LibGuides: Presidential Studies: Find Articles

Find Articles

*This is the same search box under 'Start your search' on the Library homepage.

Additionally, you may search in a specific database (see the link below).

Library databases in alphabetical orders: A-Z Databases.

Selected databases for:

This tab provides direct links to some journals where articles in presidential studies are published. Searching within only one journal can be a helpful way to limit your search and make it easy to find common terms that may generate many irrelevant results in a database search.

American Journal of Political Science (AJPS). The American Journal of Political Science (AJPS) is the journal of the Midwest Political Science Association. It focuses on notable theoretical concerns, empirical issues, or methodological strategies in any subfield of political science.
Congress & the Presidency. This publication is an interdisciplinary journal of political science and history, published by American University, Center for Congressional and Presidential Studies since 1984.
Journal of Politics. The Journal of Politics is the official journal of the Southern Political Science Association. It is a general interest journal in political science that covers theoretically innovative and methodologically diverse research in all subfields of the discipline including, but not limited to, American politics, comparative politics, formal theory, international relations, methodology, political theory, public administration and public policy.
Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory (JPART). The Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory (JPART) is the official journal of the Public Management Research Association (PMRA). It serves as a bridge between public administration and public management scholarship on the one hand and public policy studies on the other. Its multidisciplinary aim is to advance the organizational, administrative, and policy sciences as they apply to government and governance.
Presidential Studies Quarterly (PSQ). The Presidential Studies Quarterly (PSQ) is an interdisciplinary journal of theory and research focusing on the American presidency.
Public Administration Review (PAR). Public Administration Review (PAR) is the official journal of the American Society for Public Administration (ASPA). It serves both academics and practitioners interested in the public sector and public sector management. Articles identify and analyze current trends, provide a factual basis for decision making and stimulate discussion in the field.

Searching the Internet

You may want to try free resources outside of what the Leatherby Libraries offer. Google Scholar is a popular choice for searching an index of journal articles that is unmatched in size, although it lacks the quality control and filtering capabilities of library databases.

If you do find a journal article or other item you're interested in when searching online that you can't access in full text, be sure to check the Leatherby Libraries journal finder for the article. Google Scholar lets logged in users add "Library Links" to their account and will automatically check for library access in the results list.

You can also request articles you cannot locate in full text through our interlibrary loan service.

About Peer Review

If your professor asks you to find "peer reviewed" journal articles, be sure the article you find is from a source that has gone through the peer review process. Many databases offer a search filter to limit to only journals that are peer reviewed. You can also check the journal title in the Ulrich's database to see if it is peer reviewed.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
An authoritative knowledgebase of information about more than 300,000 serials of all types from around the world: academic and scholarly journals, online publications, newspapers, and other resources. Provides details such as ISSN and title, publisher, online availability, language, subject area, abstracting & indexing coverage, searchable tables of contents, and full-text reviews.