LibGuides: Data Management: Where to Store Your Data

We recommend depositing your data in Chapman Figshare, Chapman's data repository. Depositing your data in Chapman Figshare will provide it a permanent home that allows for open access and helps you comply with many data sharing mandates. It also provides a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) for data sets.

Depositing in Chapman Figshare does not preclude you from posting your data in other places. Below are a few listings of other available data repositories.

*Please note that some funders require authors to deposit in specific repositories, so you should always double-check their policies. However, these will not generally prevent you from depositing in multiple repositories.

Find Data Repositories
Find Publisher Data Policies

re3data re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines, and can be browsed or searched by subject. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions.
Open Access Directory's data repositories wiki page The Open Access Directory, hosted Graduate School of Library and Information Science at Simmons College but maintained by the OA community at large, keeps a list of open data repositories organized by subject on its wiki.
Dryad A non-profit repository for research data sets in any field that correspond to findings published in a paper. You can upload your data in any file format and receive a DOI. Before publication, a team of curators makes sure the uploaded data is useable. Users are charged when their submissions are accepted.
Figshare Share posters, presentations, datasets, videos, code and other research outputs in any file format on this platform from Digital Science. Users have 20 GB of free private space, which you can use to collaborate on a project with your peers. The space for public files is unlimited. Figshare provides a DOI for all published files.
Github A platform to host and collaboratively develop software, both privately and publicly. Now owned by Microsoft, the free plan includes 500MB of private and unlimited public storage as of November 2020.
Protcols.io Publish and update any methodological information, be it a protocol for a chemical synthesis, descriptions of a clinical trial, or a computational workflow. Once published, you receive a DOI that you can link to the corresponding paper. You can also run your protocols as checklists while performing the research. While creating and publishing of protocols as an individual researcher is free (and will remain so according to the company), they charge companies and institutions for licenses.
Zenodo Zenodo is a research data repository created by OpenAIRE and CERN to provide a place for researchers to deposit datasets. Zenodo has integration with GitHub to make code hosted in GitHub citable. Zenodo is a general-purpose open access repository, benefitting both the sciences and the humanities.

Open Access Directory's journal open-data policies wiki page The Open Access Directory maintains a listing of journals with research data sharing policies, including whether deposit in specific repositories is required or automated. Each entry links to the detailed explanation on the publisher's website.