LibGuides: Health Sciences and Applied Human Physiology: Find Health Data & Statistics

Best Bets

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) The BRFSS is the nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services. BRFSS collects data in all 50 states as well as the District of Columbia and three U.S. territories. BRFSS completes more than 400,000 adult interviews each year, making it the largest continuously conducted health survey system in the world.
City Health Dashboard
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps The CHR&R program provides data, evidence, guidance, and examples to build awareness of the multiple factors that influence health and support leaders in growing community power to improve health equity. The Rankings are unique in their ability to measure the health of nearly every county in all 50 states, and are complemented by guidance, tools, and resources designed to accelerate community learning and action.
HealthData.gov On this site, you can find data on a wide range of topics, including environmental health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse. The data is collected and supplied from agencies from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services as well as state partners. This includes the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Food and Drug Administration, and the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, among others.
Kaiser Family Foundation - State Health Facts State Health Facts is a project of KFF and provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the United States. In some cases, data are available for counties, territories, and other geographies. State Health Facts is comprised of more than 800 health indicators and provides users with the ability to map, rank, trend, and download data. Data come from a variety of public and private sources, including KFF reports, public websites, government surveys and reports, and private organizations.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) NCHS is a key element of the U.S.'s national public health infrastructure, providing important surveillance information that helps identify and address critical health problems. NCHS collects data from birth and death records, medical records, interview surveys, and through direct physical examinations and laboratory testing.

Health Statistics by Type

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) offers practical, research-based tools and other resources to help a variety of health care organizations, providers and others make care safer in all health care settings.
California Department of Health Care Services Data and Statistics Find out about Statistics and Reports produced by Department programs as well as links to other data related to DHCS programs. DHCS is actively adding data to the CalHHS Open Data Portal
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care The Dartmouth Atlas uses Medicare and Medicaid data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
FastStats by the National Center for Health Statistics
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUPnet) HCUPnet is an online data tool based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). The data tool provides healthcare statistics and information for hospital inpatient and emergency department settings, as well as population-based healthcare data on counties. Generate tables and graphs on national and regional statistics and trends for community hospitals in the United States.
HealthData.gov On this site, you can find data on a wide range of topics, including environmental health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse. The data is collected and supplied from agencies from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services as well as state partners. This includes the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Food and Drug Administration, and the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, among others.
WHO Health Data The GHO data repository is WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for its 194 Member States. It provides access to over 1000 indicators on priority health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals (child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water and sanitation), non communicable diseases and risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, equity among others.

Chapman-only resources:

Health Poll Database This link opens in a new window
A database for health-related U.S. survey questions covering eighty years of national polling. Features include searchable questions and results, demographic crosstabs, and health-related trends.
Terms of Use. Coverage: 1935-present.

Census Bureau Data Maintained by the U.S. Census Bureau, this site provides easy access to Census demographic information, as well as national maps and the more detailed U.S. Census Bureau homepage.
Census Bureau: State and County QuickFacts QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
United Nations Statistics Division Find national statistics on a wide-range of topic areas, including but not limited to demographic, social, economic, environmental, gender, and generational data.

Vital records include births, deaths, marriages, divorces, and fetal deaths. They also record information about the cause of death, or details of the birth. Vital Records are collected by the National Vital Statistics System within the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS), Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), an operating division of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). Vital records data are provided through contracts between NCHS and vital registration systems operated in the various jurisdictions legally responsible for the registration of vital events.

California Department of Public Health: Vital Records Data and Statistics The Vital Records Data and Statistics cover a wide variety of health topics suitable for community health assessments, research for government and private studies, and public inquiry. Further, the programs within the Vital Records Data and Statistics include the Medical Marijuana Identification Card Program and the End of Life Option Act.
California Vital Data (Cal-ViDa) The California Vital Data (Cal-ViDa) Query Tool allows users to create custom reports of California’s birth and death data. After your query has been completed, you can view the report, export, or print the data.
National Vital Statistics Reports National Vital Statistics Reports (NVSR) are regular issues from the National Vital Statistics System (NVSS) that cover provisional birth, death, marriage, and divorce statistics.
National Vital Statistics System by the NCHS

