LibGuides: Theatre: Course Guides

Course Guides

Database on Costume history, design, and construction:

Tips: Search "Elizabethan" or browse by period (1550-1599 and 1600-1649):

Bloomsbury Dress and Costume Library This link opens in a new window Interdisciplinary primary sources, scholarly and reference books, articles, and videos on the study of dress and costume history, design and making. Terms of Use. Coverage: 3300 BCE-present.

Ebook on costume design for hats and headdress:

Ebook - "The Mode In Hats and Headdress : A Historical Survey With 198 Plates" This stunningly comprehensive survey of hats and headgear from ancient Egypt to mid-20th century illustrates an astonishing range of styles -- plumed turbans to modern homburgs, plus images of hairstyles, jewelry, and cosmetics

Find additional visual research resources here: Find Visual Research

Elizabethan and Midsummer resources:

Via Bloomsbury Dress and Costume Library:

Elizabethan Costume Design and Construction (ebook) Access via Bloomsbury Dress and Costume Library
"Elizabethan Days" in .Fashions in Makeup: From Ancient to Modern Times. (ebook chapter) Access via Bloomsbury Dress and Costume Library
"Elizabethan Era" in Encyclopedia of Hair: A Cultural History (ebook chapter) Access via Bloomsbury Dress and Costume Library
"The Elizabethan Era (1500–1603)" in Historical Wig Styling: Ancient Egypt to the 1830s. (ebook chapter) Access via Bloomsbury Dress and Costume Library
"Shakespeare and the sixteenth century" in Costumes for the Stage: A complete handbook for every kind of play (ebook chapter)
If this link doesn't work, search for the chapter title in Bloomsbury Dress and Costume Library or Drama Online
"1550–1600" in How to Read a Dress: A Guide to Changing Fashion from the 16th to the 21st Century (ebook chapter)
Search for "working" about working class.
Accss via Bloomsbury Dress and Costume Library.
Visual Resources from Folger Shakespeare Library
Filter Play to "Midsummer Night's Dream."
Access via Shakespeare in Performance database.
National Portrait Gallery
They have an extensive collection of Tudor and Elizabethan portraits, which you can explore on their website
Getty Images
This site offers a large selection of high-resolution Elizabethan art photos and illustrations
Greece in 1550s - 1600 via Smithsonian Open Access Images
16th-century peasant costume in Pattern Cutting for Men’s Costume
"The Sixteenth Century." Fashions in Hair: The First Five Thousand Years

Find Costume and Makeup artists

Browse by videos on Theatre

Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Video recordings of theatre, audio, and poetry productions as well as interviews, lectures, documentaries, teaching materials, and written resources on all aspects of theatre. Terms of Use.

Search for Interviews and reviews for info on productions and people

Search professional magazines and academic journals:

ProQuest Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Indexes 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1864-present. Restricted to 4 users at a time.

Search in newspapers

General OneFile This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1980-present.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national and international newspapers and selective full text for more than 370 regional newspapers. Also includes television and radio news transcripts from sources like CBS News, CNN, FOX News, and NPR, and more. List of Titles. | Terms of Use.
New York Times Historical (1851-2008) This link opens in a new window Provides access to digitized pages of the New York Times back files, including news articles, editorials, obituaries, marriage and birth announcements, reviews, and advertisements. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1851-2008.

New York Times (1985-current)

For more places to look for reviews, see:

Theatre Research Guide - Find Research Materials

Or, sign up for your own free full access account to the New York Times!

New York Times (website) (Student access subscription link)

Library Catalog

Subjects to search:

Costume
Costume design
Dressmaking
Costume designers
Theatrical makeup
Film makeup
Television makeup

Search for Ebooks

You can use the "Start Your Search" bar on the homepage, or try Gale Virtual Reference Library

Library resources on costuming and makeup:

Research for Time/period/culture of Anton Chekhov’s three sisters.

