LibGuides: Languages: Find Languages Resources

Resources for All Languages

General Databases/Journals:

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1980-present.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary database providing access to scholarly journals articles, newspapers, popular magazines, and reviews. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1975-present.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Coverage of over 1,200 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as selected items from over 6,000 scientific and social sciences journals. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1975-present.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window Provides critical global and country-specific information and data in two sources: Country Reviews are full-text reports on each country around the globe and Country Wire is a country-by-country global news service that provides real-time news. Terms of Use.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Full-text newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic, minority and native press. Over 1.8 million articles from over 315 publications. Offers national and regional coverage. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1990-present.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1980-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window An interdisciplinary ebook and journal platform to support scholarship and teaching. Provides access to select current subscriptions as well as the archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Terms of Use.
LLBA (Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts) This link opens in a new window Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines. Covers all aspects of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1973-present.
Mango Languages This link opens in a new window An online language-learning system for over 70 languages from around the world and over 20 modules for ESL learners. Users can record their own speech to compare to native speakers, and are encouraged to create free accounts to track progress. Terms of Use. | A mobile app is available for this resource.
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window Contains all information available on the journals and series on the MLA International Bibliography's Master List of Periodicals. The directory also provides statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as how many are submitted. Terms of Use.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography from 1920 onward with citations from journals & series, book publishers. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1926-present.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Serves as a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content from six full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text Mega, Social Sciences Full Text, and Business Abstracts with Full Text. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1982-present.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window Includes millions of citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to present around the world with over one million full-text dissertations available to download in PDF format. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1861-present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provide access to the world’s leading scholarly literature and indexes in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, proceedings, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1898-present.

Newspapers:

Chicago Tribune Historical (1849-1988) This link opens in a new window Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue and offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1849-1988.
Christian Science Monitor Historical (1908-1998) This link opens in a new window Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue and offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1908-1998.
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1985-present.
Los Angeles Times Historical (1881-1988) This link opens in a new window Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue and offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1881-1988.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national and international newspapers and selective full text for more than 370 regional newspapers. Also includes television and radio news transcripts from sources like CBS News, CNN, FOX News, and NPR, and more. List of Titles. | Terms of Use.
New York Times Historical (1851-2008) This link opens in a new window Provides access to digitized pages of the New York Times back files, including news articles, editorials, obituaries, marriage and birth announcements, reviews, and advertisements. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1851-2008.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1984-present.
Wall Street Journal Historical (1889-1994) This link opens in a new window Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue and offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1889-1994.
Washington Post Historical (1877-1995) This link opens in a new window Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue and offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1877-1995.