Skip to Main Content 
Science & Engineering Data Resources
CERN Open Data Portal
The CERN Open Data portal is the access point to the growing range of data produced through the research performed at CERN. It disseminates the preserved output from various research activities and includes accompanying software and documentation needed to understand and analyze the data.
Cooperative Association for Internet Data Analysis (CAIDA)
The Cooperative Association for Internet Data Analysis (CAIDA) curates datasets resulting from both active and passive measurement of the Internet.
Data Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Discover research data sets and data studies published in international data repositories, journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covers the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Terms of Use. Coverage: 2009-present.
Data.gov This link opens in a new window
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data, providing access to data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more. Terms of Use.
DataONE
DataONE provides access to data across multiple member repositories on Earth and environmental data.
DOE Data Explorer
The Department of Energy’s Data Explorer is a search tool for finding DOE-funded, publicly available, scientific data. Types of data include data Project, data Collection, and individual Dataset records.
Dryad Digital Repository
The Dryad Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes research data discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of data types.
Essential Science Indicators (ESI) This link opens in a new window
Interactive compilation identifying top-performing research fields, authors, institutions, journals, and countries based on publication counts and citation data from Clarivate databases. Terms of Use. Coverage: 2005-present.
Eurostat
The statistical office of the European Union, providing data about the economy, finance, trade, populations, social conditions, environmental issues, science, and technology in Europe.
FAOSTAT
Data from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations for over 245 countries and territories, from 1961 to the most recent year available.
Mikulski Archive for Space Telescopes (MAST)
MAST provides user-friendly and scientifically useful search and cross-correlation tools for NASA mission archive documentation.
NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI)
NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) is responsible for preserving, monitoring, assessing, and providing public access to the Nation's treasure of geophysical data and information.
PubChem This link opens in a new window
Public chemistry database of chemical information. Search for information on chemical structures, formula, identifiers, physical properties, biological activities, toxicity, etc.
RAND Tools
RAND tools may include models, databases, calculators, computer code, GIS mapping tools, practitioner guidelines, web applications, and various toolkits. All RAND tools undergo rigorous peer review to ensure both high data standards and appropriate methodology in keeping with RAND's commitment to quality and objectivity.
Re3data This link opens in a new window
Re3data is a global registry of research data repositories from different academic disciplines.
Terms of Use.
Registry of Open Data on AWS
This registry exists to help people discover and share datasets that are available via Amazon Web Services (AWS) resources.
Stanford Large Network Dataset Collection (SNAP)
The Stanford Large Network Dataset Collection (SNAP) contains more than a dozen freely available datasets than can be used to support analysis of large social and information networks.
UCI Machine Learning Repository This link opens in a new window
The UCI Machine Learning Repository is a curated collection of data sets, including databases, domain theories, and data generators, that can be used by the machine learning community. Terms of Use.
UNdata This link opens in a new window
UNdata provides access to international statistical databases compiled by the United Nations and other agencies. Datamarts contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of topics. Terms of Use.
USDA Geospatial Data Gateway
The Geospatial Data Gateway (GDG) provides access to a map library of over 100 high resolution vector and raster layers in the Geospatial Data Warehouse. It is the One Stop Source for environmental and natural resources data.
