LibGuides: Anthropology: Welcome

Best Bets

Welcome to the Anthropology research guide. Here you will find information about finding databases, books and reference materials, and course guides related to the study of anthropology.

You may also want to reference the Sociology research guide for additional information.

Commonly used resources:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window An interdisciplinary ebook and journal platform to support scholarship and teaching. Provides access to select current subscriptions as well as the archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Terms of Use.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window Streaming films and documentaries from Criterion Collection, Kino Lorber, The Great Courses, and Psychotherapy.net. Faculty may log in and request additional films on https://www.kanopy.com/search to be added per the Streaming Video Policy. | Terms of Use. Coverage: 1894-present.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full-text access to current content from over 300 humanities and social sciences journal titles of nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Coverage includes literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, religious, cultural/politics/policy/gender studies, and others. Terms of Use.
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window Cross-search over a dozen ProQuest social science databases covering topics like criminal justice, education, library science, linguistics and language, public affairs, policy, political science, sociology, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1871-present.
Included databases: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA), ERIC, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA), National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database, PAIS International, Policy File Index, ProQuest Criminal Justice, ProQuest Education Journals, ProQuest Library Science Database, ProQuest Linguistics Database, ProQuest Political Science, ProQuest Social Science Journals, ProQuest Sociology Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Smithsonian Open Access This link opens in a new window Explore, download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s open access digital images. Items carrying a CC0 designation can be used free of copyright restrictions and free of charge. Terms of Use. Coverage: 200 BCE-present.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Journals in the social sciences encompassing the literature of a range of interdisciplinary fields, including the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both the applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1983-present.