Skip to Main Content 
Other Digital Collections
The North American Indian
Edward Sheriff Curtis published The North American Indian between 1907 and 1930 with the intent to record traditional Indian cultures. The work comprises twenty volumes of narrative text and photogravure images. Each volume is accompanied by a portfolio of large photogravure plates.
Find Images
AP Images
AP Images is the world's largest collection of historical and contemporary photos. AP Images provides instant access to AP's iconic editorial photos of today's breaking news, celebrity portraits by renowned Invision photographers, historical images across all genres, creative rights managed and royalty-free stock.
Art Institute of Chicago
Online collections, which offer access to over 87,000 works and basic information about works of art from all areas of our encyclopedic collection.
Artstor YouTube Channel
Includes video tutorials and tips to help you search ARTstor, make image collections, and export to PowerPoint.
CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)
A resource of works of art from around the world contributed and described by leading museums. Showcasing a wide range of fine and decorative art, CAMIO provides high-quality art images for education, research and enjoyment. All content is rights-cleared for educational use.
CAMIO includes about 95,000 art images—photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles and architecture—plus audio, video and mixed media.
Chinati Foundation
The Chinati Foundation/La Fundación Chinati is a contemporary art museum based upon the ideas of its founder, Donald Judd. The specific intention of Chinati is to preserve and present to the public permanent large-scale installations by a limited number of artists. The emphasis is on works in which art and the surrounding landscape are inextricably linked.
Google Art Project
A collaboration of more than 250 partners resulting in 45,000 high resolution images of art.
Guggenheim Museum
Featuring nearly 1700 artworks by more than 575 artists, the Collection Online presents a searchable database of selected artworks from the Guggenheim’s permanent collection of over 7,000 artworks.
Hammer Museum
The Hammer Museum champions the art and artists who challenge us to see the world in a new light, to experience the unexpected, to ignite our imaginations, and inspire change.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Maintained by the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History includes images and information on artworks from throughout the world since prehistoric times. To limit to modern and contemporary works, scroll down to "time periods" and select "1900A.D.-Present."
Louvre
The Atlas database covers all the works exhibited in the museum - some 30,000 items.
Internet users, like museum visitors, will find the usual explanatory texts that accompany museum exhibits, compiled under the authority of the museum curators.
New images are currently being added to the database, which is constantly updated.
Museum of Modern Art (MoMA)
MoMA’s evolving collection contains almost 200,000 works of modern and contemporary art by over 10,000 artists. 64,000 works are available online.
National Gallery of Art (United States)
From Byzantine altarpieces to pop art, learn all about paintings, sculpture, prints, drawings, photographs, and other works in the collection. Browse the collection and make connections among objects you know and newly discovered masterpieces.
Tate Museum
Tate holds the national collection of British art from 1500 to the present day and international modern and contemporary art.
