LibGuides: IACUC Literature Search Guide: Databases by Protocol Types

Agricultural Research Protocol

AGRICOLA (Open Access) This link opens in a new window Collections from the National Agricultural Library, including primary public sources for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century. Terms of Use.

ALTBIB: Bibliography on Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and Testing Resources for Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and Testing
CRIS The Current Research Information System (CRIS) provides documentation and reporting for ongoing agricultural, food science, human nutrition, and forestry research, education and extension activities for the United States Department of Agriculture, with a focus on the National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) grant programs.

PubMed (Open Access) This link opens in a new window Contains over 35 million citations for biomedical literature from Medline, life science journals, and ebooks. PubMed utilizes the NLM-controlled vocabulary thesaurus MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Terms of Use. Coverage: 1966-present.

Aquatic Research Protocols

AGRICOLA (Open Access) This link opens in a new window Collections from the National Agricultural Library, including primary public sources for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century. Terms of Use.

ECOTOX: Ecotoxicology Database The ECOTOXicology knowledgebase (ECOTOX) is a comprehensive, publicly available knowledgebase providing single chemical environmental toxicity data on aquatic life, terrestrial plants and wildlife.
TOXNET TOXNET is a group of databases covering chemicals and drugs, diseases and the environment, environmental health, occupational safety and health, poisoning, risk assessment and regulations, and toxicology.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provide access to the world’s leading scholarly literature and indexes in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, proceedings, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1898-present.

ZFin The Zebrafish Information Network (ZFIN) is the database of genetic and genomic data for the zebrafish (Danio rerio) as a model organism. ZFIN provides a wide array of expertly curated, organized and cross-referenced zebrafish research data.

Zoological Record This link opens in a new window World's oldest database of animal biology with taxonomic reference and serves as the unofficial register of scientific animal names. Comprehensive coverage of international zoological literature. Terms of Use. Coverage: 2009-present.

Behavioral/Neuropsychological Protocol

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window Provides a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology and covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1894-present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains over 5 million citations and summaries of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations from the behavioral and social sciences in 29 languages from 50 countries. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1872-present.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window Serves as a database of psychological tests and measures designed for use with social and behavioral science research. Provides a summary, full text (if available), and supplemental information. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1910-present.
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window World's oldest database of animal biology with taxonomic reference and serves as the unofficial register of scientific animal names. Comprehensive coverage of international zoological literature. Terms of Use. Coverage: 2009-present.

Education or Training Protocol

InterNiche : the International Network for Humane Education Alternatives Database InterNICHE is the International Network for Humane Education. We aim for high quality, fully humane education and training in medicine, veterinary medicine and biological science.
NORINA Database: Audiovisual Alternatives to the Use of Animals in Teaching "NORINA (A Norwegian Inventory of Alternatives) provides information on over 3800 audiovisual aids and other alternatives such as computer programs to the use of animals or animal products in teaching, at all levels from junior [elementary] school to university." From the Norwegian Reference Centre for Laboratory Animal Sciences & Alternatives.

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) at the U.S. Department of Education. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1966-present.

Field Research Protocols

AGRICOLA (Open Access) This link opens in a new window Collections from the National Agricultural Library, including primary public sources for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century. Terms of Use.
PubMed (Open Access) This link opens in a new window Contains over 35 million citations for biomedical literature from Medline, life science journals, and ebooks. PubMed utilizes the NLM-controlled vocabulary thesaurus MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Terms of Use. Coverage: 1966-present.
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window World's oldest database of animal biology with taxonomic reference and serves as the unofficial register of scientific animal names. Comprehensive coverage of international zoological literature. Terms of Use. Coverage: 2009-present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provide access to the world’s leading scholarly literature and indexes in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, proceedings, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1898-present.

ALTBIB: Bibliography on Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and Testing Resources for Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and Testing

Husbandry and Housing

AGRICOLA (Open Access) This link opens in a new window Collections from the National Agricultural Library, including primary public sources for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century. Terms of Use.

Animal Welfare Information Center The focus of the Center's information products, services, and activities is to help the regulated community with employee training and to promote the humane care and use of animals by providing information on alternatives (improved methods of animal experimentation which could reduce or replace animal use or minimize pain and distress to animals).
AWI Refinement Database Database on refinement of housing, husbandry, care, and use of animals in research. This database, created in 2000, is updated every three months with newly published scientific articles, books, and other publications related to improving or safeguarding the welfare of animals used in research.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains over 5 million citations and summaries of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations from the behavioral and social sciences in 29 languages from 50 countries. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1872-present.
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window World's oldest database of animal biology with taxonomic reference and serves as the unofficial register of scientific animal names. Comprehensive coverage of international zoological literature. Terms of Use. Coverage: 2009-present.

Pain & Distress Reduction

Embase This link opens in a new window A biomedical literature database often recommended for systematic reviews and meta-analyses due to its coverage of over 8,100 journals and 3.6 million conference abstracts. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1947-present.
PubMed (Open Access) This link opens in a new window Contains over 35 million citations for biomedical literature from Medline, life science journals, and ebooks. PubMed utilizes the NLM-controlled vocabulary thesaurus MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Terms of Use. Coverage: 1966-present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provide access to the world’s leading scholarly literature and indexes in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, proceedings, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1898-present.

Toxicological or Pharmaceutical Protocol

ALTBIB: Bibliography on Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and Testing Resources for Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and Testing
ECOTOX: Ecotoxicology Database The ECOTOXicology knowledgebase (ECOTOX) is a comprehensive, publicly available knowledgebase providing single chemical environmental toxicity data on aquatic life, terrestrial plants and wildlife.

Embase This link opens in a new window A biomedical literature database often recommended for systematic reviews and meta-analyses due to its coverage of over 8,100 journals and 3.6 million conference abstracts. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1947-present.
PubMed (Open Access) This link opens in a new window Contains over 35 million citations for biomedical literature from Medline, life science journals, and ebooks. PubMed utilizes the NLM-controlled vocabulary thesaurus MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Terms of Use. Coverage: 1966-present.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window Research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical, materials, agricultural sciences, chemistry, and engineering. Users must register for an account at SciFinder Registration. | Terms of Use.

TOXNET TOXNET is a group of databases covering chemicals and drugs, diseases and the environment, environmental health, occupational safety and health, poisoning, risk assessment and regulations, and toxicology.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provide access to the world’s leading scholarly literature and indexes in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, proceedings, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1898-present.