LibGuides: Holocaust History: Find Articles

Find Articles

About Peer Review

If your professor asks you to find "scholarly" or "peer reviewed" journal articles, be sure the article you find is from a source that has gone through the peer review process. Many databases offer a search filter to limit to only journals that are scholarly or peer reviewed. You can also check the journal title in the Ulrich's database (see link below) to see if it is peer reviewed.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window A directory with detailed information about scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers, and newsletters, including discontinued publications. It provides international coverage in more than 900 subject areas. Terms of Use.

Use Discover! to search across multiple databases with a single search (see link below)

Discover Search

For a full listing of databases, browse the Databases A-Z List (see link below)

A-Z Databases

Below are some databases to start your research:

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1980-present.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary database providing access to scholarly journals articles, newspapers, popular magazines, and reviews. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1975-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window An interdisciplinary ebook and journal platform to support scholarship and teaching. Provides access to select current subscriptions as well as the archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Terms of Use.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full-text access to current content from over 300 humanities and social sciences journal titles of nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Coverage includes literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, religious, cultural/politics/policy/gender studies, and others. Terms of Use.

Google Scholar Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search across a wide variety of disciplines and sources.

For a full listing of peer-reviewed journals carried by the Leatherby Libraries, browse the Journal A-Z List on Publication Finder (see link below).

Publication Finder Use Publication Finder to look up a particular journal or newspaper title.

Below are journals in the field of Holocaust Studies:

Eastern European Holocaust Studies Focus on the history of the Holocaust and the Second World War in Central and Eastern Europe.
Genocide Studies and Prevention Genocide Studies and Prevention: An International Journal (GSP) publishes empirical and theoretical work that deals with collective violence- with a focus on genocides. It promotes the scholarly discussion of concepts and cases that address the causes (roots) occurrences, consequences, and the prevention and punishment of such violence. This peer-reviewed journal publishes articles on the latest developments in policy, research, and theory from various disciplines and fields including anthropology, criminology, education, gender studies, history, law, literature, philosophy, political science, psychology, religious studies, social theory, sociology, and visual culture. It features full research and state of the field articles, (legal) case studies, field notes, translations of important works from languages other than English, as well as book and film reviews.
Genocide Studies International In keeping with the objectives of the International Institute for Genocide and Human Rights Studies, this journal is dedicated to raising knowledge and awareness among scholars, policy makers, and civil society actors by providing a forum for the critical analysis of genocide, human rights, crimes against humanity, and related mass atrocities. Genocide and other forms of mass violence are constantly evolving, and we encourage scholarly submissions that address their continually changing nature. This includes interdisciplinary and comparative work on the history, causes, impact, and aftermath of genocide and related crimes, as well as those which contextualize genocide in relation to conflict, exploitation, colonialism, racism, bigotry, sexism, oppression, and globalization. This peer-reviewed journal publishes articles from various disciplines including, but not limited to, history, political science, sociology, psychology, international law, criminal justice, critical race studies, religion, philosophy, literature, anthropology, forensic sciences, art history, and women's, gender, and sexuality studies.
Holocaust and Genocide Studies The major forum for scholarship on the Holocaust and other genocides, Holocaust and Genocide Studies is an independent, peer-reviewed international journal featuring research articles, interpretive essays, and book reviews in the social sciences and humanities.
Holocaust Studies: A Journal of Culture and History The journal provides a forum for both younger and established scholars engaged in research at the cutting edge of contemporary Holocaust studies. The interests of the journal are broad and include the investigation of Nazi genocides as historical and social phenomena, their origins and their consequences. Further, the journal explores the issues of representation and memorialisation through the investigation of film, literature, testimony and public rituals. The geographical and chronological focus of the journal is also extensive.
Journal of Genocide Research The Journal of Genocide Research is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal covering studies of genocide. Established in 1999, for the first six years it was not peer-reviewed. Since December 2005, it is the official journal of the International Network of Genocide Scholars.
Journal of Holocaust Education Forum for debate for all interested in Holocaust education; conference & workshop reports; book, video & film reviews

Related Guides

History LibGuide
A Variety of Primary and Secondary History Resources
How to Evaluate Resources
How to Search the Library and Databases
Learn how to search effectively in library catalogs and databases
Leatherby Libraries Instructional Videos