LibGuides: Biology: Intellectual Property Information

Intellectual Property

Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new window
Conduct patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1963-present.

ESpaceNet

Primarily EU patents, but does contain US, WIPO, and more. Easy to navigate and search. Provides linked categories to help explore patents in a particular area. Excellent classification (CPC) browser.
Google Patents

Full text searchable international patents.
United States Patent and Trademark Office Patent Public Search

Search for patents by application number, patent number, PCT number, publication number, or international design registration number.

SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical, materials, agricultural sciences, chemistry, and engineering. Users must register for an account at SciFinder Registration. | Terms of Use.

CAS Scifinder-n PatentPak Tutorial

United States Copyright Office
Website of the United States Copyright Office with information about registering a copyright and copyright searching.
United States Copyright Office, Copyright Basics
PDF of basic information about copyright.

Trademark Electronic Search System
Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS) provides access to text and images of registered marks, and marks in pending and abandoned applications.
Trademark Basics
Provides information and videos on basic information about trademarks (i.e. what a trademark is, and how to select a strong trademark).

Intellectual property rights granted by U.S. agencies do not extend to foreign countries. If you are interested in intellectual property rights such as patents, trademark, or copyright in foreign countries, applications must be submitted for those countries. The resources below provide information on seeking international intellectual property.

USPTO Protecting Intellectual Property Rights Overseas
Provides general information and links on registering patent, trademark, and copyright. Includes intellectual property toolkits for 20 different countries.
World Intellectual Property Organization
Provides services and information for protecting international intellectual property.
PATENTSCOPE
Full text database of international Patent Cooperation Treaty applications and patent documents of participating patent offices.

Creative Commons
Provides alternative intellectual property management tools meant to enable sharing and reuse.
Intellectual Property videos from the University of Michigan
Videos from Professor Bryce Pilz from the University of Michigan Law School covering different aspects of patents, copyright, trademarks, and trade secrets.
Patent and Trademark Resource Center
Patent and Trademark Resource Centers (PTRC) are designated state, academic, and public libraries dedicated to disseminating patent and trademark information and support the intellectual property needs of the public. New Jersey's PTRC's are in Newark and Piscataway.
USPTO Inventor and Entrepreneur Resources
Resources for inventors and entrepreneurs from the United States Patent and Trademark Office

Additional Resources

Frequently Asked Questions on Patents and Exclusivity: An FDA resource addressing IP and drug development.
How to conduct a preliminary U.S. patent search: A step-by-step strategy. A 36 minute tutorial from the USPTO.