LibGuides: Psychology: Find Books

Why read psychology books?

Reading scholarly psychology books offers you several benefits in addition to reading peer-reviewed journal articles. Books often provide a more comprehensive and in-depth exploration of a topic, allowing you to gain a broader understanding of theories, historical context, and key debates within the field. They may also present a synthesis of multiple research studies, offering you a more cohesive and integrated perspective. Furthermore, books can serve as valuable reference material, presenting foundational knowledge and concepts that you can build upon as you delve into specialized journal articles and conduct your own research.

New and Selected Books

Building Your Career in Psychology Building Your Career in Psychology is a new practical, aspirational, and experiential book designed to help readers make informed decisions about their college, career, and life success. The primary theme in this book is that psychological knowledge makes a difference in people's lives. Building on this theme, this book provides an empowered process for making the most of college and other career preparation experience, helping the reader to set the stage for academic, career, and life success. This book emphasizes academic skills, unwritten rules, career planning, and developing relationships - both professional and personal.
The Cambridge Handbook of the Intellectual History of Psychology Unlike other books on the history of psychology, which are chronologically ordered, this Handbook is organized topically. It covers the history of ideas in multiple areas of the field and reviews the intellectual history behind the major topics of investigation. The evolution of psychological ideas is described alongside an analysis of their surrounding context. Readers learn how eminent psychologists draw on the context of their time and place for ideas and practices, and also how innovation in psychology is an ongoing dialogue between past, present, and anticipated future.
Conducting Your Literature Review This book is a step-by-step guide to writing a literature review, and includes tips for modifying the process as needed depending on your audience, purpose, and goals. The lessons in this book can be applied to writing the background section for a thesis or an original research publication. Literature reviews are now much more challenging to compile today than they used to be. You need a structured approach to handle the sheer volume of published research available. This book will help you formulate a strategy for making decisions about what to include and not include in your review, and produce a reliable and unbiased summary of the existing research. You will learn skills for defining research questions, using search tools and managing citations.
Fifty Key Thinkers in Psychology The new edition of Fifty Key Thinkers in Psychology introduces the life, thought, work and impact of some of the most influential figures who have shaped and developed modern psychology, considering a more diverse history of the discipline.
Own Your Psychology Major!: A Guide to Student Success In this book, you'll get a bird's eye view of the whole curriculum, from rat mazes and statistics to abnormal psychology and psychotherapy, and you'll dive into some of the field's most enduring debates. Beyond the what and why of the psychology major, this book provides you with tips you can put into practice from day one. These include: How to maximize your learning inside and outside the classroom, advice on landing a solid internship, where to find research and service opportunities and steps for applying (and paying) for graduate programs. When you finish this book, you'll have a clear idea of why you're learning what you're learning, and how the skills you build in your psychology major will help you solve real-world problems. You'll be able to take an active hand in your education--and own your psychology major.
The Psychology Major's Handbook The Psychology Major's Handbook offers students a wealth of practical information to succeed throughout their college journey -- from choosing a major and learning how to study to writing papers and deciding what to do after graduation. Drawing on over 20 years of experiences, questions, ideas, and enthusiasm from working with students, best-selling author Tara L. Kuther covers topics relevant to all learners regardless of major, such as developing an active learning style, honing study skills, and becoming more self-aware. The handbook also addresses the specific needs of psychology students with guidance on the process of writing terms papers, how to read articles, and how to write APA-Style empirical reports.
Reflections from Pioneering Women in Psychology This volume traces the life journeys of a cohort of influential and transformative women in psychology, now in or nearing retirement, who have changed the discipline and the broader world of academia in significant ways. The 26 reflective essays record how these scholars thrived in an academic landscape that was often, at best, unwelcoming, and, at worst, hostile, toward them.
Undertaking Capstone and Final Year Projects in Psychology: Practical Guide for Students Undertaking Capstone and Final Year Projects in Psychology serves a seminal purpose in guiding its readers to create a capstone project. The text employs traditional and emerging methodologies and methods in order to posit an exhaustive approach that the psychology students can adopt to see their project to fruition

Find Books

Use the catalog search box below to start your search.

Library of Congress Call Numbers

The Library of Congress (LC) classification system arranges materials by subjects, using a combination of letters and numbers called call numbers. For psychology, counseling, and neuroscience-related topics, the relevant call numbers can be found primarily under the following sections:

BF: This section covers general psychology, including topics such as perception, cognition, personality, and motivation. The call numbers in this range are BF1 to BF990.
QP: This section covers general physiology, and books related to neuroscience can be found within the range of QP351 to QP495. This range includes topics like neurophysiology, neuroanatomy, and the nervous system, which are central to the study of neuroscience.
QL: This section is focused on zoology, and QL801 to QL950 covers comparative anatomy and morphology of the nervous system in animals. While this range is not directly related to human neuroscience, it might be of interest if you are exploring comparative neuroscience or the evolutionary aspects of the brain and nervous system.
RC: This section is focused on internal medicine and includes subcategories related to psychiatry. The call numbers for psychiatry and related subjects are found within the range of RC321 to RC576.
RJ: This section covers pediatrics, and within it, RJ499 to RJ507 is designated for child psychiatry and child psychological disorders.
LB: Although this section primarily covers theory and practice of education, it also includes some topics related to educational psychology, school counseling, and guidance. Look for call numbers in the ranges LB1050.9 to LB1091 for educational psychology and LB1027.5 to LB1027.55 for counseling and guidance in an educational context.
HV: This section covers social pathology, social and public welfare, and criminology. Within this range, HV40 to HV69 focuses on social work and counseling, which may include some resources relevant to counseling practice.

These are the primary call number sections for psychology, counseling, and neuroscience-related topics; however, related resources might be found in other sections as well, depending on the interdisciplinary nature of the topic. To locate specific materials, consult the library catalog or ask a librarian for assistance.