LibGuides: History: Archives and Repositories

20th Century International History Archives in Oxford University Gateway to archival sources at Oxford University on 20th century international history and politics.
AFS History & Archives The Archives of the American Field Service and AFS Intercultural Programs (AFS Archives) is the repository for material related to the history and development of the organization that is now referred to as AFS Intercultural Programs, Inc. AFS Intercultural Programs began as the American Field Service (AFS), which had its origins in 1914 shortly after the outbreak of World War I, when young Americans living in Paris volunteered as ambulance drivers at the American Hospital of Paris. AFS participated in every major French battle and carried more than 500,000 wounded during World War I. By the end of the war, 2,500 men had served in the American Field Service with the French Armies.
Archivegrid A very useful guide to locating archives around the world. Information can be searched by topic or specific archive. New resources are continually added.
ArchivesCanada In homes, schools and libraries across Canada, people are looking for evidence of what it means to be a Canadian. ARCHIVESCANADA.ca is a gateway to archival resources found in over 800 repositories across Canada--it's your gateway to Canada's collective memory!
Archives Hub A search portal for descriptions of archives in United Kingdom universities and colleges.
Archives Unbound Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
British National Archives The National Archives is the UK government's official archive, containing over 1,000 years of history.
Bundesarchiv The national archive of Germany.
Directory of Corporate Archives in North America Directory maintained by the Society of American Archivists and includes companies that maintain their historical records themselves, as well as companies that contract with historical consulting firms to maintain their archives collections for them. Those businesses that contract outside the company for archival services are marked by an asterisk. This edition also includes the archives of professional associations, as these collections document various industries and companies that may be of use to corporate archivists.
Dorothy Peyton Gray Transport Library and Archives The LA Metro's archive and research library.
Finding and Evaluating Archives How do you locate archives that might have materials appropriate for your research? In addition to using online search engines like Google, here are some resources to consult.
Leatherby Libraries special collections and archives Public search interface for the collections held here at Chapman University
Library of Congress Finding Aids search engine for the Library of Congress manuscript collections
List of Archives This is a list of archives from around the world collected by Wikipedia.
NARA Catalog Catalog for the National Archives of the United States.
National Registry of Archives (British) Search engine for type and locations of British historical documents and manuscripts.
Online Archive of California Online access to finding aids of repositories in California.

Bancroft Library (Univ. of California, Berkeley) The primary special collections library at the University of California, Berkeley. One of the largest and most heavily used libraries of manuscripts, rare books, and unique materials in the United States.
Library of Congress Digital Collections Digital holdings of the largest library in the world.

California Historical Societies & Museums Links to various California historical societies.
Calisphere Gateway to digital collections from California's great libraries, archives, and museums. Discover over 1,250,000 images, texts, and recordings—and counting.
Smithsonian Institute Digital Collections contains digital publications, collections and objects including online exhibitions, webcasts, digital editions, bibliographies and fact sheets, and finding aids/inventories for collections such as our trade literature and artist files.