Skip to Main Content 
Humanities Data Resources
Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Census, vital, church, court, and immigration records from Canada, Europe, Australia, and other areas of the world. Users can search by names, birthdates, locations, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1521-present.
Correlates of War
Seeks to facilitate the collection, dissemination, and use of accurate and reliable quantitative data in international relations. Includes data on topics such as war, militarized interstate disputes, national material capabilities, world religions, formal alliances, territorial changes, and more.
Data Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Discover research data sets and data studies published in international data repositories, journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covers the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Terms of Use. Coverage: 2009-present.
Data.World History
Find open data about history contributed by thousands of users and organizations across the world. Free “Community” account required to explore datasets.
Eurostat
The statistical office of the European Union, providing data about the economy, finance, trade, populations, social conditions, environmental issues, science, and technology in Europe.
Global Terrorism Database
Managed by the National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START), this open-source database includes information on domestic and international terrorist attacks around the world since 1970, and now includes more than 200,000 cases. For each event, information is available on the date and location of the incident, the weapons used and nature of the target, the number of casualties, and–when identifiable–the group or individual responsible.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive compendium of >37,000 data series and statistics from >1,000 sources recording every aspect of the history of the United States through the year 2000. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1500s-2000.
Issue Correlates of War (ICOW) Project
A research project that collects systematic data on contentious issues in world politics such as territorial, river, marine, and identity claims.
Magazine of Early American Datasets (MEAD)
The Magazine of Early American Datasets (MEAD) is an online repository of datasets compiled by historians of early North America. MEAD preserves and makes available these datasets in their original format and as comma-separated-value files (.csv). Each body of data is also accompanied by a codebook.
Pop Mystic
A media studies research tool and index of every speech sound and utterance with time-codes from 78,000 films and television shows spanning from 1893 to present day. It is searchable by keyword, and also lets users refine search results by release year, director, actor, genre, and title.
NOTE: This database does not have any functions for exporting search results.
Population Reference Bureau (PRB)
Data from a nonpartisan research organization on global population trends and issues relating to population, health, and the environment.
Re3data This link opens in a new window
Re3data is a global registry of research data repositories from different academic disciplines.
Terms of Use.
Registry of Open Data on AWS
This registry exists to help people discover and share datasets that are available via Amazon Web Services (AWS) resources.
United States Census Bureau This link opens in a new window
The Census Bureau provides data about people and economy of the United States. Statistics collected relate to the population, ethnicity, health, education, business, employment, housing, and income.
Terms of Use.
World-Historical Dataverse
The World-Historical Dataverse Project is the University of Pittsburgh affiliate of a wider project to address the need for comprehensive historical data on the human experience at the global level. This project is intended to the contribute to creation of a comprehensive set of data on social-scientific, health, and environmental data for the world as a whole and for its constituent regions and localities, for the past four or five centuries.
World Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion to offer a definitive picture of international religious demography. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1900-present.
