LibGuides: Holocaust History: Find Books and Reference Materials

About Finding Books

Find Holocaust History Books

To find books in the Leatherby Libraries, search the library catalog.

Search by KEYWORD if you don't know what book you need, but you have a topic in mind. Try different keywords for more results.
Search by TITLE if you know the title of a specific book you are looking for.

Subject Specific Collections

Sala and Aron Samueli Holocaust Memorial Library
The Library's non-circulating collection includes literature, films, reference materials and more to support research on the Holocaust in its historical context. The Library is located on the 4th floor of the Leatherby Libraries.

Need Help?

Ask a Librarian
Librarians are trained professionals who are here to assist you with your research. Reference services are available to the Chapman University community, which includes students, faculty, staff, alumni, trustees, and community card holders.

Find Books at Other Libraries

Search WorldCat to see if other libraries have books that interest you. If you find something you want, you can request the item through Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan Can't find the article you need in full text? Follow this link to the Leatherby Libraries interlibrary loan service. This service allows you to request items the Leatherby Libraries does not own. We can try to borrow these items from other libraries for you.

Find Ebooks 2 Different Ways

The Leatherby Libraries has many ebook collections and here are two different ways to search for ebooks:

Search Discover! and limit to source type ebook
Search the Library Catalog and limit to source type ebook

Discover! Search for Ebooks

Enter some keywords into the Discover! (see link below) Once you have a list of results in Discover!, utlize the Source Types section to limit your search to just ebook results. You may need to click the "show more" link in the Source Type limiting tool to find the check box for ebook.

Discover Search

Ebooks in the Library Catalog

You can search the Leatherby Libraries catalog to search for ebooks in the collection. Use the search box below and enter some keywords. Once you have a results list of titles, click "Modify Search" near the top of the page. In the Material Type section, select ebooks and then click "Submit." Your results list will then be limited to ebooks available to you.

Reference Sources

A-Z: Maps (Holocaust Encyclopedia) Browse an alphabetical list of geographic and thematic maps that depict important locations before, during, and after the Holocaust and World War II. These maps also show sites of camps, ghettos, and mass killings, and various geographical movements, such as military operations, deportations, or invasions.
EHRI Geospatial Repository The repository aims to provide access to a growing scope of geospatial data relating to the Holocaust. The EHRI Geospatial Repository provides researchers, projects and organizations with the means to: store and share geodata, search and explore datasets based on their metadata use, and download and combine datasets for mapping, data enrichment or spatial analysis

Atlas of the Holocaust by Martin Gilbert "Atlas of the Holocaust, the product of seven years' research, is a comprehensive record of the Nazi attempt to annihilate the Jews of Europe during World War II." "World-renowned historian Martin Gilbert has drawn each of the 316 maps especially for this atlas. All are fully annotated and are based on documentary evidence from a wide range of sources." "The atlas traces each phase of the Holocaust, beginning with the anti-Semitic violence of prewar Germany and leading to the German conquest of countries in which the Jews had lived for centuries. Presented in chronological order, the maps document in compelling detail, month by month and week by week, the story of the Holocaust, from the spread of the early random killings of Jews and their systematic mass expulsion from thousands of towns and villages to the establishment of ghettos and the setting up of the death camps. The atlas ends with the death marches and executions in the final days of the Allied liberation. Also shown on the maps are more than two hundred acts of resistance and revolt, as well as areas of Jewish partisan activity and other avenues of escape and rescue. Many maps tell the stories of hundreds of children deported to their deaths. Others bear witness to individuals active in revolt and tell moving sagas of their courage and defiance."--BOOK JACKET
ISBN: 0688123643
Publication Date: 1993-06-01
Historical Atlas of the Holocaust by U. S. Holocaust Memorial Council Staff; U. S. Holocaust Memorial Museum Staff Crafted over the course of four years by the research and production staff of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, the Historical Atlas of the Holocaust provides a unique depiction of Europe between 1933 and 1950. Compiled from archives around the world, the Atlas is based on extensive research into primary sources -- such as period maps captured from the German army, survivor testimony, and aerial photographs taken by American, British, and German forces -- illustrating the Nazi camp system that pervaded Europe. The Museum's researchers have prepared detailed plans and explanatory text for more than 25 Nazi concentration, transit, forced-labor, and extermination camps. In addition to maps of major cities and ghettos, the Atlas charts the destruction of synagogues during Kristallnacht; the movement of Nazi killing squads across eastern Europe; the routes of deportations and forced marches; and the location of Nazi pseudo-scientific experimental facilities. While the main focus is on the Holocaust of Eastern Jewry, the Atlas includes maps and text which document the Nazi persecution and murder of other groups, including the handicapped, Roma (gypsies), homosexuals, Poles, political opponents, and Jehovah's Witnesses.
ISBN: 0028974514
Publication Date: 1995-11-01
The Macmillan Atlas of the Holocaust by Martin Gilbert Consists of 316 maps, with accompanying historical text, detailing the destruction of European Jewry (with several maps of North Africa), arranged in chronological order. Maps 1-25 deal with antisemitism in Europe from the end of the 19th century, and in Germany and Nazi-controlled territories before the outbreak of World War II. They are followed by maps showing the destruction of the Jews in all the European countries occupied by Germany, giving data on the number of Jews deported from many towns and cities, the destinations of the transports, acts of resistance and revolt, avenues of escape and rescue, and the fate of individuals. Map 316 shows the number of Jews murdered between 1 September 1939-8 May 1945 according to the most exact estimates of recent research - just over 5,750,000. Includes a detailed index of place names.
ISBN: 0025433806
Publication Date: 1982-08-01
Where Once We Walked: a guide to the Jewish communities destroyed in the Holocaust by Gary Mokotoff; Sallyann A. Sack "Documents more than 21,000 towns in Central and Eastern Europe ... [including] exact latitude and longitude of the town and its direction and distance from the closest major city. Also included are Jewish population figures from before the Holocaust."--Jacket
ISBN: 0962637319
Publication Date: 1991-05-01

