LibGuides: Communication Sciences & Disorders: Find Articles

Databases for Researching Articles

The following are select databases containing journal articles and citations covering health related topics.

For additional databases, please click HERE to access all of the databases offered by the Leatherby Libraries.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1980-present.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary database providing access to scholarly journals articles, newspapers, popular magazines, and reviews. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1975-present.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window A resource containing a collection of nursing & allied health journals containing legal cases, clinical innovations, research instruments, clinical trials, dissertations, and conference proceedings. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1937-present. Restricted to 8 users at a time.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a database collection containing high-quality, independent evidence, including systematic reviews and controlled trials, to inform healthcare decision-making. Terms of Use.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
General Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Features full text, plus the graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations that convey scientific information. Plain-language subject headings give non-specialists access to the latest scientific and technical developments. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1984-present.
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 80 full-text consumer health magazines. Also included in this database is searchable full text for current health-related pamphlets and nearly 130 health reference books. Terms of Use.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window Provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Also features information from the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Terms of Use.
Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) This link opens in a new window Access the complete online edition of JAMA, an international peer-reviewed general medical journal. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1883-present.

Knowledge Translation for Disability & Rehabilitation Research (KTDRR) The registry includes systematic reviews of research studies on disability and rehabilitation topics salient to researchers, persons with disabilities, their families, and service providers.

LLBA (Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Medline (EBSCO) produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine is the premier database of biomedicine and health sciences, covering life sciences including biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics and chemistry. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1950-present.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Medline (Ovid) produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine is the premier database of biomedicine and health sciences, covering life sciences including biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics and chemistry. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1950-present.

NeuroBITE NeuroBITE (previously PsycBITE) is a database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI).

OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Ovid Nursing Database This link opens in a new window Includes information from Journals@Ovid and MEDLINE, the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1946-present.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Education Database This link opens in a new window Provides access to scholarly journals and dissertations on primary, secondary, higher education, special education, home schooling, adult education, and related topics. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1988-present.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window Provides abstracts and indexing for over 850 titles, including 715 full-text titles that cover healthcare information related to nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicines. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1986-present.
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window Cross-search over a dozen ProQuest social science databases covering topics like criminal justice, education, library science, linguistics and language, public affairs, policy, political science, sociology, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1871-present.
Included databases: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA), ERIC, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA), National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database, PAIS International, Policy File Index, ProQuest Criminal Justice, ProQuest Education Journals, ProQuest Library Science Database, ProQuest Linguistics Database, ProQuest Political Science, ProQuest Social Science Journals, ProQuest Sociology Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains over 5 million citations and summaries of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations from the behavioral and social sciences in 29 languages from 50 countries. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1872-present.
PubMed (Open Access) This link opens in a new window Contains over 35 million citations for biomedical literature from Medline, life science journals, and ebooks. PubMed utilizes the NLM-controlled vocabulary thesaurus MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Terms of Use. Coverage: 1966-present.
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection This link opens in a new window Platform providing access to all Elsevier journal content and select books, as well as journal titles from other publishers. Multidisciplinary in scope with the strongest content in the health, life, physical, and social sciences. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1995-present.

Speechbite speechBITE is a database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice. Find out more about this evidence-based practice initiative on the pages below.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provide access to the world’s leading scholarly literature and indexes in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, proceedings, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1898-present.

List of Top CSD Related Journals

For a complete list of journals available through the Leatherby Libraries, please refer to the publication finder or by searching on the library's home page.