LibGuides: Experiential Educators: Databases

Pharmacy Databases

The following are commonly used databases related to the Pharmacy curriculum at Chapman University.

For a complete list of all the databases available through the Leatherby Libraries, please click HERE.

5MinuteConsult This link opens in a new window An integrated digital resource to guide primary care professionals and clinical students in daily decision support by providing the information needed at the point of care for the most likely diagnosis, treatment, and management for thousands of diseases. Terms of Use.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Contains over 100 medical titles and answers to clinical questions. Content also includes images, videos, self-assessments, case files, diagnostic tools, and downloadable content for mobile devices. Terms of Use. | A mobile app is available for this resource.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window A pharmacy resource containing videos, games, and leading pharmacy textbooks that allows users to explore leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, and research drugs and supplements. NOTE: Users should create a MyAccess profile to use the full functionality of this resource. Terms of Use.
AccessScience This link opens in a new window Online resource offering general overview of science and technology topics through encyclopedia articles, scientific definitions, and illustrations of key concepts, with links to extended articles. Terms of Use.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window An anatomical teaching tool that provides an understanding of the real human body and the mechanics of body movement through direct video recordings of real human anatomic specimens.Terms of Use.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window Head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques through more than 8 hours of video content. Terms of Use.
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window Reference database for research journal articles in the life sciences. Includes abstracts, major concept classifications, taxonomic data, cited references, and journal information and impact factor. Terms of Use. Coverage: 2009-present.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a database collection containing high-quality, independent evidence, including systematic reviews and controlled trials, to inform healthcare decision-making. Terms of Use.
Embase This link opens in a new window
A biomedical literature database often recommended for systematic reviews and meta-analyses due to its coverage of over 8,100 journals and 3.6 million conference abstracts. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1947-present.
Health Library This link opens in a new window An online platform for delivering educational content, including commonly required clinical eBooks, cases, and multimedia content for pharmacists, physician assistants, and physical therapists. Terms of Use.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window Provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Also features information from the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Terms of Use.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive collection of information on drug use and development, with information from over 800 health journals throughout the world. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1967-present.
Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics This link opens in a new window Publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of drugs for common diseases. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1988-present. | A mobile app is available for this resource.
MEDLINE (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Medline (Web of Science) produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine is the premier database of biomedicine and health sciences, covering life sciences including biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics and chemistry. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1950-present.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window A source providing current, rapid, reliable drug information intended point of care decision making. Information provided is gathered from evidence-based resources, including Martindale and RED BOOK. Terms of Use. | A mobile app is available for this resource.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window A source providing evidence-based information on safety, effectiveness, interactions, and more on natural ingredients, including vitamins, herbs, minerals, non-herbal supplements, and foods. Terms of Use.
PharmacyLibrary This link opens in a new window Features content from the American Pharmacists Association's authoritative textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX review, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association and a variety of news sources. Terms of Use.

Pharmacist's Letter Full text of the Pharmacist's Letter, including patient handouts, newly approved drug information, online discussion of interesting cases, charts, guidelines, and medguides.

Note: In order for students to register for your personal subscription to Pharmacist's Letter, click here.

Note: In order for faculty to register for your personal subscription to Pharmacist's Letter, click here.

The CE training module is currently unavailable in Pharmacist's Letter.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window Provides abstracts and indexing for over 850 titles, including 715 full-text titles that cover healthcare information related to nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicines. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1986-present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains over 5 million citations and summaries of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations from the behavioral and social sciences in 29 languages from 50 countries. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1872-present.
PubMed (Open Access) This link opens in a new window Contains over 35 million citations for biomedical literature from Medline, life science journals, and ebooks. PubMed utilizes the NLM-controlled vocabulary thesaurus MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Terms of Use. Coverage: 1966-present.
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection This link opens in a new window Platform providing access to all Elsevier journal content and select books, as well as journal titles from other publishers. Multidisciplinary in scope with the strongest content in the health, life, physical, and social sciences. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1995-present.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical, materials, agricultural sciences, chemistry, and engineering. Users must register for an account at SciFinder Registration. | Terms of Use.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provide access to the world’s leading scholarly literature and indexes in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, proceedings, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1898-present.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window A clinical decision support resource that synthesizes recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations to improve patient care and quality. Terms of Use. | A mobile app is available for this resource.