LibGuides: Honors: Preceptorial

Use this page to help you find information on education theory and pedagogy, in order to help you design and teach a course as part of your Preceptorial studies.

If you need more specialized resources than the few listed here, be sure to consult one of our subject-specific research guides or contact me or any of Chapman's fine librarians for additional help!

Education Resources for Planning Your Preceptorial

You already know the content, but how do you teach it? Use these resources to help find information about how to design and teach a preceptorial.

Suggested search terms to try:

pedagogy
"instructional design"
"education theory"
"teaching/learning/instruction methods"
"educational philosophy"
"experiential learning"
constructivism
"lesson plan"
"curriculum development"

You may also want to check out the Capstone Project page for ideas on how to give effective presentations.

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window Online newspaper covering U.S. colleges and universities. Published by the Chronicle, a private, independent news and information organization. Terms of Use.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window A research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline, with abstracts for more than 500 journals and full text for over 380. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1901-present.
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Provides coverage of international English-language scholarly journals, magazines, book reviews, biographies, and education-related conference papers. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1983-present.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) at the U.S. Department of Education. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1966-present.
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting of over 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals, and full-text coverage of over 170 journals. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1984-present.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window Contains reviews and descriptions of 3,000+ contemporary tests (10,000+ since 1938), integrating Tests in Print for detailed information and expert evaluations on commercially available tests. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1985-present. Restricted to 4 users at a time.
ProQuest Psychology Database This link opens in a new window Indexes over 650 psychology and related journal titles, with 540 available in full text. Covers clinical, social psychology and related disciplines. Includes 4,000 full text dissertations. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1971-present.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window Serves as a database of psychological tests and measures designed for use with social and behavioral science research. Provides a summary, full text (if available), and supplemental information. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1910-present.
SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window A tool to learn about research methodologies through books, reference content, videos, case studies, and more. Helps users design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. | Terms of Use.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window Indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 peer-reviewed journals. Topics covered include Best Practices, Curriculum Development, Literacy Standards, Pedagogical Research, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Science & Mathematics, School Administration, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1984-present.