Glossary of Terms and Abbreviations used in the Nazis' and International Tracing Service's Recordkeeping This Glossary of ITS Terms & Abbreviations is a work in progress intended to assist those working with the recently-opened records of the International Tracing Service (ITS), including those whose knowledge of the German language may be only partial or even entirely lacking. The glossary is an attempt to explain commonest terms, abbreviations, acronyms, phrases, euphemisms and symbols employed by the Nazis in their record keeping. Also included are explanations of many of specialized codings and terminologies used by the staffs of the International Tracing Service.

Dictionary of the Holocaust : biography, geography, and terminology by Eric Joseph Epstein and Philip Rosen; foreword by Henry R. Huttenbach. "This concise, easy-to-use resource on the Holocaust is rich in factual and statistical information, and provides a comprehensive compilation of the people and terms that are essential for an understanding of the Holocaust. In 2,000 entries, it profiles major personalities, covers concentration and death camps, cities and countries, and significant events. Also included are important terms translated from German, French, Polish, Yiddish, and twelve other languages. Biographical entries give a brief history, the person's significance, and their historical context. Geographical entries pinpoint exact locations using other cities or countries as landmarks, and give the number of Jewish inhabitants before Nazi occupation, and the percentage of Jews killed. Historical background is provided for such events as Kristallnacht and the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising, and entries on concentration and death camps give details on the nationalities interned, each camp's specific location, and its history."--Back cover.
Call Number: D804.25 .E67 1997
Publication Date: 1997
Nazi-Deutsch/Nazi German: : an English lexicon of the language of the Third Reich by Karen Doerr Created and used as an instrument of coercion and indoctrination, the Nazi language, Nazi-Deutsch, reveals how the Nazis ruled Germany and German-occupied Europe, fought World War II, and committed mass murder and genocide, employing language to encode and euphemize these actions. Written by two scholars specializing in socio-linguistic and historical issues of the Nazi period, this book provides a unique, extensive, meticulously researched dictionary of the language of the Third Reich. It is an important reference work for English- and German-speaking scholars, students, and teachers of the interwar years, the Nazi era, World War II, and the Holocaust. The first and only comprehensive German-English dictionary of the Third Reich language, the book provides clear, concise, expert definitions with background information. Using up-to-date research, the book provides access, in a single volume, to a specialized, charged vocabulary, including the terminology of Nazi ideology, propaganda slogans, military terms, ranks and offices, abbreviations and acronyms, euphemisms and code names, Germanized words, slang, chauvinistic and anti-Semitic vocabulary, and racist and sexist slurs. The volume is an indispensable tool for research, study, and reading about World War II and the Holocaust.
ISBN: 9780313321061
Publication Date: 2002-01-30

Holocaust Encyclopedia (United States Holocaust Memorial Museum) The Holocaust Encyclopedia is an online encyclopedia, published by the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, offering detailed information about the Holocaust and the events surrounding it.
YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe History and culture of Jews in Eastern Europe from the beginnings of their settlement in the region to the present.

