LibGuides: Honors: Opportunities for Honors Students

Publishing Opportunities

Publish at Chapman!
Find Another Journal to Publish In

You can get your work published by your alma mater! Below is a list of Chapman-run journals that accept undergraduate work, as well as opportunities to showcase your work in Chapman University Digital Commons.

Chapman-run journals:

Sapere Aude Sapere Aude is a publication by and for the students of the Chapman University Honors Program. This publication seeks to showcase the unique talents of these students while rewarding them with the prestige that comes with publication experience.
Meta-communicate Meta-communicate was founded in Fall 2010 by a small group of communication honor students in the Department of Communication Studies in conjunction with the Kappa Lambda chapter of Lambda Pi Eta, the communication honor society, at Chapman University.
Voces Novae: Chapman University Historical Review The mission of Voces Novae is to provide undergraduate students a forum to contribute original research to the body of historical knowledge. We seek to bring students and teachers of history together in an intellectual dialogue with the goal of promoting and assisting historical research and analysis.

Opportunities in Digital Commons:

NEW! Honors Papers and Posters A new space for papers, posters, and theses from students in the Honors program.
NEW! SURF Posters and Papers A new space for papers, posters, and theses from students in the Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship program.
Student Research Day Abstracts and Posters A selection of posters and abstracts presented at Chapman University's Student Research Day each fall and spring.
Kevin and Tam Ross Undergraduate Research Prize The Kevin and Tam Ross Undergraduate Research Prize recognizes excellent research and effective use of library resources by Chapman University undergraduate students. Applicants are asked to write an essay about their selection, evaluation, and use of library resources for work on a research paper or project.
John and Margaret Class Student Book Collection Contest The John and Margaret Class Student Book Collection Contest was established to inspire students to create their own personal libraries and book collections and to take joy in the printed book. The contest is open to all currently enrolled full-time Chapman University undergraduate and graduate students and offers cash prizes to the first, second and third place winners.

Cabells Directory of Publishing Opportunities This link opens in a new window Lists scholarly journals and their publication guidelines. The "Journalytics" directory assists in identifying, evaluating, and comparing journals for publication, while "Predatory Reports" highlights journals to potentially avoid. Entries include guidelines, acceptance rates, review process, and audience. Terms of Use.

Council on Undergraduate Research's list of undergraduate journals Links to a number of journals produced by undergraduates across the country. Read any submission guidelines carefully, as some journals only accept research from students at their own university.
International Journal of Undergraduate Research and Creative Activities Peer-reviewed, open access journal dedicated to the publication of outstanding scholarship by undergraduates and their mentors from academic institutions of higher learning. The Journal accepts submissions of research articles, fiction, poetry, photography, videos, and other creative works from undergraduate students in all academic disciplines.
Journal of Student Research Peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary journal devoted to the rapid dissemination of current research. Its aim is to familiarize student authors with the process of manuscript publication. The journal seeks papers that are novel, integrative, and written in a way that is accessible to a wide audience which includes an array of disciplines.

MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window Contains all information available on the journals and series on the MLA International Bibliography's Master List of Periodicals. The directory also provides statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as how many are submitted. Terms of Use.

Scribendi Scribendi is a nonprofit, annual publication that publishes creative work from undergraduate honors students who are part of more than 220 institutions in the Western Regional Honors Council. Scribendi solicits work in a number of different categories such as Poetry, Creative Nonfiction, Short Fiction, Foreign Language, Digital Art, and Photography.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window A directory with detailed information about scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers, and newsletters, including discontinued publications. It provides international coverage in more than 900 subject areas. Terms of Use.

Undergraduate Research Commons List of Publications and Conferences Open for Submissions The following publications and conferences accept submissions from all undergraduates, or undergraduates from a specific school, group, or region. Look for the white checkmark in a green box to find the submission policy for each, then visit the publication's site to start your submission.

Research Opportunities

Find opportunities and funding to pursue your research even while you're a student.

Office of Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity The mission of the Office of Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity (OURCA) is to support Chapman University's goal of providing personalized education by promoting and facilitating student-faculty collaborative research, scholarship and creative activities.
BURN: Building Undergraduate Research Networks (Chapman) BURN is Wilkinson’s unique expression of a larger University effort aimed at providing students with access to key researchers. Undergraduate research encompasses both scholarship and creative activity, and has the ability to capture student interest, create enthusiasm for and engagement in, an area of study.
National Science Foundation Research Experiences for Undergraduates The Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) program supports active research participation by undergraduate students in any of the areas of research funded by the National Science Foundation.
Pathway to Science's list of summer research programs The focus of this website is to promote education and career opportunities in the STEM fields to students, with an emphasis on reaching members of underrepresented groups. The types of content posted include program information, news items, profiles, events/conferences, fellowship opportunities and resource links.
Undergraduate Research Opportunities & Internships (APA) This page links various research opportunities and internships for undergraduate students from any institution.

University Honors Program Interdisciplinary and Collaborative Grants The Office of the Chancellor and the University Honors Program offer a variety of Scholarly/Creative Grants and Conference Travel Grants to faculty and students involved in the Honors program. Information, qualifications, deadlines, and application forms are available on this page.

