LibGuides: Africana Studies: Welcome!

Best Bets

Welcome to the Africana Studies research guide. Here you will find information about finding databases, books and reference materials, and course guides related to the study of African and African American history, religion, and economics.

You may also want to reference the Sociology research guide for additional information.

Commonly used resources:

African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new window Developed in conjunction with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), this collection includes more than 170 unique titles and 60,000 pages related to African American life and culture. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1829-1922.
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window Access to series 3 of this collection from Newsbank, which documents the experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1976-present.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window Non-fiction writings by major African American leaders covering nearly 200 years of history. Includes letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1841-present.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window Streaming films and documentaries from Criterion Collection, Kino Lorber, The Great Courses, and Psychotherapy.net. Faculty may log in and request additional films on https://www.kanopy.com/search to be added per the Streaming Video Policy. | Terms of Use. Coverage: 1894-present.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window Includes: Atlanta Daily World, Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Cleveland Call and Post, L.A. Sentinel, Michigan Chronicle, N.Y. Amsterdam News, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier. Partial gift of The Wilkinson Family Library Endowment. Terms of Use. Coverage varies.
Coverage includes: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010), Chicago Defender (1910-2010), Cleveland Call and Post (1934-2010), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), Michigan Chronicle (1936-2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010).