CDC WONDER A system of searchable databases with access to a wide array of public health indicators, including measures of chronic and communicable disease, environmental health, disease and injury prevention, and occupational health. CDC WONDER is a resource of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), an operating division of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).
Human Mortality Database The Human Mortality Database (HMD) is the world´s leading scientific data resource on mortality in developed countries. The HMD provides detailed high-quality harmonized mortality and population estimates to researchers, students, journalists, policy analysts, and others interested in the human longevity. The HMD follows open data principles.
Nationally Notifiable Infectious Diseases and Conditions (NNDSS) These are weekly cases of selected infectious national notifiable diseases, from the National Notifiable Diseases Surveillance System (NNDSS). NNDSS data reported by the 50 states, New York City, the District of Columbia, and the U.S. territories are collated and published weekly as numbered tables. Cases reported by state health departments to CDC for weekly publication are subject to ongoing revision of information and delayed reporting. Therefore, numbers listed in later weeks may reflect changes made to these counts as additional information becomes available. Case counts in the tables are presented as published each week.
WHO Global Health Estimates WHO’s Global Health Estimates provide the latest available data on causes of death and disability globally, by WHO region and country, by age, sex and by income group.

HealthData.gov - COVID-19 Data Sets

Health Statistics by Location

United Nations Statistics Division Find national statistics on a wide-range of topic areas, including but not limited to demographic, social, economic, environmental, gender, and generational data.
WHO Health Data The GHO data repository is WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for its 194 Member States. It provides access to over 1000 indicators on priority health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals (child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water and sanitation), non communicable diseases and risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, equity among others.
WHO Health Data - By Country

America's Health Rankings Produced by the United Health Foundation, America’s Health Rankings evaluates a comprehensive set of health, environmental and socioeconomic data.
California Health Interview Survey (CHIS) The California Health Interview Survey (CHIS) is the nation's largest state health survey and a critical source of data on Californians as well as on the state's various racial and ethnic groups.
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps - State Reports County Health Rankings & Roadmaps brings actionable data, evidence, guidance, and stories to diverse leaders and residents so people and communities can be healthier. The University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute created CHR&R for communities across the nation, with funding from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Kaiser Family Foundation - State Health Facts State Health Facts is a project of KFF and provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the United States. In some cases, data are available for counties, territories, and other geographies. State Health Facts is comprised of more than 800 health indicators and provides users with the ability to map, rank, trend, and download data.

City Health Dashboard
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps County Health Rankings & Roadmaps (CHR&R) is a program of the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute. The CHR&R program provides data, evidence, guidance, and examples to build awareness of the multiple factors that influence health and support leaders in growing community power to improve health equity.
LA County Department of Public Health
OC Health Care Agency
Rural Health Information Hub
Big Cities Health Inventory The Big Cities Health Inventory data platform covers 35 cities and includes over 120 metrics related to health.

Health Statistics by Population Group

Aging, Independence, and Disability Program (AGID) Data Portal
ChildStats.gov
Kids Count Data Center KIDS COUNT is a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation and a premier source of data on children and families.
Kidsdata Kidsdata.org, a program of Population Reference Bureau (PRB), promotes the health and well being of children in California by providing an easy-to-use resource that offers high quality, wide ranging, local data to those who work on behalf of children.
PeriStats Aggregating data from nine government agencies and organizations, PeriStats provides access to the most current maternal and infant health statistics on topics such as preterm birth, infant mortality, tobacco use, cesarean births, and health insurance coverage. Detailed information by race, ethnicity, and maternal age for many indicators is also available.
UNICEF Data - Child Statistics

ACL - Profile of Older Americans The Profile of Older Americans is an annual summary of critical statistics related to the older population in the United States. Relying primarily on data offered by the U.S. Census Bureau, the Profile illustrates the shifting demographics of Americans age 65 and older. It includes key topic areas such as income, living arrangements, education, and health. The 2021 Profile includes a special section on family caregiving.
Aging, Independence, and Disability Program (AGID) Data Portal
California Department of Aging
Gateway to Global Aging

U.S. Health and Human Services - Office of Minority Health

Health Disparities & Equity

AHRQ - National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report The National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report presents trends for measures related to access to care, affordable care, care coordination, effective treatment, healthy living, patient safety, and person-centered care. The report presents, in chart form, the latest available findings on quality of and access to healthcare, as well as disparities related to race and ethnicity, income, and other social determinants of health.
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care The Dartmouth Atlas uses uses Medicare and Medicaid data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
HealthData.gov - Social Determinants & Health Equity Resource Guide
Kaiser Family Foundation - State Health Facts - Disparities This category includes data on demographics, health coverage, health status, and certain health conditions by race/ethnicity and gender to provide insight into health disparities and changes in disparities over time. This category also contains data on births and mortality by race/ethnicity.
Kidsdata - Racial and Ethnic Equity

Credit

The following resources were consulted in the creation of this page: