African American Historical Serials CollectionThis link opens in a new windowDeveloped in conjunction with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), this collection includes more than 170 unique titles and 60,000 pages related to African American life and culture. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1829-1922.
Black Drama: Third EditionThis link opens in a new windowContains full text for 1400 plus works from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and African diaspora. Includes rare, hard to find, out of print and previously unpublished plays. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1850-present.
Black Life in AmericaThis link opens in a new windowAccess to series 3 of this collection from Newsbank, which documents the experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1976-present.
Black Short Fiction and FolkloreThis link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of stories from Africa and the African Diaspora. Additionally, the database includes complete runs of selected literary magazines (e.g. Kyk-Over-Al, The Beacon). Terms of Use
Black Thought and CultureThis link opens in a new windowNon-fiction writings by major African American leaders covering nearly 200 years of history. Includes letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1841-present.
Black Women WritersThis link opens in a new windowA collection of fiction, poetry, and essays by women from Africa and the African Diaspora on three continents and in 20 countries, providing a view of black womens struggles through time. The database currently features over 50,000 pages of poetry and prose. Terms of Use.
Caribbean LiteratureThis link opens in a new windowA searchable collection of literature produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries, including hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages.
Terms of Use. Coverage: 19th century-present.
Ethnic Diversity SourceThis link opens in a new windowFull-text database covering culture, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1923-present.
Ethnic NewsWatchThis link opens in a new windowFull-text newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic, minority and native press. Over 1.8 million articles from over 315 publications. Offers national and regional coverage. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1990-present.
Middle Eastern and North African NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowIncludes publications from Middle Eastern and North African region predominantly in Arabic with some key titles in English and French. Provides insights into the history of individual countries and viewpoints on historic events from the late nineteenth century on. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1870-2021.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowIncludes: Atlanta Daily World, Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Cleveland Call and Post, L.A. Sentinel, Michigan Chronicle, N.Y. Amsterdam News, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier. Partial gift of The Wilkinson Family Library Endowment. Terms of Use. Coverage varies.
Coverage includes: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010), Chicago Defender (1910-2010), Cleveland Call and Post (1934-2010), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), Michigan Chronicle (1936-2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010).
Sociological AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1952-present.
Remember, you can also search the Database A - Z List and narrow the Subject search to Africana Studies.
Use Start Your Search to search across multiple databases with a single search.
You may also want to search in one of the specific multidisciplinary databases below.
Academic Search PremierThis link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database providing access to scholarly journals articles, newspapers, popular magazines, and reviews. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1975-present.
General OneFileThis link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1980-present.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary ebook and journal platform to support scholarship and teaching. Provides access to select current subscriptions as well as the archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Terms of Use.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)This link opens in a new windowServes as a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content from six full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text Mega, Social Sciences Full Text, and Business Abstracts with Full Text. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1982-present.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalThis link opens in a new windowIncludes millions of citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to present around the world with over one million full-text dissertations available to download in PDF format. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1861-present.
