LibGuides: Film & Media Arts: Find Films & Streaming Video

Find Films & Streaming Video

Find DVDs
Find Streaming Video

Find DVDs in the Leatherby Libraries

Search the library catalog to find a film on DVD, BluRay, or VHS. Search by "TITLE" if you already know the title of the film you are looking for. If you find you are getting too many results (i.e. getting books and other materials with the same title), you can "Limit/Sort Search" and limit your results to "Material Type," "DVD/VHS."

*Note: the Leatherby Libraries has Media Rooms available for booking that are equipped with DVD, VHS, & BluRay players..

Dodge College Media Library

Dodge College Media Library Use this site to search for film titles available for loan through the Dodge College Media Library, located on the first floor of Marion Knott Studios in room 127. Titles are available for short term loan in a variety of media formats, including DVD and Blu-ray® disc.

Book a Media Room

If you need a place to watch a film, consider using the bookable Media Rooms at the Leatherby Libraries. Start at the link below to book a Media Room. Media Rooms are equipped with DVD, BluRay, and VHS players. Hover your mouse over the room number to see exactly which amenities the media room has for your use. NOTE: Rooms labled "Study Room" do not have the same amenities as "Media Rooms," please choose accordingly.

Leatherby Libraries Room Booking Portal to the Leatherby Libraries Room Booking system.

Find Streaming Video

Utilize the following library databases to access streaming video content accessible through the Leatherby Libraries.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Cross-search subscribed video collections from Alexander Street Press. Virtually every video is fully transcribed in addition to being indexed for subjects, people, places, release date, language, publisher, and video type. Terms of Use.
Asian Film Online: Volume 1 This link opens in a new window A comprehensive repository of documentaries, feature films, and shorts that provides a first-hand perspective into contemporary Asian issues through the voices of Asian filmmakers and content producers. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1938-present.

Huell Howser Archives Streaming Video Welcome to the Huell Howser California’s Gold Archive, a special collection of Huell Howser’s entire California’s Gold television series, presented by Chapman University. Search for favorite episodes by entering key words in the search box. You can also look at episodes by series topic, such as Missions, Palm Springs or Water. Or, you can search by date of the episodes.

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Streaming films and documentaries from Criterion Collection, Kino Lorber, The Great Courses, and Psychotherapy.net. Faculty may log in and request additional films on https://www.kanopy.com/search to be added per the Streaming Video Policy. | Terms of Use. Coverage: 1894-present.
New World Cinema: Major Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present This link opens in a new window Includes 200+ full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, and Global Lens, as well as some 50 award-winning short films. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1990-present.
Silent Film Online This link opens in a new window Contains more than 1,000 streaming online films that represent the foundation of modern cinematic technique and film theory. The collection covers silent feature films, serials, and shorts. Terms of Use. Coverage: 1890s-1930s.