LibGuides: Law and the Liberal Arts : Find Legal Research Databases

Legal Research Databases

Brill Journals This link opens in a new window Access to over 160 e-journals in the areas of the Humanities and Social Sciences, International Law, and Biology and the Sciences. Terms of Use. Coverage: 2000-present.
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window Bibliographic indexing records of journals and periodicals covering areas related to criminal justice and criminology. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1959-present.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1980-present.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window Law and law-related journals as well as information on cases, international law, treaties, and more. Note: Access is provided courtesy of the Hugh and Hazel Darling Law Library in the Fowler School of Law but is available to all users with valid Chapman credentials. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1752-present.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window Comprehensive compendium of >37,000 data series and statistics from >1,000 sources recording every aspect of the history of the United States through the year 2000. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1500s-2000.
LGBTQ+ Rights This link opens in a new window Charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries as well as the inequalities that still exist today, including an interactive timeline, subject-coded court cases, scholarly articles, books, pamphlets, reports, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1813-present.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database (Open Access) This link opens in a new window U.S. and international publications on policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control, including federal, state, and local government research reports, books, articles, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1970s-present.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window U.S. and international publications on policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control from, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, articles, and unpublished research. May contain full text items that are not available in open access. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1975-present.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window 15,000+ news, legal, and business sources, journals, broadcasts, newswires, blogs, newspapers, legal sources, federal and state cases and statutes, and business information on international companies and executives. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1790-present.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window Indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Covers areas of ethics, aesthetics, social and political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysic logic, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1902-present.
ProQuest Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1981-present.
ProQuest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window Includes full text history of the legislation, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, prints, and other congressional publications. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1882-present.
ProQuest Regulatory Insight This link opens in a new window Offers U.S. federal administrative law histories for the period 1936-2014 organized by federal statute and Executive Order. Agency view provides a view of historic rulemaking by an agency. It includes Final Rules as published in Federal Register articles. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1936-present.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window Serves as a database of psychological tests and measures designed for use with social and behavioral science research. Provides a summary, full text (if available), and supplemental information. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1910-present.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window English-language legal materials on slavery. Every colony, state, and federal statute dealing with slavery and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Over 1,000 pamphlets and books. Terms of Use.
Statista This link opens in a new window Statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries. Includes Digital Market Outlook, Consumer Market Outlook, and Consumer Insights (formerly Global Customer Survey). Terms of Use.
Voting Rights & Election Law This link opens in a new window Titles on the electoral process and systems covering how elections are conducted, strategies and controversies of political campaigns, how votes are counted, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1682-present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA) This link opens in a new window Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of journals, book chapters, and other media covering international political science, international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1975-present.