Skip to Main Content 
Art News
Hugh Bell Photography
The photography of Hugh Bell, renowned art and commercial photographer (1950s-1970s) is now available for viewing courtesy of Gartenberg Media. His topics included the jazz scene, Spain, the West Indies, theater and dance, and many others.
San Francisco Museum of Art
After a three year renovation, the San Francisco Museum of Art is finally open.
Tate Museum Renovation -- More Than Expansion
The Tate Museum in London is slated to open on June 17 and "its ambition could hardly be loftier: to redefine the museum for the twenty-first century."
The Ghent Altarpiece
The Getty Foundation and the region of Flanders have created a 1-billion-pixel digital image of The Ghent Altarpiece that allows you to zoom in so incredibly close.
Rauschenberg Foundation Eases Copyright Restrictions
The Rauschenberg Foundation has decided to adopt a new policy of making images of Rauschenberg work much more widely available free. In doing so, it is urging other artists’ estates and foundations to take a hard look at protections it believes — in the name of safeguarding works from piracy or misuse — have become too restrictive, especially in the digital era.
Metropolitan Museum of Art -- Free Downloads of Their Publications
Five decades of Met publications on art history, available to read, download, and/or search for free!
Bibliography of the History of Art
Bibliography of the History of Art
The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) are free citation database, searchable together, from The Getty Research Institute.
Artsource
Listings of art-historical sites, bibliographies and interesting links.
ArtsWire
Online communications in the arts.
Getty Research Tools
Getty Research Tools
"Getty Research Tools"--You can search the Getty library catalog, search the Art and Architecture Thesaurus (AAT) for standarized terms, search the Union List of Artist Names (ULAN), which pulls together all the various forms of an artist's name, to name just some of the features of this site.
Web Museum Network
A "virtual" museum providing artists' biographies and examples of their work.
World Wide Arts Resources
Comprehensive art site with links to museums, galleries, exhibitions, art schools, antiques, and publications.
Artcyclopedia
The guide to museum-quality art on the internet. Search over 6,000 artists names, search by movement, medium, subject, nationality, and go to the art museum web sites worldwide.
Getty Research Portal
Access digitized art history publications, rare books, and related literature. 86,000 titles to date.
Popular Graphic Arts
Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress
Symbols
This site contains more than 2,500 Western signs based on graphic characteristics and has over 1,600 brief articles.
Art Scene
The Guide to Art Galleries and Museums in Southern California
The Bowers Museum
The Bowers Museum
One of Southern California's finest museums and Orange County's largest, the Bowers Museum is one of the only museums in the United States devoted to promoting human understanding through art.
Christus Rex
Christus Rex
Scroll down three-quarters of the way on this web page and you will find many links to photographic tours of the world's most famous Christian art.
Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco
Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco
More than 65,000 works by more than 15,000 artists.
Los Angeles County Museum of Art
Provides information about the museum and its collections
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Provides information about the collections and current exhibitions
World Art Treasures
World Art Treasures
Jacques-Edouard Berger Foundation, Lausanne, Switzerland, with a virtual gallery of over 100,000 slides including paintings, sculpture, prints and other media from Asia and Europe.
Asian Art
The online journal for the study and exhibition of the arts of Asia
Communications Arts
Online index to CA magazine including resources and job links for designers, illustrators, and art directors
Journal of Contemporary Art
Covers the contemporary art scene, including artist interviews
