LibGuides: Music: Find Audio and Video

You can check out audio and video recordings from the Leatherby Libraries collections or use the streaming services provided through the library.

Best Bets:

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window An enormous library of classical music recordings. With over 2 million tracks, this is a great resource for listening to obscure works or multiple performances of standard works. Terms of Use.
Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new window More than 800 Metropolitan Opera performances in streaming HD video. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1936-present.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window Streaming films and documentaries from Criterion Collection, Kino Lorber, The Great Courses, and Psychotherapy.net. Faculty may log in and request additional films on https://www.kanopy.com/search to be added per the Streaming Video Policy. | Terms of Use. Coverage: 1894-present.
Music Online This link opens in a new window Cross-search music and dance sources from Alexander Street Press, including Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library, Jazz Music Library, Dance in Video, and more. Terms of Use.

Search for CDs and DVDs in the Leatherby Libraries using the online catalog.

opac

American Music This link opens in a new window An eclectic collection of music from Americans of diverse origins and all walks of life from Americas past and present. The range of genres includes country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, shape note singing, doo-wop, Motown, R&B, soul, funk, and others. Terms of Use.
Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window A collection of streaming classical music recordings with a particular focus on contemporary music and women composers. Terms of Use. Restricted to 3 users at a time.
Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new window Includes reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, jazz, African film, Bollywood, and Arab swing. Also covers Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku and more. Terms of Use.
Jazz Music Library This link opens in a new window Comprehensive streaming music collection with thousands of jazz recordings. Features wide-ranging artists from past greats to current and emerging musicians. Includes liner notes to all recordings. Terms of Use.
Music Online This link opens in a new window Cross-search music and dance sources from Alexander Street Press, including Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library, Jazz Music Library, Dance in Video, and more. Terms of Use.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window An enormous library of classical music recordings. With over 2 million tracks, this is a great resource for listening to obscure works or multiple performances of standard works. Terms of Use.
Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window Stream audio collections owned by the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and others. Access music from various genres and world cultural groups. Terms of Use. Coverage: Music composed from the Middle Ages through the 21st century, with recorded performances from the 20th century-present.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Cross-search subscribed video collections from Alexander Street Press. Virtually every video is fully transcribed in addition to being indexed for subjects, people, places, release date, language, publisher, and video type. Terms of Use.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window Streaming films and documentaries from Criterion Collection, Kino Lorber, The Great Courses, and Psychotherapy.net. Faculty may log in and request additional films on https://www.kanopy.com/search to be added per the Streaming Video Policy. | Terms of Use. Coverage: 1894-present.
Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new window Met Opera on Demand delivers instant access to more than 500 Metropolitan Opera performances, including more than 75 past performances from the Met’s award-winning Live in HD series as well as more than 400 classic full-length video and audio performances.Met Opera on Demand offers access to opera performances captured live from the stage of the Metropolitan Opera in New York and spanning more than 75 years of the company’s unparalleled broadcast history.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window Streaming films and documentaries from 30+ major studios. Our subscription provides the 1,000 most-requested videos on the platform (updated June 2024). Faculty may create accounts to request additional titles per the Streaming Video Policy. | How to create an instructor account and request films.