of the book deals with special challenges, such as how to discuss research limitations and how to write for the public. Writing Science is a much-needed guide to succeeding in modern science. Its insights and strategies will equip science students, scientists, and professionals across a wide range of scientific and technical fields with the tools needed to communicate effectively.
Designing Science Presentations: A Visual Guide to Figures, Papers, Slides, Posters, and More by
Designing Science Presentations: A Visual Guide to Figures, Papers, Slides, Posters, and More, Second Edition, guides scientists of any discipline in the design of compelling science communication. Most scientists never receive formal training in the design, delivery and evaluation of scientific communication, yet these skills are essential for publishing in high-quality journals, soliciting funding, attracting lab personnel, and advancing a career. This clear, readable volume fills that gap, providing visually intensive guidance at every step--from the construction of original figures to the presentation and delivery of those figures in papers, slideshows, posters and websites. The book provides pragmatic advice on the preparation and delivery of exceptional scientific presentations and demonstrates hundreds of visually striking presentation techniques.
Presenting Medical Statistics from Proposal to Publication by
As many medical and healthcare researchers have a love-hate relationship with statistics, the second edition of this practical reference book may make all the difference. Using practical examples, mainly from the authors' own research, the book explains how to make sense of statistics, turn statistical computer output into coherent information, and help decide which pieces of information to report and how to present them. The book takes you through all the stages of the research process, from the initial research proposal, through ethical approval and data analysis, to reporting on and publishing the findings. Helpful tips and information boxes, offer clear guidance throughout, including easily followed instructions on how to: -develop a quantitative research proposal for ethical/institutional approval or research funding -write up the statistical aspects of a paper for publication -choose and perform simple and more advanced statistical analyses -describe the statistical methods and present the results of an analysis. This new edition covers a wider range of statistical programs - SAS, STATA, R, and SPSS, and shows the commands needed to obtain the analyses and how to present it, whichever program you are using. Each specific example is annotated to indicate other scenarios that can be analysed using the same methods, allowing you to easily transpose the knowledge gained from the book to your own research. The principles of good presentation are also covered in detail, from translating relevant results into suitable extracts, through to randomised controlled trials, and how to present a meta-analysis. An added ingredient is the inclusion of code and datasets for all analyses shown in the book on our website (http://medical-statistics.info). Written by three experienced biostatisticians based in the UK and US, this is a step-by-step guide that will be invaluable to researchers and postgraduate students in medicine, those working in the professions allied to medicine, and statisticians in consultancy roles.
Grant Writing Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals, Third Edition by
This accessible, hands-on text, for new grant writers and seasoned health researchers, educators, and clinicians alike, illuminates the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish. Packed with practical tips for dealing with common pitfalls besieging grant seekers, the text progresses step by step from establishing the need for the grant through disseminating grant findings. This third edition is distinguished by key information about newer grant mechanisms and a fresh focus for foundation and corporate grants. It also includes updates on electronic submissions and web resources. Useful supporting features include examples and underlying principles for each guideline, examples of grants and specific elements that lend themselves to the development of PowerPoint slides for traditional or online classroom use, real-life examples from actual grant applications, and links to online resources to support searches for grant funders and websites supporting grant applications. Armed with savvy tips and advice from the authors--an experienced grant writer, grant reviewer, and grant consultant--readers will be able to write a persuasive grant with ease. NEW TO THE THIRD EDITION: Top-notch grant writing guidance for all health professionalsInformation about newer grant mechanisms emphasizing community-based and patient-centered outcomes research grantsFoundation and corporate grants focusing on population health, personalized health, and interprofessional team grants that include community collaborations and corporate partnershipsImportant information on the Patient-Centered Research InstituteGuidance on how to involve stakeholders and communities in study design and implementationUpdates on electronic submissions and web resourcesNew coauthor who is a successful PCORI awardeeInstructor's PowerPoint slides KEY FEATURES: Describes the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finishDelivers practical tips from experienced authors for dealing with common pitfalls and difficultiesIncludes examples and underlying principles for each guidelineProvides real-life examples from actual grant applicationsHelps readers to apply principles for selling and justifying the grant to their own proposals
Writing Grant Proposals in Epidemiology, Preventive Medicine, and Biostatistics by
Competition for research funds in epidemiology, preventive medicine and biostatistics is highly competitive and at the same time, the grant application and review process at such agencies at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) has undergone substantial revisions. Writing Grant Proposals in Epidemiology, Preventive Medicine, and Biostatistics, Second Edition targets effective grant proposal writing in this highly competitive and evolving environment. Covering all aspects of the proposal writing process, the updated second edition: *Includes new chapters on Fellowship Grants and Career Development Awards designed for graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and early-career faculty *Provides strategies to highlight the "overall impact" of the grant, one of the most important aspects determining NIH funding in a new chapter on Significance and Innovation *Provides step-by-step guidelines for grant structure and style alongside broader strategies for developing a research funding portfolio *Explains how to avoid common errors and pitfalls, supplying critical dos and don'ts that aid in writing solid grant proposals *Illustrates key concepts with extensive examples from successfully funded proposals Written by an established NIH reviewer with inside knowledge and an impressive track record of funding, Writing Grant Proposals in Epidemiology, Preventive Medicine, and Biostatistics, Second Edition is an essential cookbook of the appropriate ingredients needed to construct a winning grant proposal. The text is not only relevant for early-stage investigators including graduate students, medical students/residents, and postdoctoral fellows, but also valuable for more experienced faculty, clinicians, epidemiologists, and other health professionals who cannot seem to break the barrier to obtain NIH-funded research.