LibGuides: Open Access: OA Publishers, Repositories, & Directories

Please browse the following indexes to find publisher policies regarding open access:

How Can I Share It? How Can I Share It is a tool to help scholars discover whether and how they can share their research articles in repositories or social collaboration sites by looking up publisher policies by either DOI or publisher name.
SHERPA/RoMEO A searchable database of publisher policies regarding copyright and self-archiving of journal articles in OA repositories. Each entry details which versions of an article may be archived and any embargo periods, conditions, or fees, as well as linking to the policy on the publisher's website.
Transpose A crowdsourced database that lets you search journal policies on open peer review, co-reviewing, and preprint policies.
Open Access Directory's list of Publisher Policies on NIH-Funded Authors The OAD wiki contains an alphabetical list of publishers and information on their policies regarding authors funded by NIH grants, who are required to deposit their work in PubMed Central within 12 months of publication.

You may also use one of the below tools to identify an open access journal to publish in:

Cabells Directory of Publishing Opportunities This link opens in a new window Lists scholarly journals and their publication guidelines. The "Journalytics" directory assists in identifying, evaluating, and comparing journals for publication, while "Predatory Reports" highlights journals to potentially avoid. Entries include guidelines, acceptance rates, review process, and audience. Terms of Use.

JournalGuide JournalGuide is a free tool to bring all sources of data together in one place to give authors a simple way to choose the best journal for their research. You can limit your search with the "Has open access options" to find OA journals in which to publish.
HelpMePublish HelpMePublish is an app from the University of Otago to help researchers analyze and contribute to the publication of research. It provides information on the acceptance rates, refereeing, open access policies, and publication charges.
Open Journal Matcher Uses a natural language processing library called spaCy to compare the text of a draft abstract with the abstracts of >5400 journals from the Directory of Open Access Journals. It ranks all of these journals by similarity, and returns the top five matches.

You may also check out the industry initiatives below to find lists of journals and publishers that have been vetted to ensure they meet academic and industry best practices and offer high-quality and legitimate open access publishing services.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals A directory of over 9,000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals across all subjects and in multiple languages. All journals have been vetted to assure they are legitimate, qualified publication venues.
Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE) Signing up to COPE shows that a journal (or company) intends to follow the highest standards of publication ethics and to apply COPE principles of publication ethics outlined in the Core Practices.
Open Access Scholarly Publishers' Association (OASPA) The following organisations and individual publications are recognised as Members of OASPA. Approved members have been through a rigorous application review process and adhere to OASPA's Code of Conduct.

Or click one of the tabs below to view list of major open access publishers as well as open access repositories, directories, and preprint servers.

OA Repositories and Directories
Preprint Servers

The following is a representative, but not exhaustive, list of major open access repositories or directories.

Chapman also has an open access repository: Chapman University Digital Commons. Contact Kristin Laughtin-Dunker for more information on how to make your research openly available, as well as how to comply with open access funder mandates, through the Digital Commons.

DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books Contains over 1400 academic peer-reviewed books from 40 publishers, including several university presses.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals A directory of over 9,000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals across all subjects and in multiple languages. All journals have been vetted to assure they are legitimate, qualified publication venues.
Electronic Journals Library Electronic Journals Library (EZB) provides full-text access to academic journals online.
F1000Posters An open access repository for posters and slide presentations about biology and medicine. It also accepts depositions from local meetings (e.g. PhD student days).
Humanities Commons Humanities Commons is an open-access and open-source digital platform that is focused on providing a space to discuss, share, and store cutting-edge research and innovative pedagogy. It also includes an open-access repository for interdisciplinary scholarship called CORE, which allows users to preserve their research and increase its audience by sharing across disciplinary, institutional, and geographic boundaries.
IsisCB Explore IsisCB Explore is a research tool for the history of science, whose core dataset comes from bibliographical citations in the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science. The IsisCB currently contains over 40 years of citation data from 1974 to the present.
JURN: The Directory of Scholarly Ejournals JURN links to over 3,000 English-language journals in the arts and humanities that are either free or offer significant free content. Note that JURN does link to newsletters and journals that may not be peer-reviewed, as well as scholarly content.
OAJSE: Open Access Journal Search Engine An open access e-journal portal developed by Krishna Kanta Handiqui State Open University that allows users to search open access articles by keyword or browse by subject.
Open Access Directory's disciplinary repositories wiki page The Open Access Directory, hosted Graduate School of Library and Information Science at Simmons College but maintained by the OA community at large, keeps a list of disciplinary repositories organized by subject on its wiki.
Open Access Library (OALib) Open Access Library (OALib) consists of: • the Search Engine, based on a database with metadata of Open Access (OA) papers • the Journal with OALib Articles, • the Index with metadata entries of external OA journal articles, • the Repository with own OALib PrePrints as well as external preprints and postprints, all stored in one of the 322 OALib Disciplinary Repositories.
OpenDOAR: Open Directory of Open Access Repositories A directory of academic open access repositories. As well as providing a simple repository list, OpenDOAR lets users search for repositories or search repository contents.
PubMed Central Biomedical and life sciences articles at the National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). NIH-funded research must be deposited here within 12 months of publication, either by the author or by certain publishers. Please see the Funding Agencies with OA Requirements page for more information.
ROAR: Registry of Open Access Repositories ROAR is a searchable index of open access institutional repositories across the world.
United Nations iLibrary The United Nations iLibrary provides librarians, information specialists, scholars, policy makers and the general public with a single online destination for seamlessly accessing knowledge products created by the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programs.

