Skip to Main Content 
Health Communication Databases
International Encyclopedia of Health Communication This link opens in a new window
Well-balanced methodological and theoretical coverage of key concepts and multiple perspectives on the issues being studied in the health communication community around the world. Gift of the Wilkinson Family Library Endowment. Terms of Use.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
A research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline, with abstracts for more than 500 journals and full text for over 380.
Terms of Use. Coverage: 1901-present.
PubMed (Open Access) This link opens in a new window
Contains over 35 million citations for biomedical literature from Medline, life science journals, and ebooks. PubMed utilizes the NLM-controlled vocabulary thesaurus MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).
Terms of Use. Coverage: 1966-present.
Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Chapman’s access includes specific Asian Studies, Communication and Media, Health and Social Care, History, Music, Performance, Philosophy, and Security Studies collections. To access, click a subject in the middle of the page, then check "Full access only". | Terms of Use. Coverage: 2010-2016.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A resource containing a collection of nursing & allied health journals containing legal cases, clinical innovations, research instruments, clinical trials, dissertations, and conference proceedings. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1937-present. Restricted to 8 users at a time.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains over 5 million citations and summaries of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations from the behavioral and social sciences in 29 languages from 50 countries. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1872-present.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Provides a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology and covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology.
Terms of Use. Coverage: 1894-present.
CIOS This link opens in a new window
Publishes interrelated census-level databases providing different views on the communication field's scholarship, people, and academic departments. Includes the Visual Communication Concept Explorer, ComAbstracts, ComIndex Online, ComVista, and ComAnalytics.
Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new window
International coverage of major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1947-present.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of complementary, holistic, and integrated health care and wellness articles, reports, proceedings, and newsletters, plus pamphlets, booklets, and original research. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1990-present.
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 80 full-text consumer health magazines. Also included in this database is searchable full text for current health-related pamphlets and nearly 130 health reference books.
Terms of Use.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Also features information from the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Terms of Use.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 850 titles, including 715 full-text titles that cover healthcare information related to nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicines. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1986-present.
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection This link opens in a new window
Platform providing access to all Elsevier journal content and select books, as well as journal titles from other publishers. Multidisciplinary in scope with the strongest content in the health, life, physical, and social sciences. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1995-present.