Keyword terms to search:

Russia* 1900*
Russia* 190*
Nicholas II
Russia* daily life

Subjects to search:

Russia -- History

Highly Recommended resource:

Digital Theatre+

Contents:

Chekhov-Life and Work
Brief Synopsis of The Plot
Brief Character Sketches
Working Through the Text In A Practical Way
Further Work on and Around The Text

Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Video recordings of theatre, audio, and poetry productions as well as interviews, lectures, documentaries, teaching materials, and written resources on all aspects of theatre. Terms of Use.

Ebooks:

Worldmark encyclopedia of cultures and daily life
Worldmark Chapter on Russians
Russia: On the Eve of War and Revolution The result of six years of study and travel in pre-Soviet Russia, this work by a major British journalist provides a vivid description of daily life under the last three Tsars, in the turbulent age following the emancipation of the serfs in 1861
Encyclopedia of Russian History Provides a comprehensive discussion of Russia's people, politics, economics, religion, and social systems; and is designed to complement the study of comparative politics, world history, geography, literature, arts and culture and world cultures. Entries span the period from the earliest beginnings of the Russian nation to the rise and fall of the Soviet Union. Includes illustrations. 4 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Russian History example: Food
Countries and Their Cultures - Russia Published in 2001 - resents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison. Provides illustrations, photographs and maps. 4 volumes.
History in dispute. Volume 21: Revolutionary Russia 1890-1930 This volume covers Revolutionary Russia from 1890 to 1930, offering critical perspectives of the political revolutions that overturned Russian governments and the long-term processes of political conflict, social change, cultural development, economic transformation, military fortunes, and other modern societal problems. It provides an enhanced understanding of events only summarized in history texts, stimulating critical thinking and providing ideas for discussion.

Books in the Library

A few examples:

A history of modern Russia from Nicholas II to Vladimir Putin
2nd FL Humanities Library Books
DK266 .S494 2005
A history of Russia (Oxford University Press)
2nd FL Humanities Library Books
DK40 .R5 2011

Websites

Wikipedia - 1900 in Russia Events from the year 1900 in Russia.

Research on writer Chekhov and previous productions.

Search by Subject:

Chekhov Anton Pavlovich 1860 1904
Chekhov Anton Pavlovich 1860 1904 Criticism And Interpretation

Find reviews of previous productions

Tip: select Document Type "Review" or "Theatre Review"

General OneFile This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1980-present.
ProQuest Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Indexes 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1864-present. Restricted to 4 users at a time.
New York Times Historical (1851-2008) This link opens in a new window Provides access to digitized pages of the New York Times back files, including news articles, editorials, obituaries, marriage and birth announcements, reviews, and advertisements. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1851-2008.

Lookup the translator for reviews and interviews:

"Michael Frayn"

For more resources to find reviews, go to the "Find Research Materials" page and select the tab to "Find Reviews"

Theatre Research Guide - Find Research Materials

Visual inspiration for the play

Inspiration as in paintings, music, photos, anything and everything to see/hear/feel.

Library of Congress - Prokudin-Gorskii Photographs Collection
Explore "Portrait Photographs [173]" or particular points of interest, e.g., "Police" or "Villages"
New York Public Library Digital Collections Public Domain prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, etc. from the NYPL collections.

Bloomsbury Dress and Costume Library This link opens in a new window Interdisciplinary primary sources, scholarly and reference books, articles, and videos on the study of dress and costume history, design and making. Terms of Use. Coverage: 3300 BCE-present.

Browse by period [1900-1914], filter to Europe, look for specifics [e.g., underwear]

Find more visual resource here:

Find Design and Visual Resources

Using AI in Your Work

Discussion Questions:

What is ChatGPT and how does it work?
What is different about using ChatGPT vs. Google vs. Library resources?
What are some useful ways to use ChatGPT for this assignment?
What are some ways you might want to avoid using ChatGPT?

Zotero!

