LibGuides: Asian American Studies: Find Articles

This page provides links to databases and internet resources that provide coverage for Asian American Studies topics.

Subject Specific Databases
Multidisciplinary Databases

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Scholarly literature index of the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1964-present. Restricted to 6 users at a time.
Area Studies: Japan This link opens in a new window A wide range of sources, by writers, diplomats, tourists, businessmen, missionaries and others, documenting the political, cultural and social history of Japan from 1400 to the 20th century. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1400-1989.
Asian American Drama This link opens in a new window More than 250 plays. Topics include railroad construction, Japanese American internment, the Vietnam conflict, assimilation, integration, and cultural identity in a Western context. Terms of Use. Coverage: Late 19th century-present.
Asian Life in America This link opens in a new window Access to series 1 and 2 of this collection from Newsbank, which documents the experience and impact of Asian Americans as recorded by the news media. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1704-2017.
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window Full-text database covering culture, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1923-present.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Full-text newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic, minority and native press. Over 1.8 million articles from over 315 publications. Offers national and regional coverage. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1990-present.
Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection This link opens in a new window The world’s largest open online archive of Japanese American and other overseas Japanese newspapers in Asia and South America. Many are in Japanese with no English translation. Some content may be restricted due to copyright agreement with the publishers. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1882-1984.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective:1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Allows for simultaneous searching of the International Index (1907-1965), Social Sciences & Humanities Index (1965-1974), Humanities Index (1974-1984), and Social Sciences Index (1974-1983). Terms of Use. Coverage: 1907-1984.
Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers This link opens in a new window Newspapers published during the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, years of provisional government and civil war, and birth of the People’s Republic. Written in Chinese with no English translation. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1911-1949.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window Over 100,000 pages of personal narratives from immigrants to the U.S. and Canada including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1840-present.
Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window Chapman’s access includes specific Asian Studies, Communication and Media, Health and Social Care, History, Music, Performance, Philosophy, and Security Studies collections. To access, click a subject in the middle of the page, then check "Full access only". | Terms of Use. Coverage: 2010-2016.
South and Southeast Asian Literature This link opens in a new window A collection of English-language literature by diasporic South and Southeast Asian authors. Focuses on the late-colonial and postcolonial eras, and features author interviews and manuscripts. Terms of Use.
South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window Chronicles historical conflicts in South Asia and contemporary perspectives on independence movements, early statehood, and economic and social growth. Features multiple languages. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1850-1992.
Southeast Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window Chronicles the changes that took place in Southeast Asia during the late 19th and early 20th centuries, and the challenges of early statehood. Features multiple languages. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1839-1976.

Remember, you can also search the Database A - Z List and narrow the Subject search to Asian American Studies.

Database A - Z

You may also want to search in one of the specific multidisciplinary databases below.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary database providing access to scholarly journals articles, newspapers, popular magazines, and reviews. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1975-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window An interdisciplinary ebook and journal platform to support scholarship and teaching. Provides access to select current subscriptions as well as the archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Terms of Use.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Serves as a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content from six full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text Mega, Social Sciences Full Text, and Business Abstracts with Full Text. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1982-present.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window Includes millions of citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to present around the world with over one million full-text dissertations available to download in PDF format. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1861-present.