National Collegiate Honors Council Annual Conference The annual conference of the National Collegiate Honors Council. Students may submit proposals for poster presentations or papers for panel inclusion. Be sure to note the deadlines, especially if you plan to adapt classwork, as they tend to be early in the semester.
Western Regional Honors Council Annual Conference The annual conference of the Western Regional Honors Council. Students may submit proposals for oral presentations, poster presentations, papers, or panel discussions. Be sure to note the deadlines, especially if you plan to adapt classwork, as they tend to be early in the semester.
University Honors Conference Honors seniors will present their capstone projects. Attendance at this event is required for all Honors students. The conference is followed by lunch and presentation of senior awards. Find more information about this conference and others on this webpage.

Career and Graduate School Opportunities

Find information to help you navigate graduate school or your career.

GradSchools.com A directory of graduate schools, searchable by program and format.
GraduateGuide.com GraduateGuide.com allows you to search graduate school programs in the United States and Canada. This site will help you find colleges and universities that offer accredited graduate programs that most interest you.
PhD's Find the Graduate School That's Right for You Rank and find nearly 20,000 programs at over 2,000 US universities based on your priorities, with information from the National Science Foundation, the National Research Council, and the National Center for Education Statistics.
Princeton Review Grad Programs Search Founded in 1981, The Princeton Review has long been a leader in helping college and graduate school–bound students achieve their higher-education goals. Search this directory of graduate schools by subject or through an A-Z listing.

Honors Societies and Associations

Below is a selected list of national honors societies for undergraduate students. It is highly recommended that you look at the first link for a more comprehensive list, especially for discipline-specific societies.

Where applicable, links are made to the Chapman chapters of the discipline-specific societies noted here.

Association of College Honor Societies (ACHS) The mission of the Association of College Honor Societies is to build a visibly cohesive community of national and international honor societies that promotes the values of higher education; fosters excellence in scholarship, leadership, service, and research; and adheres to the standards of honor society excellence. Its site lists a number of honors societies across multiple disciplines.
National Collegiate Honors Council NCHC provides support for institutions and individuals developing, implementing, and expanding Honors education through curriculum development, program assessment, teaching innovation, national and international study opportunities, internships, service and leadership development, and mentored research. Chapman University is a member of the NCHC.
National Society of Collegiate Scholars The National Society of Collegiate Scholars is an honor society that elevates and recognizes our nearly one million members through scholarship, leadership and service opportunities. NSCS members are invited to join the Society in their first or second year at an accredited college or university, and have access to their membership benefits for their lifetime.
Western Regional Honors Council The WRHC represents honors programs in universities and colleges across the Western Region through an annual conference, regular newsletters, and two business meetings, one held in the spring at the annual conference and one held at the NCHC annual conference. Chapman University is a member of the WRHC.
AKΔ: Alpha Kappa Delta (Sociology) AKD seeks to acknowledge and promote excellence in scholarship in the study of sociology, the research of social problems, and such other social and intellectual activities as will lead to improvement of the human condition. The Chapman Chapter hopes to continue AKD traditions and objectives with a variety of events throughout the academic year.
ΠΣΑ: Pi Sigma Alpha (Political Science) The Alpha Beta Chi Chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, the National Political Science Honor Society, received its charter at Chapman University in 2004. The society functions at the national and chapter levels by sponsoring programs and events of value to the profession and teaching of political science.
ΣTΔ: Sigma Tau Delta (English) Sigma Tau Delta's central purpose is to confer distinction upon students of the English language and literature in undergraduate, graduate, and professional studies. Sigma Tau Delta also recognizes the accomplishments of professional writers who have contributed to the fields of language and literature.
ΣΙΡ: Sigma Iota Rho (International Studies) The Chapman University chapter, Delta Mu, was established primarily as a means to honor those students who have excelled academically and have shown extracurricular achievement. The purpose of the society is to promote and reward scholarship and service among students of International Studies, and to foster integrity and creative performance in the understanding of world affairs.
ΦΑΘ: Phi Alpha Theta (History) Each semester, Chapman students who have taken at least four history courses and maintained at least a 3.1 GPA in their history courses, and a 3.0 overall GPA are invited to join the Alpha-Mu-Gamma chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, the national history honors society. Once initiated, students become lifelong members of Phi Alpha Theta and are eligible to compete for scholarships, essay contests, and to attend regional and national conferences sponsored by Phi Alpha Theta.
ΦBK: Phi Beta Kappa (Liberal Arts and Sciences) Phi Beta Kappa, founded at the College of William and Mary in 1776, is the oldest undergraduate honors organization in the United States. Its mission is to recognize academic excellence and promote education in the liberal arts and sciences.
ΨΧ: Psi Chi (Psychology) Psi Chi is the National Honor Society in Psychology, founded in 1929 for the purposes of encouraging, stimulating, and maintaining excellence in scholarship, and advancing the science of psychology. Membership is open to any student who is making the study of psychology one of their major interests and who meet the qualifications.
ΘAK: Theta Alpha Kappa (Religious Studies) Theta Alpha Kappa is the National Honor Society for Religious Studies students which seeks to encourage and recognize excellence in the academic study of religion. TAK sponsors the religious studies club, which is a non-devotional and non-denominational group dedicated to creating a community who are willing to support one another in intellectual exploration.
Tri-Beta: Beta Beta Beta (Biological Sciences) The Chapman University Chapter of Beta Beta Beta holds bi-weekly meetings that are a time to connect with fellow students following the same pursuits and consist of graduate school preparation, guest speakers, and preparation for our service events. In order to become a full member of Tri-Beta, a B grade average must be obtained in 3 separate biology courses.