Optional but helpful! Download Zotero here at zotero.org

Scripts available for your History and Historiography in Performance options:

Indecent, by Paula Vogel:
- E-book with unlimited user access: Indecent
- Script in the Leatherby Libraries: 2nd FL Humanities Library Books PS3572.O294 I53 2017
What the Constitution Means to Me
- Available through Interlibrary Loan: link to WorldCat]
A Midsummer Night's Dream
- Lots of copies in the library! Here are a few:
  - PR2827 .M537 2010
  - PR2827.A2 R34 2005
  - PR2827 .W54 1987

Scores and Libretti for your History and Historiography in Performance options:

Jesus Christ Superstar
- Musical selections score: 3rd FL Music Library Books M1508.L55 J47 2012
Hamilton
- Musical selections score: 3rd FL Music Library Books ML50.M6736 H3 2016
- Libretto: 3rd FL Music Library Books ML50.M6736 H3 2016
Newsies:
- Musical selections score: 3rd FL Music Library Books M1508.M45 N4 1992

Scripts that are related to your options:

Lysistrata (not Lizastrata but story on which it was based):
- At least 6 copies in the Leatherby Libraries in the 2nd FL Humanities Library Books. Here are a few:
  - PA3877 .L8 2004
  - PA3877 .L8 2003
  - PA3877 .L8 1964b
Tartuffe (not the new translation that you'll see at Chapman, but different translations):
- PQ1842 .A42 2000
- PQ1842 .A485 1997
- PQ1825.E5 B65 1991
- PQ1837 .A485 1965

Subjects to explore related to your productions:

A Shot Rang Out:
- Not sure what this play is about, sorry!
Indecent
- Theater -- History -- 20th century.
- Jewish lesbians.
Hamilton
- Hamilton Alexander 1757 1804
- Race In The Theater
Latin History for Morons
- Hispanic American Theater
- American Drama Hispanic American Authors
Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar and Grill
- Holiday Billie 1915 1959
- African American Women Musicians
What the Constitution Means to Me
- Constitutional Law United States

Databases helpful to your research:

ProQuest Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Indexes 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1864-present. Restricted to 4 users at a time.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window Cross-searches Literature Resource Center and LitFinder. Terms of Use.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national and international newspapers and selective full text for more than 370 regional newspapers. Also includes television and radio news transcripts from sources like CBS News, CNN, FOX News, and NPR, and more. List of Titles. | Terms of Use.
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1985-present.

Find visual research resources here: Find Visual Research

Play options:
Glass Menagerie - set in 1930s
Legend of Georgia McBride - written in 2014
Intimate Apparel set in 1905

Database on Costume history, design, and construction:

Bloomsbury Dress and Costume Library This link opens in a new window Interdisciplinary primary sources, scholarly and reference books, articles, and videos on the study of dress and costume history, design and making. Terms of Use. Coverage: 3300 BCE-present.

Period research for design elements (costumes, props, sound, and scenery)

Image sources for visual research:

AP Images AP Images gives you access to the world’s largest collections of historical and contemporary photographs, so you have all the imagery you need, right when you need it.
more...less...
Images dating back to 1844 .Great for historical events, people in context, and stock photography
Smithsonian Open Access Allows users to explore and use, transform, and share millions of open access digital items from the Smithsonian’s collections. Open access items carry a CC0 designation. This means the Smithsonian dedicates the digital asset into the public domain, meaning it is free of copyright restrictions and can be used for any purpose, free of charge, without further permission from the Smithsonian. Coverage: 200 BCE-present.
Vogue Archive Vogue magazine; Every issue. Every page. 1892 to today.
more...less...
Note: Chapman University doesn't provide full access to the site, but you can still browse the covers and images.
LIFE Photo Archive Photographs used in LIFE Magazine. Main coverage is 20th century until the 1970s, but also includes a good amount of late 19th century materials.
Newspaper Navigator A tool from the Library of Congress that is specifically for locating images in American newspapers from 1900-1965.
New York Public Library Digital Collections Over 750,000 images digitizes from the NYPL collections. Includes prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, and many many more.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog Many images in this very large collection are in the public domain. Make sure to check the copyright information before using an image in a non-permitted way.
Wikimedia Commons From the site: "Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone... Everyone is allowed to copy, use and modify any files here freely as long as they follow the terms specified by the author; this often means crediting the source and author(s) appropriately and releasing copies/improvements under the same freedom to others. The license conditions of each individual media file can be found on their description page."
Sears Catalogs Sears catalogs are a fantastic resource for getting images of everyday American life.
Google Books - magazines Google has partnered with a number of magazine publishers to digitize their archives. Some examples: “Ebony” 1959–2008; “ElleGIRL” 2000–2007: “LIFE” 1936–1972; “Jet” 1951–2008; “New York Magazine” 1968–1997; “SPIN” 1985–2012.

