Skip to Main Content 
Health Sciences Data Resources
Big Cities Health Inventory Data Platform
Health data from 35+ cities, including demographic information, to provide insight into the health and well-being of approximately 20% of the US population.
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Data
Public data released by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). Includes tools to look up information on providers, view healthcare related activity by geography, and visualize data interactively.
Clinicaltrials.gov This link opens in a new window
A resource from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) that provides access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions. Terms of Use.
DailyMed This link opens in a new window
A public service of the National Library of Medicine that provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs in the United States. DailyMed is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts).
Data Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Discover research data sets and data studies published in international data repositories, journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covers the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Terms of Use. Coverage: 2009-present.
Data.gov This link opens in a new window
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data, providing access to data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more. Terms of Use.
Essential Science Indicators (ESI) This link opens in a new window
Interactive compilation identifying top-performing research fields, authors, institutions, journals, and countries based on publication counts and citation data from Clarivate databases. Terms of Use. Coverage: 2005-present.
HealthData.gov This link opens in a new window
125 years of US healthcare data, including Medicare data, epidemiology, and population statistics from agencies across the Federal Government, as well as tools and applications for data handling and processing.
Health Information National Trends Survey (HINTS)
The Health Information National Trends Survey (HINTS) regularly collects nationally representative data about the American public’s knowledge of, attitudes toward, and use of cancer- and health-related information. HINTS data are used to monitor changes in the rapidly evolving fields of health communication and health information technology and to create more effective health communication strategies across different populations.
Health Poll Database This link opens in a new window
A database for health-related U.S. survey questions covering eighty years of national polling. Features include searchable questions and results, demographic crosstabs, and health-related trends.
Terms of Use. Coverage: 1935-present.
Human Mortality Database
Detailed mortality and population data for about 40 countries. Free resource but requires registration.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) Data Archive
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields., health and medical care, education, and demography.
KidsData This link opens in a new window
KidsData, powered by the Population Reference Bureau (PRB), provides California data for over 750 measures of health and well-being. Data can be browsed by topic, region, or demographic group.
Terms of Use.
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus brings together authoritative health information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations, much of which is in the public domain. However, some material is subject to copyright restrictions.
National Cancer Institute Datasets & Databases
NCI-supported tools and services for cancer researchers. Most resources are free of cost and available to anyone.
National Center for Health Statistics Public-Use Data Files and Documentation
Downloadable data files through the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) FTP file server. Users of this service have access to data sets, documentation, and questionnaires from NCHS surveys and data collection systems. Downloading instructions are available in “readme” files.
National Library of Medicine: Open Domain-Specific Data Sharing Repositories
An aggregation page of links to dozens of NIH-supported open science, domain-specific data repositories that make data accessible for reuse and are open for both submitting and accessing data. Submission is typically limited to data of a certain type or related to a certain discipline.
openFDA
Provides APIs and raw download access to a number of high-value, high priority and scalable structured datasets, including adverse events, drug product labeling, and recall enforcement reports.
Population Reference Bureau (PRB)
Data from a nonpartisan research organization on global population trends and issues relating to population, health, and the environment.
PubChem This link opens in a new window
Public chemistry database of chemical information. Search for information on chemical structures, formula, identifiers, physical properties, biological activities, toxicity, etc.
RAND Tools
RAND tools may include models, databases, calculators, computer code, GIS mapping tools, practitioner guidelines, web applications, and various toolkits. All RAND tools undergo rigorous peer review to ensure both high data standards and appropriate methodology in keeping with RAND's commitment to quality and objectivity.
Re3data This link opens in a new window
Re3data is a global registry of research data repositories from different academic disciplines.
Terms of Use.
Registry of Open Data on AWS
This registry exists to help people discover and share datasets that are available via Amazon Web Services (AWS) resources.
UCI Machine Learning Repository This link opens in a new window
The UCI Machine Learning Repository is a curated collection of data sets, including databases, domain theories, and data generators, that can be used by the machine learning community. Terms of Use.
UNdata This link opens in a new window
UNdata provides access to international statistical databases compiled by the United Nations and other agencies. Datamarts contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of topics. Terms of Use.
