LibGuides: Experiential Educators: Drug Information Resources

Drug Information Databases

5MinuteConsult This link opens in a new window An integrated digital resource to guide primary care professionals and clinical students in daily decision support by providing the information needed at the point of care for the most likely diagnosis, treatment, and management for thousands of diseases. Terms of Use.
Facts & Comparisons This link opens in a new window A source for pharmacists to access drug information, including drug efficacy, drug comparisons, composition, and identification, amongst other drug information. Terms of Use.
Lexidrug This link opens in a new window Provides pharmacy programs with clear, concise, point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database, and other tools. Terms of Use.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window A source providing current, rapid, reliable drug information intended point of care decision making. Information provided is gathered from evidence-based resources, including Martindale and RED BOOK. Terms of Use. | A mobile app is available for this resource.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window A source providing evidence-based information on safety, effectiveness, interactions, and more on natural ingredients, including vitamins, herbs, minerals, non-herbal supplements, and foods. Terms of Use.

Pharmacist's Letter Full text of the Pharmacist's Letter, including patient handouts, newly approved drug information, online discussion of interesting cases, charts, guidelines, and medguides.

Note: Note: In order for students to register for your complimentary one year subscription to Pharmacist's Letter, click here. Please note, the subscription will expire after one year.

Note: In order for faculty to register for your personal subscription to Pharmacist's Letter, click here.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window A clinical decision support resource that synthesizes recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations to improve patient care and quality. Terms of Use. | A mobile app is available for this resource.

Recommended Drug Information Resources

Type of Question	Preferred Source	Secondary Resources
Adverse Drug Reactions	Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs	Lexicomp AHFS® drug information (2019) Call #: RS131.2 .A47 2019 Rinker Study Commons Use Only (Can also be accessed via L exiComp. Search for AHFS, under the More Clinical Tools tab and then click on Indexes.)
Compounding	Trissel's Stability of Compounded Formulations, 6e	Extemporaneous Formulations for Pediatric, Geriatric, and Special Needs Patients, 4e The Art, Science, and Technology of Pharmaceutical Compounding, 6e Compounding Sterile Preparations, 4e
Current Research, Primary Literature	PubMed Embase	International Pharmaceutical Abstracts Medline Web of Science
Disease Information	UpToDate	AccessMedicine
Drug-Drug Interaction	Micromedex Lexicomp	Stockley's Drug Interaction Pocket Companion 2016 Facts and Comparisons
Drug-Food Interaction	Food Medication Interaction Call #: RM302.4 .P76 2012 Rinker Study Commons Use Only	Micromedex Facts and Comparisons
Equivalent Products	The Orange Book: Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence	Facts and Comparisons
Foreign Drugs	Martindale: the Complete Drug Reference Call #: RS141.3 .M37 2017 Rinker Study Commons Use Only (Can also be accessed via MicroMedex. Search for a drug name, then select the Martindale entry from the search results.)	Index Nominum (Online access via Micromedex. Search for a drug name, then select the Index Nominum entry from the search results.)
Geriatric Dosing	Fundamentals of Geriatric Pharmacotherapy, 2e	Lexicomp
Guidelines	UpToDate	ECRI Guideline Trust
Identification	Identidex (Access through Drug ID tab at top of Micromedex) Lexicomp
Infectious Diseases	Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Call #: RM265 .S26 2019 Rinker Study Commons Use Only	Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases Pharmacist's Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy
IV Compatibility	ASHP Injectable Drug Information, 2023: A Comprehensive Guide to Compatibility and Stability Handbook on injectable drugs Call #: RM143 .T74 2017 Rinker Study Commons Use Only	Lexicomp Micromedex
Laboratory Tests	Wallach's Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests, 11e
Natural Products	Natural Medicines	Facts and Comparisons
Off-Label Use	Facts and Comparisons	Lexicomp AHFS® drug information (2019) Call #: RS131.2 .A47 2019 Rinker Study Commons Use Only (Can also be accessed via L exiComp. Search for AHFS, under the More Clinical Tools tab and then click on Indexes.)
OTC Medications	Handbook of Nonprescription Drugs, 20e	Facts and Comparisons
Package Inserts	DailyMed	Physician's Desk Reference (2017) Call #:RS75 .P5 2015 Rinker Study Commons Use Only
Patient Counseling Points	Handbook of Nonprescription Drugs, 20e	Lexicomp AHFS® drug information (2019) Call #: RS131.2 .A47 2019 Rinker Study Commons Use Only (Can also be accessed via L exiComp. Search for AHFS, under the More Clinical Tools tab and then click on Indexes.)
Pediatric Dosing	Lexicomp Pediatric & Neonatal Dosage Handbook Call #:RJ560 .P387 2015 Rinker Study Commons Use Only (Can also be accessed via L exiComp. Search for Pediatric & Neonatal Lexi-Drugs, under the More Clinical Tools tab and then click on Indexes.)	Pediatric Injectable Drugs : The Teddy Bear Book
Pharmaceutics/Pharmacokinetics	Remington: the science and practice of pharmacy, 23e	Winter's Basic Clinical Pharmacokinetics Clinical Pharmacokinetics
Pharmacology	Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14e	Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, 15e
Physical/Chemical Properties	Merck Index	PubChem SciFinder
Policy Recommendations	Lexicomp	AHFS® drug information (2019) Call #: RS131.2 .A47 2019 Rinker Study Commons Use Only (Can also be accessed via L exiComp. Search for AHFS, under the More Clinical Tools tab and then click on Indexes.)
Pregnancy Lactation	Briggs Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation: a Reference Guide to Fetal and Neonatal Risk Call #:RG627.6.D79 B75 2017 Rinker Study Commons Use Only (Can also be accessed via L exiComp. Search for Briggs Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation, under the More Clinical Tools tab and then click on Indexes.)	LactMed Micromedex
Pricing	Red Book (available through Micromedex)
Storage & Stability	Lexicomp Micromedex	Handbook on Injectable Drugs Call #: RM143 .T74 2017 Rinker Study Commons Use Only
Toxicology	Micromedex Lexicomp
Veterinary Information	Merck Veterinary Manual

Experiential Educators

Health Sciences Librarian

Additional Drug Information Resources

Drug Information Databases

Recommended Drug Information Resources