Center for American War Letters Archives

Finding A Collection Using the ArchivesSpace Database:

On the left of your screen, there is a tab for "Accessing the Archives." 

Click on that tab and find the two links for our collections; the database of Finding Aids and the Digital Commons. 

Click on the "Collections Database" link to access our database of Finding Aids. 

Here, you can search our collections using keywords, including:

• Wars 
  • Note: use "First" for WWI and "Second" for WWII
• Topics discussed in letters
• Locations
• Units
• And more...

To search multiple keywords, click the plus sign on the right of the search area. 

Once you have clicked "Search" to begin your discovery of collections, a list will be provided of your search results, including lower level objects that are part of a collection. These specifically contain your keywords and may be of use or not. It is useful to begin at the "Collection Level." Click on any collection that has the red collection label underneath the collection name. These collections will provide a short overview under the title. 

After selecting a collection, you can look through the collection's arrangement and description. This includes:

• Content Description: what is in the collection, and/or what may be discussed in the correspondence
• Dates: when the materials were created (for example; dates of correspondence)
• Conditions: these tell the researcher if the collection is available for use or if there are any restrictions to accessing or publishing material from this collection. Copyright issues and privacy concerns may cause a collection to have restrictions
• Bio/Hist: This note provides basic biographical information for the soldier and/or family. This has been created by the archivist from donor provided information, the collection, and internet research and may not be comprehensive. 
• Extent: This tells you how large the collection is by linear feet. A folder can hold approximately 20-30 letters, but may be as small as one letter. 
  • This is circled in red because the extent is important to knowing whether or not this source will be enough for you research needs. 
• Additional notes include administrative information and any additional description of the materials (physical condition, location, etc.)

Lastly, some collections are arranged into "Series." The collection level description may be sparse because these series contain additional descriptions specific to their topic, author, material type, etc. Often, collections will be separated into series by author or material type, and their physical housing (folders) will reflect that separation. Look at these to read more detailed descriptions of the materials under those series. 

Once your collection has been chosen, make an appointment with the archivist and come in to begin your research. 

IMPORTANT:  It is always useful to have more than one collection in mind when you come into the archives. Your first choice, though it may look perfect, may not hold what you are looking for and a second collection could work better for your research (or third).