LibGuides: Dance: Find Dance Health Resources

The Leatherby Libraries has a collection of books across many disciplines. Books for research on dance health topics such as dance and injury prevention, dance conditioning, dance and nutrition, and dance psychological aspects are mostly found in the 3rd floor Science & Technology Library and the 2nd floor Social Science Library.

Because dance health topics crossover into several other disciplines, it is best to search the Leatherby Libraries online catalog to see what is available. Many dance health books and DVDs in the call number range of GV 1580--GV 1799.

Use this search bar to find books and DVDs in the catalog:

Anatomy and Physiology E-books

And also try looking in the ESCO Academic E-Books Collection:

eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window Over 160,000 multidisciplinary e-book titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, including titles from leading university presses. Terms of Use. Each book is restricted to 1 download at a time (requires Adobe Digital Editions or the EBSCO Mobile App). Unlimited users may read in browser.

You can also find books from libraries all over the world and have themn sent to the Leatherby Libraries through Interlibrary Loan.

The Leatherby Libraries also has a large number of e-books that cannot be found in the library catalog.

Search Discover! for e-books and other materials:

Leatherby Libraries Home Page

Best bets for finding dance health articles from journals, magazines, and professional literature:

Medical Problems of Performing Artists Medical Problems of Performing Artists is the first clinical medical journal devoted to the etiology, diagnosis, and treatment of medical and psychological disorders related to the performing arts. Original peer-reviewed research papers cover topics including neurologic disorders, musculoskeletal conditions, voice and hearing disorders, anxieties, stress, substance abuse, and other health issues related to actors, dancers, singers, musicians, and other performers.
Journal of Dance Medicine & Science Each issue focuses on bringing you the current results of clinical and experimental research. The aim of the Journal of Dance Medicine & Science is to provide you with one source for up-to-date information. Featured articles are drawn from the fields of: Anatomy and Physiology Biomechanics General Medicine Sports Medicine and Surgery Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Physical Therapy Dance Education Kinesiology Psychology Nutrition and Diet

Databases to find journal articles for dance health topics:

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Contains over 100 medical titles and answers to clinical questions. Content also includes images, videos, self-assessments, case files, diagnostic tools, and downloadable content for mobile devices. Terms of Use. | A mobile app is available for this resource.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window Full-text database of complementary, holistic, and integrated health care and wellness articles, reports, proceedings, and newsletters, plus pamphlets, booklets, and original research. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1990-present.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window A resource containing a collection of nursing & allied health journals containing legal cases, clinical innovations, research instruments, clinical trials, dissertations, and conference proceedings. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1937-present. Restricted to 8 users at a time.
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 80 full-text consumer health magazines. Also included in this database is searchable full text for current health-related pamphlets and nearly 130 health reference books. Terms of Use.
MEDLINE (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Medline (Web of Science) produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine is the premier database of biomedicine and health sciences, covering life sciences including biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics and chemistry. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1950-present.
Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window Index with abstracts of publications relating to the field of physical education and sports medicine. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1970-present.
PubMed (Open Access) This link opens in a new window Contains over 35 million citations for biomedical literature from Medline, life science journals, and ebooks. PubMed utilizes the NLM-controlled vocabulary thesaurus MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Terms of Use. Coverage: 1966-present.

SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window Offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness, and related disciplines. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1800-present. Restricted to 4 users at a time.

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
An anatomical teaching tool that provides an understanding of the real human body and the mechanics of body movement through direct video recordings of real human anatomic specimens.
Terms of Use.

eSkeletons University of Texas at Austin resource that provides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy through an osteology database.
Human Anatomy Online This manual was developed to facilitate learning of human anatomy. he method of dissection described in this manual represents a regional approach. Although the anatomy is presented regionally, it is incumbent upon the student to also view the human body from a systemic perspective.
The Visible Human Project Complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies from the National Library of Medicine.