LibGuides: Psychology: Find Background Information

Background Information

Finding background information at the beginning of your research is important if you are not an expert in the subject area or not sure from what angle to approach your topic. Background information can provide:

A broad overview of the subject that can help you to develop the skills you need to work with peer-reviewed literature
Definitions of the topic
Introduction to key issues
Names of people who are authorities in the subject field
Keywords and subject-specific vocabulary terms that can be used for database searches
Bibliographies, Works Cited, and Additional Readings that lead to more resources

Take the time to learn about your topic before you decide on a research question. It can save you time in the long run.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Contains over 100 medical titles and answers to clinical questions. Content also includes images, videos, self-assessments, case files, diagnostic tools, and downloadable content for mobile devices. Terms of Use. | A mobile app is available for this resource.
AccessScience This link opens in a new window

You can begin searching for information in Access Medicine in a number of ways:

Use the single-search box next to where it says AccessMedicine--enter one or more topic keywords;
Browse by topic and format--Books, Quick Reference, Drugs, Multimedia, Cases, etc.;
Click on the icons for specific titles.

You can begin searching for information in Access Science in three ways:

Use the single-search box beneath where it says Search AccessScience--enter one or more topic keywords;
Browse by disciplinary areas, i.e., Agriculture, Forestry & Soils or Botany or Chemistry, etc.;
Browse the articles alphabetically.

APA Dictionary of Psychology
More than 25,000 authoritative entries across 90 subfields of psychology.

SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to encyclopedias and handbooks in such subjects as anthropology, communication, criminal justice, education, geography, human resources, political science, psychology, public policy, sociology, and sports medicine. Terms of Use.

SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
A tool to learn about research methodologies through books, reference content, videos, case studies, and more. Helps users design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. | Terms of Use.