Research on Daily Life, Clothing, and Customs

Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window Full-text access across Greenwood’s “Daily Life in…” eBooks (1995-1998), which provide detailed portrayals of ordinary people’s lives in different cultures, from ancient times through the 19th century. Terms of Use.

Sonic Elements research

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
An enormous library of classical music recordings. With over 2 million tracks, this is a great resource for listening to obscure works or multiple performances of standard works. Terms of Use.
Music Online This link opens in a new window
Cross-search music and dance sources from Alexander Street Press, including Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library, Jazz Music Library, Dance in Video, and more. Terms of Use.

Music Guide - Leatherby Libraries

Find Broadway Production Info

Playbill (Broadway)

Search for Interviews and reviews using these databases:

Search professional magazines and academic journals:

ProQuest Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Indexes 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1864-present. Restricted to 4 users at a time.

Search in newspapers for reviews:

General OneFile This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1980-present.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national and international newspapers and selective full text for more than 370 regional newspapers. Also includes television and radio news transcripts from sources like CBS News, CNN, FOX News, and NPR, and more. List of Titles. | Terms of Use.
New York Times Historical (1851-2008) This link opens in a new window Provides access to digitized pages of the New York Times back files, including news articles, editorials, obituaries, marriage and birth announcements, reviews, and advertisements. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1851-2008.

New York Times (1985-current)

For more places to look for reviews, see:

Theatre Research Guide - Find Research Materials

Find books on Theatre Technology

Library Catalog

Subjects to search:

Theaters -- Stage-setting and scenery.
- NOTE: This above subject is the main one you want to search there are well over 100 results for this subject in the library catalog!
Theater Architecture.
Set Designers United States Interviews
Set Designers United States Biography

Library search box with the subject Theaters Stage-setting and scenery

Search for Ebooks

You can use the "Start Your Search" bar on the homepage, or try:

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources from a wide range of disciplines. Terms of Use.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Access to multidisciplinary e-books, including those owned by Chapman University or available through the eBook Academic Collection subscription. Terms of Use. Each book is restricted to 1 download at a time (requires Adobe Digital Editions or the EBSCO Mobile App). Unlimited users may read in browser.

Theatre

Course Guides

Database on Costume history, design, and construction:

Ebook on costume design for hats and headdress:

Find additional visual research resources here: Find Visual Research

Elizabethan and Midsummer resources:

Find Costume and Makeup artists

Browse by videos on Theatre

Search for Interviews and reviews for info on productions and people

Search in newspapers

Or, sign up for your own free full access account to the New York Times!

Library Catalog

Search for Ebooks

Library resources on costuming and makeup:

Research for Time/period/culture of Anton Chekhov’s three sisters.

Highly Recommended resource:

Research on writer Chekhov and previous productions.

Find reviews of previous productions

Visual inspiration for the play

Find more visual resource here:

Using AI in Your Work

Zotero!

Scripts available for your History and Historiography in Performance options:

Scores and Libretti for your History and Historiography in Performance options:

Scripts that are related to your options:

Subjects to explore related to your productions:

Databases helpful to your research:

Find visual research resources here: Find Visual Research

Database on Costume history, design, and construction:

Period research for design elements (costumes, props, sound, and scenery)

Image sources for visual research:

Research on Daily Life, Clothing, and Customs

Sonic Elements research

Find Broadway Production Info

Search for Interviews and reviews using these databases:

Search professional magazines and academic journals:

Search in newspapers for reviews:

For more places to look for reviews, see:

Find books on Theatre Technology

Library Catalog

Subjects to search:

Search for Ebooks

A selection of E-books on Theatre Technology