The following are commonly used databases related to the Communication Sciences & Disorders curriculum at Chapman University.
For a complete list of all the databases available through the Leatherby Libraries, please click HERE.
Academic Search PremierThis link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary partial full-text database providing indexing and abstracts for over 8,450 journals, with full text for more than 4,650. Coverage in the subject areas of biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, and more.
Cochrane LibraryThis link opens in a new windowA collection of six databases containing independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effect (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED).
Communication & Mass Media CompleteThis link opens in a new windowA research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline, with abstracts for more than 500 journals and full text for over 380.
ERIC (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowA digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) at the U.S. Department of Education.
LLBA (Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts)This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
MicromedexThis link opens in a new windowEvidence-based resources used by clinicians to inform and educate care decisions with the goal to meaningfully improve patient outcomes. Includes the following products: AAPCC Codes in POISINDEX, Alternative Medicine, Detailed Drug Information for the Consumer, DISEASEDEX, DRUGDEX System, Imprint Codes in Identidex, Interaction Checking, IV Compatibility, Lab Advisor, MARTINDALE, P&T QUIK Reports, POISINDEX System, RED BOOK Online, TOMES System, CareNotes, NeoFax, and Pediatrics.
A mobile app is available for this resource. Learn how to download here.
Included databases: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA), ERIC, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA), National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database, PAIS International, Policy File Index, ProQuest Criminal Justice, ProQuest Education Journals, ProQuest Library Science Database, ProQuest Linguistics Database, ProQuest Political Science, ProQuest Social Science Journals, ProQuest Sociology Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowContains over 5 million citations and summaries of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations from the behavioral and social sciences in 29 languages from 50 countries.
PubMed (Open Access)This link opens in a new windowContains over 35 million citations for biomedical literature from Medline, life science journals, and ebooks. PubMed utilizes the NLM-controlled vocabulary thesaurus MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).
Trip Medical DatabaseA free clinical search engine that allows users to find, access, and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and care methods.