Skip to Main Content 
Broad Biomedical and Life Sciences Databases
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Reference database for research journal articles in the life sciences. Includes abstracts, major concept classifications, taxonomic data, cited references, and journal information and impact factor. Terms of Use. Coverage: 2009-present.
Embase This link opens in a new window
A biomedical literature database often recommended for systematic reviews and meta-analyses due to its coverage of over 8,100 journals and 3.6 million conference abstracts. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1947-present.
JoVE This link opens in a new window
Science videos illustrating key concepts, research techniques, and experiments in the fields of biology, chemistry, engineering, environmental sciences, psychology, medicine, and more.
Terms of Use | Syllabus Mapping | Faculty Resource Center
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Medline (EBSCO) produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine is the premier database of biomedicine and health sciences, covering life sciences including biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics and chemistry. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1950-present.
PubMed (Open Access) This link opens in a new window
Contains over 35 million citations for biomedical literature from Medline, life science journals, and ebooks. PubMed utilizes the NLM-controlled vocabulary thesaurus MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).
Terms of Use. Coverage: 1966-present.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical, materials, agricultural sciences, chemistry, and engineering. Users must register for an account at SciFinder Registration. | Terms of Use.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provide access to the world’s leading scholarly literature and indexes in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, proceedings, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1898-present.