Encyclopedia of Holocaust Literature by David Patterson (Editor); Alan L. Berger (Editor); Sarita Cargas (Editor) Whether it's a novel, memoir, diary, poem, or drama, a common thread runs through the literature of the Nazi Holocaust--a motif of personal testimony to the dearness of humanity. With that perspective the expert authors of Encyclopedia of Holocaust Literature undertake profiling 128 of the most influential first generation authors who either survived, perished, or were closely connected to the Holocaust. Arranged alphabetically by author, all of the entries answer the same basic questions about the author and his or her work: What is the nature of the author's literary response to the Holocaust? What is his or her place in Holocaust literature? What does the author's work contribute to an understanding of the Holocaust? What is distinctive about the author's work? What are some key moments in the author's life? What issues does the author's work pose for the reader? To address these questions, the entries are generally organized into three primary divisions: (1) an opening section on why the author's work has a significant or distinctive place in Holocaust literature, (2) a second section containing information on the author's biography, and (3) a critical examination of the highlights of the author's work. In most cases, the third section is the longest, since the focus of the encyclopedia is the literature, not the author. The Encyclopedia is intended for all students and teachers of the Holocaust, regardless of their levels of learning. Avenues for further research are incorporated at the conclusion of each entry and in a comprehensive bibliography of primary works of Holocaust literature and a second bibliography of critical studies of Holocaust literature.
ISBN: 1573562572
Publication Date: 2002-03-30
The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life Before and During the Holocaust by Shmuel Spector (Editor); Geoffrey Wigoder (Editor); Elie Wiesel (Introduction by) Winner of the 2001-2002 National Jewish Book Award, Reference Winner, Best Reference Resource, 2001, Library Journal Winner, Editor's Choice Award, Reference, 2001, Booklist Winner, Best Reference Book, 2001, Association of Jewish Libraries In three volumes, captures the people, habits, and customs of more than 6,500 Jewish communities in the early 20th century New York University Press announces with pride the publication of a remarkable project, The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life before and during the Holocaust. Edited by Dr. Shmuel Spector and the late Dr. Geoffrey Wigoder and published in conjunction with Yad Vashem, the Holocaust Remembrance Authority of Israel, the Encyclopedia represents the fruit of more than three decades of labor and stands as one of the most important and ambitious projects the Press has published. Nobel Peace Prize-winner Elie Wiesel contributed the foreword. Today throughout much of Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, only fragmentary remnants of once thriving Jewish communities can be found as evidence of more than two thousand years of vibrant Jewish presence among the nations of the world. These communities, many of them ancient, were systematically destroyed by Hitler's forces during the Holocaust. Yet each of their stories-from small village enclaves to large urban centers-is unique in its details and represents one of the countless intertwined threads that comprise the rich tapestry of Jewish history. The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life before and during the Holocaust captures these lost images. In three volumes, it chronicles the people, habits and customs of more than 6,500 Jewish communities that thrived during the early part of the twentieth century only to be changed irrevocably by the war. It clarifies precise locations of settlements based on documents and maps found in recently opened archives; it traces their development through history; it shares small details of everyday life-the culture, the politics, and the faith that inspired the people; and its photographs put faces on the immeasurable loss. Based on decades of research at Yad Vashem, The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life before and during the Holocaust tells the story of thousands of Jewish communities in concise prose, illustrated with maps and poignant images of a world that can no longer be visited. The Encyclopedia is a rich source of information for students, teachers, genealogists and anyone interested in the pageant of Jewish life through the ages. More information and sample text and photos available on the companion website: http://www.nyupress.org/jewishlife
ISBN: 0814793568
Publication Date: 2001-07-01
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust by Israel Gutman (Editor)
ISBN: 0028960904
Publication Date: 1989-10-01
Holocaust Literature by S. Lillian Kremer (Editor) Featuring 300 alphabetically organized bio-critical essays on writers of memoirs, novels, poetry, short stories, and drama, ranging in length from 1,500 to 7,000 words, this comprehensive scholarly work presents a broad spectrum of voices remembering, interpreting, and reinterpreting one of the twentieth century's most politically and emotionally charged events. Including writers whose works first appeared in Czech, Dutch, English, French, German, Hebrew, Hungarian, Italian, Portuguese, Polish, Russian, Spanish, and Yiddish, this reference provides wide international coverage, though its focus will be on writers whose work is available in English. It will prove a valuable resource to students, scholars, general readers, or to anyone interested in world history. Also includes maps. For a full list of entries, sample entries, and more, visit the website Holocaust Literature: An Encyclopedia of Writers and Their Work website.
ISBN: 0415929857
Publication Date: 2002-12-20
The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933-1945 by Geoffrey P. Megargee (Editor); Elie Wiesel (Foreword by)
Call Number: D805.A2 U55 2009
ISBN: 9780253353283
Publication Date: 2009-05-22
The Yad Vashem Encyclopedia of the Ghettos During the Holocaust by Guy Miron (Editor); Michael Berenbaum (Foreword by) A two-volume set. Seventy years after the outbreak of World War II, most of the European ghettos have still not been systematically researched. This pioneering two-volume encyclopedia gathers data from historical studies, testimonies, and documents dealing with more than 1,100 ghettos throughout Eastern Europe. This encyclopedia offers detailed entries on the various ghettos into which the Jews of Eastern Europe were confined during the Holocaust. Entries on each ghetto are written by scholars and specialists on their topic and include location, wartime name, and geographical coordinates, and, for the larger ghettos, information on life before World War II and during the Soviet occupation era, German (Nazi) occupation, ghetto structure, institutional life and leadership, terror and killing operations, underground resistance, and the number of survivors at liberation. They also describe the differences between each ghetto and examine the difficulties of daily life in the ghetto, coping strategies, and different forms of resistance. The first reference book of its kind, The Yad Vashem Encyclopedia of the Ghettos during the Holocaust is a valuable resource for diverse disciplines and is supplemented by a special DVD of wartime footage of ghettos filmed in real time during the Holocaust.
ISBN: 9789653083455
Publication Date: 2010-03-01