Preprints are becoming an increasingly important part of the open access movement. Preprint servers allow researchers to post early versions of their work online in order to increase public dissemination of research results as well as solicit feedback before formal publication.

OSF Preprints This platform developed by the Open Science Framework allows users to cross-search a variety of pre-print servers, such as arXiv, bioRXiv, PeerJ, and CogPrints. It can also help organizations that want to launch their own preprint server.
PeerJ Preprints A platform for authors to submit draft, incomplete, or final versions of biological, medical, and computer science articles they are working on. Allows authors to establish precedent, solicit feedback, work on revisions of their manuscript.
Preprints.org A platform from MDPI dedicated to making early versions of research outputs available, including original research articles and reviews. Content on Preprints is not yet peer reviewed and can receive feedback from readers. Updated versions of manuscripts can be uploaded by authors at any time.
AgEcon Search AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including working papers, conference papers, and journal articles. Papers must be submitted by the author's sponsoring organization.
AgriXiv Preprints for agriculture and allied sciences, powered by OSF Preprints.
arXiv A repository, run by Cornell University, for pre-print articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics. Authors may submit directly.
BioRXiv BioRxiv aims to be biologists' version of arXiv, the popular preprint server where physicists have shared their draft manuscripts for more than 20 years. The goal is to speed the dissemination of research and give scientists a way to get feedback on their papers before they are formally peer-reviewed.
ChemRN ChemRN objective is to provide worldwide distribution of research to authors and their readers and to facilitate communication among them at the lowest possible cost.
ChemRxiv Preprints in catalysis, agricultural chemistry, nanoscience, and chemical education.
CogPrints CogPrints is an archive for research in any area of psychology, neuroscience, linguistics, and many areas of computer science, philosophy, biology, medicine, anthropology, and any other portions of the physical, social, and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition. Authors may submit directly.
EarthArXiv Aims to provide a preprint home for all Earth science domains not currently publishing preprints elsewhere. This includes all sub-domains of Earth science as well as computational, data, and instrumentation research relevant to the Earth sciences.
engrXiv An open archive of engineering preprints, powered by OSF Preprints.
LISSA Preprints for library and information science, powered by OSF Preprints. Also allows scholars to share and solicit feedback on oral histories, community works, code, data, and more.
medRxiv A preprint server for clinical research. Authors will be asked to provide competing interests, all relevant ethical guidelines, clinical trial IDs, and other detailed information.
MindRxiv Preprints for research on mind and contemplative practices, powered by OSF Preprints.
NutriXiv Preprints for research on nutritional sciences, powered by OSF Preprints.
Optica Open A preprint server from Optica (formerly the Optical Society of America) dedicated to optics and photonics.
PaleorXiv Preprints for research on paleontology, powered by OSF Preprints.
PsyArXiv A free preprint service for the psychological sciences, powered by OSF Preprints.
SocArXiv Open archive of the social sciences, provides a free, non-profit, open access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers, with the option to link data and code.
Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN) A repository for pre-prints in the social sciences and humanities. Most articles are freely accessible. Users can set up alerts for newly-deposited papers in their fields of interest. Authors may submit directly.
SportRxiv Preprints for sport-related research, powered by OSF Preprints.
TechRxiv A preprint server for the open dissemination of scientific findings in electrical engineering, computer science, and related technologies.