LibGuides: Center for American War Letters Archives: Links

Links

Links
Newspapers & Magazines

10th Mountain Division Resource Center Records
The National Association of the 10th Mountain Division created the 10th Mountain Division Resource Center in 1987. The Denver Public Library and the Colorado Historical Society (now History Colorado), in cooperation with the National Association and the 10th Mountain Division Foundation, gather and preserve all personal papers, documents, records, photographs, maps and material of the men of the 10th.
1914-1918 Online: International encyclopedia of the First World War
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
America's War Casualties
This link is a PDF document containing an organized list of all American casualties by war, including non-mortal wounds. The list was compiled by the US Department of Veterans Affairs.
Bibliography of the Iraq War
Bibliography of the Vietnam War
First World War: Personal Experiences
Foreign Relations of the United States 1861-1960
Foreign Relations of the United States 1961-1980
Library of Congress Digital Collections- War
Miller Center for Public Affairs Oral Histories
NARA - Transcription Tips
National Archives tips for transcription of historical documents, as well as "Tips for reading Historic Documents."
Rutgers Oral History Archives of World War II
Smithsonian - World War I Centennial
The 100th anniversary of U.S. involvement in World War I is being observed at our museums, archives, and libraries. We invite you to tour our exhibitions and participate in events. Explore online and examine major artifacts from "The Great War," read stories of heroes who served in Europe and on the home front, learn about technological advances that enabled Allied victory, the impact of WWI on popular culture, and how the Smithsonian Institution contributed to the war effort.
The National Museum of American History
Through incomparable collections, rigorous research, and dynamic public outreach, we explore the infinite richness and complexity of American history. We help people understand the past in order to make sense of the present and shape a more humane future.
The Vietnam Center and Archive
This Day in US Military History
This is a listing, searchable by day of the year, of significant events in US military history. These dates are unverified, so do not cite this page. It is usable as a REFERENCE ONLY.
U.S. Army Heritage & Education Center Library
Univ. of Tennessee Center for the Study of War and Society The Center for the Study of War and Society is a non-profit organization dedicated to the study of the relationship between war and society.
US Periods of War and Dates of Recent Conflicts
This list was compiled by the Congressional Research Service. The list contains specific information, considered official, pertaining to the "periods of war" designated by the US government.
Veterans History Project The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war.
War of 1812--Library and Archives Canada This research tool provides access to over 45,000 references to names of people appearing in War of 1812 records held at Library and Archives Canada (LAC).
WWII Army Casualties: California
National Archives list of WWII Army Casualties of Californians. This link may also be used to find other such lists within the National Archives.

American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
Contains fully-digitized, historical periodicals from 1740 to 1900, including general, special-interest, women’s, and children’s magazines as well as literary and professional journals. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1740-1900.

Brooklyn Daily Eagle 1841-1955 This digitization project was produced by Brooklyn Public Library's Brooklyn Collection and funded by the Library and the Institute of Museum and Library Services, a federal agency that fosters innovation, leadership and a lifetime of learning.
California Digital Newspaper Collection This collection contains 340,708 issues comprising 4,262,411 pages and 24,656,677 articles.

Chicago Tribune Historical (1849-1988) This link opens in a new window
Christian Science Monitor Historical (1908-1998) This link opens in a new window

Chronicling America Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Harper's Weekly Online A selection of digitized Harper's Weekly issues from the American Civil War period
Historical Jewish Press This site contains a collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods. We display digital versions of each paper, making it possible to view the papers in their original layout. Full-text search is also available for all content published over the course of each newspaper’s publication.
LIFE magazine (1936-1972) Hosted by Google Books, these are scans of the main run of the magazine.

Los Angeles Times Historical (1881-1988) This link opens in a new window

Newspapers by State Hosted by the University of Pennsylvania, this Library Guide contains a wide variety of online newspapers across the United States.
Newspaper Source

New York Times Historical (1851-2008) This link opens in a new window
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 3 million articles from 375 leading magazines. Original subject headings are retained, providing a revealing and historically significant look at the way the issues of the day were framed. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1890-1982. Restricted to 1 user at a time.
Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window
Over 200 service newspapers that brought information, entertainment and camaraderie to the forces at home and overseas, from key nations across the globe. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1400-1989.
Wall Street Journal Historical (1889-1994) This link opens in a new window
Washington Post Historical (1877-1995) This link opens in a new window