Skip to Main Content 
Peace Studies Helpful Databases/Journals
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1980-present.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database providing access to scholarly journals articles, newspapers, popular magazines, and reviews. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1975-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary ebook and journal platform to support scholarship and teaching. Provides access to select current subscriptions as well as the archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Terms of Use.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Serves as a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content from six full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text Mega, Social Sciences Full Text, and Business Abstracts with Full Text. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1982-present.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Includes millions of citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to present around the world with over one million full-text dissertations available to download in PDF format. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1861-present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provide access to the world’s leading scholarly literature and indexes in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, proceedings, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1898-present.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs with a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward including working papers, occasional papers series, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings, books, journals, and policy briefs. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1991-present.
Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Social Science & Humanities edition This link opens in a new window
Includes the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in a wide range of disciplines. Useful for tracking emerging ideas and new research in specific fields. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1990-present.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides critical global and country-specific information and data in two sources: Country Reviews are full-text reports on each country around the globe and Country Wire is a country-by-country global news service that provides real-time news. Terms of Use.
CQ Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Cross-search CQ's resources related to American government, politics, history, and current affairs. Includes CQ Researcher Plus Archive, California Political Almanac, the Supreme Court Yearbook, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1923-present.
CQ Vital Statistics on American Politics This link opens in a new window
Contains hundreds of facts and figures that offer a vivid and multifaceted portrait of the broad spectrum of United States politics and policies. Terms of Use. Coverage: 2013/2014 - 2015/2016.
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text database covering culture, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1923-present.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic, minority and native press. Over 1.8 million articles from over 315 publications. Offers national and regional coverage. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1990-present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers world history (excluding the United States and Canada), 1450 to present. Encompasses military history, women's history, and more. Indexes 2,300+ academic journals in 40+ languages.
Terms of Use. Coverage: 1955-present. Restricted to 6 users at a time.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. Terms of Use.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index This link opens in a new window
PIAS is an index of millions of records worldwide including books, journals, reports, and statistics for scholarship and research in public affairs, public and social policies. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1915-present.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to current content from over 300 humanities and social sciences journal titles of nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Coverage includes literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, religious, cultural/politics/policy/gender studies, and others. Terms of Use.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of congressional documents from 1789 to the present. Includes primary sources such as Legislative Insight, Bills by Number, Research Reports, and Committee Hearings & Testimony. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1789-present.
ProQuest Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1981-present.
ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000 titles covering core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and other areas, and featuring journals from over 50 countries. Terms of Use.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Current coverage of over 525 journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences and Science, Technology, and Medicine (STM). Full-text backfile coverage for over 400 titles. Terms of Use.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. Thorough coverage of over 2,100 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines, as well as 3,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1898-present.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Journals in the social sciences encompassing the literature of a range of interdisciplinary fields, including the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both the applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1983-present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1952-present.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Offering broad subject coverage with full-text access to over 1300 journals and several hundred Blackwell Reference Online ebooks, including titles formerly hosted on the Blackwell Synergy platform.
Terms of Use. Coverage: 1997-present.
Chicago Tribune Historical (1849-1988) This link opens in a new window
Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue and offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1849-1988.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic, minority and native press. Over 1.8 million articles from over 315 publications. Offers national and regional coverage. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1990-present.
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1985-present.
Los Angeles Times Historical (1881-1988) This link opens in a new window
Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue and offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1881-1988.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national and international newspapers and selective full text for more than 370 regional newspapers. Also includes television and radio news transcripts from sources like CBS News, CNN, FOX News, and NPR, and more. List of Titles. | Terms of Use.
New York Times Historical (1851-2008) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to digitized pages of the New York Times back files, including news articles, editorials, obituaries, marriage and birth announcements, reviews, and advertisements. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1851-2008.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1984-present.
Wall Street Journal Historical (1889-1994) This link opens in a new window
Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue and offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
Terms of Use. Coverage: 1889-1994.
Washington Post Historical (1877-1995) This link opens in a new window
Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue and offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
Terms of Use. Coverage: 1877-1995.