Below you will find online research guides:

Holocaust History: Concentration Camps This LibGuide is a starting point for general research on the concentration camps, with resources on genocide, survivor memoirs, and primary sources.

Below you will find books available at the Leatherby Libraries:

History of the Holocaust: a handbook and dictionary by Abraham J. Edelheit; Hershel Edelheit This two-part volume combines an accessible overview of contemporary Jewish history with a unique dictionary of Holocaust terms. In addition to assessing the Holocaust specifically, Part 1 of the book discusses the history of European Jewry, anti-Semitism, the rise and fall of Nazism and fascism, World War II, and the postwar implications of the Holocaust. The authors also consider key historiographical and methodological issues related to the Holocaust.Part Two provides a complete dictionary of terms relating to the Holocaust culled from dozens of primary and secondary sources in a range of languages. Included here is a comprehensive set of tables on Aktionen, Aliya Bet, anti-Jewish legislation, anti-semitic organizations, collaboration, concentration camps, Fascism, the Third Reich, the Nazi Party, Jewish and non-sectarian organizations, publications, Judenr#65533;te, and resistance movements. Each table is prefaced by a descriptive overview of pertinent issues.Graphs, photographs, and documents supplement the text, and an extensive bibliography as well as separate person, place, and subject indexes make this unique work invaluable as a reference tool.
ISBN: 0813314119
Publication Date: 1994-08-18
The Holocaust : an annotated bibliography and resource guide by David M. Szonyi
ISBN: 0881250570
Publication Date: 1985-03-01
The Holocaust Film Sourcebook by Caroline Picart The Holocaust has been the subject of an increasing number of recent films, most notably Schindler's List, Life Is Beautiful, and The Pianist, all of which were rewarded with many Academy Awards. But the history of films dealing with this important subject goes back much further than the early nineties, and the two-volume Holocaust Film Sourcebook will be the first comprehensive guide to them. It responds to this growing body of cinematic work that is uniquely intertwined with historical reality--and which often tries to recreate that reality for the audience. As more scholars and viewers turn to cinema for a greater understanding of the 20th century's greatest atrocity, this work is invaluable, offering readers a guide through all films--fictional, documentary, and propaganda--related to the Holocaust and its effects, including filmographies, bibliographies, production histories, and spotlight essays on key pictures. In doing so, it considers the questions at the root of Holocaust cinema: can reality be represented? What kinds of stories are best suited to it? What moral issues are at stake? But most importantly, in the course of hundreds of entries and a wealth of information, it provides complete coverage of a subject that is at once timely, historical, creative, and unendingly controversial. Of use to film buffs, historians, and researchers, The Holocaust Film Sourcebook provides an invaluable resource.
ISBN: 0275978508
Publication Date: 2004-06-30
Holocaust Literature : a handbook of critical, historical, and literary writings by Saul S. Friedman Over the past forty years, the term Holocaust has come to represent the deliberate campaign of extermination of Jews by the Nazis of Germany's Third Reich preceding and during World War II. Masses of edited documents and analytical material have been generated by Holocaust scholars, and some bibliographical and encyclopedic guides to the field are available. However, a student or researcher may be confounded by the abundance of publications and may lack the necessary background and endurance to sift the wheat from the chaff. The present volume has a two-fold purpose: to offer substantial analysis in intrinsic areas of study and to assess the relevant literature in each case. Major scholars