LibGuides: International Studies: Find Reference Sources

Reference Sources for International Studies

Reference materials are often overlooked, but they can provide very useful background and overview information on given research topics. This makes them a great place to begin your research. We have a strong collection of print and online reference sources that researchers may find useful.

A few print sources are listed below and can be found in the library stack.

Associations

Historical Dictionary of International Organizations
Call Number: JZ4838 .S34 1998

Dictionaries

An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Conflict and Conflict Resolution, 1945-1996
Call Number: D 842.J47 1998
A Political and Economic Dictionary of Latin America
Call Number: JL951.A25 C34 2004
International Relations: A Political Dictionary
Call Number: JX 1226.P55 1995

Encyclopedias

Constitutions of the World
Call Number: K3165 .M33 2008
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
Call Number: HM 671.E53 2007 (3 volumes)
Also Available Online
Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics
Call Number: JZ1160 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict
Call Number: DS 119.7 .E568 2010 (3 volumes)
Encyclopedia of the World's Minorities
Call Number: GN495.4 .E63 2005 (3 volumes)
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, & Conflict
Call Number: HM 886.E53 2008 (3 volumes)
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace
Call Number: JZ 5533.O95 2010 (4 volumes)

Handbooks

Statistics

Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics
Call Number: HA29 .E539 2007 (3 volumes)
Also Available Online
World Economic Historical Statistics
Call Number: HA155 .S23 2005

Year Books

Handbook of International Security and Development
Call Number: HD 82.H27524 2015
Human Rights Watch World Report
Call Number: JC 571.H785 2017
The Oxford Handbook of International Human Rights Law
Call Number: K 3240.O96 2013
The Oxford Handbook of Islam and Politics
Call Number: BP173.7 .O945 2013 (2nd FL Humanities Library Books)
Political Handbook of the World
Call Number: JF37 .P6 2015
Routledge Handbook of Civil Wars
Call Number: KZ6397.R69 2014
Routledge Handbook of Latin America in the World
Call Number: JZ1519 .R68 2015
Countries of the World and Their Leaders Yearbook
Call Number: G1 .C88 2016 (2 volumes)
Also Available Online
The Europa World Year Book
Call Number: JN1.E85 2015 (3 volumes)
International Year Book and Statesmen's Who's Who
Call Number: JA51 .I57 2012

You can access online reference sources from anywhere with your Chapman username and password. Please refer to the Online Reference box to the left.

CQ Electronic Library This link opens in a new window Cross-search CQ's resources related to American government, politics, history, and current affairs. Includes CQ Researcher Plus Archive, California Political Almanac, the Supreme Court Yearbook, and more. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1923-present.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources from a wide range of disciplines. Terms of Use.
Oxford Companion to International Relations This link opens in a new window Covers theories and applications of international relations, as well as controversies, prominent figures in the field, and ways in which international relations have shaped political history. Terms of Use. Restricted to 3 users at a time.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to encyclopedias and handbooks in such subjects as anthropology, communication, criminal justice, education, geography, human resources, political science, psychology, public policy, sociology, and sports medicine. Terms of Use.

Legal Research LibGuide Use this guide to find law journals, court cases, statutes, laws, and regulations both within the state of California and at the federal level.