LibGuides: Anthropology: Find Articles

Find Articles

Subject-Specific Databases
Multidisciplinary Databases

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window An index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1964-present. Restricted to 6 users at a time.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Coverage of over 1,200 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as selected items from over 6,000 scientific and social sciences journals, with coverage available to 1975. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1975-present.
Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window Detailed portrayals of what life was like for ordinary people in different cultures throughout history, based on current scholarship, which is not available elsewhere. Coverage of Mesopotamia, Ancient Greeks, Aztecs, Incas, Maya, Chaucer's England, Elizabethan England, Civil War America, 19th-Century American, Frontier, and Victorian England. Terms of Use.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window Includes more than 100,000 pages of personal narratives from immigrants to the United States and Canada in the form of letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. People from many countries are represented, including more recent waves of immigrants from Latin America and Asia, and perspectives are provided on both North America and the immigrants' countries of origin. In selected cases, users can listen to the actual audio voices of the immigrants or view images of their scrapbooks. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1840-present.
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window Cross-search over a dozen ProQuest social science databases covering topics like criminal justice, education, library science, linguistics and language, public affairs, policy, political science, sociology, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1871-present.
Included databases: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA), ERIC, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA), National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database, PAIS International, Policy File Index, ProQuest Criminal Justice, ProQuest Education Journals, ProQuest Library Science Database, ProQuest Linguistics Database, ProQuest Political Science, ProQuest Social Science Journals, ProQuest Sociology Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window Current coverage of over 525 journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences and Science, Technology, and Medicine (STM). Full-text backfile coverage for over 400 titles. Terms of Use.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Offers coverage of a broad array of English-language journals in the social sciences encompassing the literature of a range of interdisciplinary fields, including the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both the applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1983-present.

Remember, you can also search the Database A - Z List and narrow the Subject search to Anthropology.

Database A - Z

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Coverage includes peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Sources include more than academic 8,000 journals offering broad subject coverage in areas of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1980-present.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary partial full-text database providing indexing and abstracts for over 8,450 journals, with full text for more than 4,650. Coverage in the subject areas of biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1975-present.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window A source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics in the fields of business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1980-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window An interdisciplinary ebook and journal platform to support scholarship and teaching. Provides access to select current subscriptions as well as the archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Terms of Use.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Serves as a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content from six full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text Mega, Social Sciences Full Text, and Business Abstracts with Full Text. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1982-present.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to current content from over 300 humanities and social sciences journal titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Coverage in many fields of study, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, politics and policy studies, religion, gender studies, and others. Terms of Use.