LibGuides: Research Profiles and Assessment: Citation Analysis and Impact Factors

Sources

Citation analysis is a practice by which the works of an author or the articles published in a specific journal are examined to see how frequently they are cited by others and in what kinds of publications. Impact factors are measures reflecting the average number of citations per article published in a journal.

Below are various sources for finding citation metrics and impact factors.

Best Bets!

Dimensions Dimensions is a research insights platform that brings together information about funding, publications, policy, patents, and grants. The free platform also provides citation counts (also showcasing recent citations) and altmetrics.
Google Scholar Authors can create a free account. Under My Metrics, they can then view the number of citations, the h-index, and the i10-index for their scholarly work, or search and find metrics for other authors. Under Metrics, they can view the h5-index for the top journals in specific fields, or search for other journals.

Documenting Scholarly Impact in Google Scholar Explains how to set up a Google Scholar profile that will showcase your work and citations.

Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
Statistical data for evaluating the world's leading journals and their impact and influence in the global research community. Terms of Use. Coverage: 2005-present.

SJR Indicators (SCImago Journal Rank) An open access journal metric that measures the influence of academic journals by considering both the number of citations received by a journal and the prestige of the journals making those citations. Calculations are based on citations captured in the Scopus database. (Note: Chapman does not subscribe to Scopus. However, we can still view SJR indicators.)

Web of Science
Provide access to the world’s leading scholarly literature and indexes in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, proceedings, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1898-present.

Web of Science Citation Reports Citation Reports (also known as Cited Reference Search) are a forward search, which find articles that cite the article being searched. They can help you to trace an idea forward and backward in time, discovering relationships between published works as well as new developments.

Additional Resources for Citation Analysis and Impact Factors

CiteScore A citation metric published by Elsevier to assess the quality of journals indexed in Scopus. Measures the average citations per document that a title receives over a three-year period. Counts all documents as potentially citable, including editorials, corrections, and news items, which may result in different scores than those calculated by the Impact Factor.
CiteSeer X The first automated citation indexing system, CiteSeer X allows scholars to search for an author and discover their h-index and the number of citations each of their papers has received, including self-citations. They can also discover which papers cited their own, as well as how many citations they papers they cited have received.
EBSCO Cited References Search Authors can find out how many times their work has been cited by doing a Cited References search in the top toolbar of any EBSCO database. The link above points to Academic Search Premier, but users can select a different database or multiple databases by clicking on the "Choose Databases" link.
Eigenfactor Eigenfactor provides two kinds of metrics for scholarly journals: the Eigenfactor Score and the Article Influence Score. The Eigenfactor Score attempts to measure a journal's importance to the scholarly community by considering the origin of citations of that journal's content, and is influenced by the size of the journal. The Article Influence Score is a measure of the per-article citation influence of the journal. Calculations are based on citations captured in the ISI Web of Science database.

Essential Science Indicators (ESI)
Interactive compilation identifying top-performing research fields, authors, institutions, journals, and countries based on publication counts and citation data from Clarivate databases. Terms of Use. Coverage: 2005-present.

Publish or Perish (PoP) Publish or Perish is a free software program from Anne-Wil Harzing. It retrieves and analyzes academic citations. It uses Google Scholar to obtain raw citations, then analyzes them to present statistics such as average output and citations overall and per year, h- and g-indexes, the age-weighted citation rate, and more.
Scholarometer Scholarometer is a social tool to facilitate citation analysis and help evaluate the impact of an author's publications.

SciFinder
Research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical, materials, agricultural sciences, chemistry, and engineering. Users must register for an account at SciFinder Registration. | Terms of Use.

Research Profiles and Assessment

Showcase your citations!

Never heard of a particular metric? Check to see if it's legitimate!

New Initiatives

Sources

Best Bets!

Additional Resources for Citation Analysis and Impact Factors