and brilliant, less established historians from Israel, Canada, and the United States have contributed more than thirty essays complete with extensive reference lists in three broad divisions. The section on conceptual approaches to the Holocaust is composed of such topics as the rise of national socialism, biographies and interpretations of Hitler, concentration camps, post-Holocaust Jewish philosophies, and the righteous gentiles. Area studies deal with aspects of the Holocaust in Poland, Hungary, Czechoslovakia, Ukraine, the Balkans, France, Holland, Italy, and Spain, and with effects and reactions in Switzerland and Britain. Arab-German collaboration and American responses are also addressed. A third section takes up Holocaust subjects in education, belles lettres, and the arts, including diaries and memoirs, fiction, poetry, books for children, art, music, and films. Although the scholars all provide evaluative surveys of their subjects and related literature, each enjoyed considerable latitude in coverage and each presents his or her own views and selections, not all of which are shared by other contributors or the volume editor. The editor also provides an introduction and a final survey of major institutions and resources for Holocaust study. A significant reference tool, this volume will be consulted by researchers at all levels in university, public, secondary, and parochial school libraries and at religious institutions.
ISBN: 0313262217
Publication Date: 1993-06-21
The Oxford Handbook of Holocaust Studies by Peter Hayes; John K. Roth Few scholarly fields have developed in recent decades as rapidly and vigorously as Holocaust Studies. At the start of the twenty-first century, the persecution and murder perpetrated by the Nazi regime have become the subjects of an enormous literature in multiple academic disciplines and atouchstone of public and intellectual discourse in such diverse fields as politics, ethics and religion. Forward-looking and multi-disciplinary, this handbook draws on the work of an international team of forty-seven outstanding scholars.The handbook is thematically divided into five broad sections. Part One, Enablers, concentrates on the broad and necessary contextual conditions for the Holocaust. Part Two, Protagonists, concentrates on the principal persons and groups involved in the Holocaust and attempts to disaggregate theconventional interpretive categories of perpetrator, victim, and bystander. It examines the agency of the Nazi leaders and killers and of those involved in resisting and surviving the assault. Part Three, Settings, concentrates on the particular places, sites, and physical circumstances where theactions of the Holocaust's protagonists and the forms of persecution were literally grounded. Part Four, Representations, engages complex questions about how the Holocaust can and should be grasped and what meaning or lack of meaning might be attributed to events through historical analysis,interpretation of texts, artistic creation and criticism, and philosophical and religious reflection. Part Five, Aftereffects, explores the Holocaust's impact on politics and ethics, education and religion, national identities and international relations, the prospects for genocide prevention, andthe defense of human rights.
ISBN: 9780199211869
Publication Date: 2011-01-21
Reference Guide to Holocaust Literature by Thomas Riggs (Editor) Covering the entire spectrum of the literature of the Holocaust era, from the beginnings of Nazism through the concentration camp experience, survivor syndrome and second generation response, this detailed survey includes entries on more than 200 authors and 300 works.
ISBN: 1558625313
Publication Date: 2003-12-01

Related Guides

History LibGuide
A Variety of Primary and Secondary History Resources
How to Evaluate Resources
How to Search the Library and Databases
Learn how to search effectively in library catalogs and databases
Leatherby Libraries Instructional Videos

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>