Faiths & Denominations
The Oxford Center for Hindu Studies
The center's site has lectures and information for students.
The Holy See
The Vatican website.
Soc.Culture.Jewish Reading List: Women and Judaism
Bibliography of texts addressing the place and condition of women in the various movements within Judaism.
Full-text Journals & Papers
The Journal of Hebrew Scriptures
"The Journal of Hebrew Scriptures (JHS) is an international, peer-reviewed, open access, journal established in 1996 to foster scholarly research on the Hebrew Bible, Ancient Israel’s History and cognate fields of studies."
General Reference
The ARDA
Association of Religion Data Archives
BibleGateway.com
Easily search for passages in the bible by verse, keyword, or topic. A drop-down instantly allows you to switch to many different versions of the Bible to compare translations.
Biblos.com Bible Study Tools
Includes many tools helpful for bible study, including commentary, dictionary, concordance, atlases, and more.
Unbound Bible (BIOLA)
Good Bible search tool with the option to display parallel versions side-by-side.
Glossary of Religious Terms
Helpful glossary of important terms within the world's religions.
Catholic Online Saints & Angels
A comprehensive index of saints, along with a list of patron saints and a list of feast dates chronologically through the year.
Sacred Text Archive
The "largest freely available archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric on the Internet."
SymbolDictionary.net
"A Visual Glossary of Religious Symbols"
Symbols.com
Online encyclopedia of western signs and ideograms. "Symbols.com contains more than 1,600 articles about 2,500 Western signs, arranged into 54 groups according to their graphic characteristics."
Surveys & Reports
American Religious Identification Survey 2008
"Conducted between February and November of last year, ARIS 2008 is the third in a landmark series of large, nationally representative surveys of U.S. adults in the 48 contiguous states..." and provides a "portrait of how contemporary Americans identify themselves religiously, and how that self-identification has changed over the past generation."
Pluralism.org
"Our mission is to help Americans engage with the realities of religious diversity through research, outreach, and the active dissemination of resources."
